We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers hostel with ideas above its station”
Review of The Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Trebarwith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My partner and I spent three days in Cornwall the first at the llanwroc st Austell the second at the mill house and the third at the Penzance hotel, Penzance. All three for dinner bed and breakfast with two drinks from the bar cost roughly the same.
The management from the mill house could do with visiting either of the other two immaculate and beautifully run establishments to see what, at the prices charged they should be offering. On arriving at the mill house I was dismayed at how tired and grubby the reception looked, our room (no10) was equally as tired and grubby there was mould on the ceiling and around the window of the bathroom the bath panel did not fit and there was paint peeling from the bedroom ceiling. other than a large bottle of hand wash no toiletries were available not even a plastic cup to rinse after brushing your teeth, things I would have thought to be a basic requirement in a room charged at £90 low season. The bed was clean and comfortable however. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was ok but only really pub food quality at restaurant prices. Overall extremely disappointed, would not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gosportgirlHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

After looking online for somewhere to stay near Tintagel at short notice, I came across the Mill House Inn and, despite some poor reviews amongst some good ones, decided to book 2 nights stay, hoping the rooms couldn't be as poor as some reviews suggested . The location and the building itself are great, however stepping into reception, my first impressions was that it was pretty tired and shabby looking, and I was hoping this wasn't an indicator of the room . I was escorted through an equally tatty and uninviting corridor to room number 6. The room itself was quite small ,ok for a single traveler like me, but would have been a squeeze for a couple .The room shocked me really . No tasteful wallpaper, just what looked like lining paper , painted a magnolia, and cupboards / doors painted white . Very little colour to the room other than 2 bed cushions and a couple of old , tired pictures on the wall . The bedside cabinets were worn and very shabby , the lining paper was coming off the wall by the ceiling in one corner, and badly creased in other corners . The lampshades were discoloured from the light bulbs . and also stained The bathroom looked recently refurbished, however the sealant around the sink was coming off, and the whole sink moved , and the sealant / grouting in the shower between the tiles was untidy and discoloured. The good points were the bed was comfortable, the shower hot and the breakfast decent, but to offer a room in such poor condition and with very little, if any , real quality is a bit bewildering . Its a shame really, because this place could be so much better with some basic attention to a bit more quality to the reception and room, basic running repairs and some tasteful decor, but it appears from the room i was given that this isn't high on the hotels agenda .The whole feel of the accommodation felt more like a hostel to me,rather than a 4 star establishment, This room was offered (low season) at £75 a night, which I think is very pricey considering the issues i experienced To my mind this accommodation would probably be adequate for travelers looking for a quick nights stop over after a long day maybe, but for an extended stay, I'm afraid this hotel accommodation didn't live up to its 4 star billing for me.- I wont be staying again, very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We celebrated my mum's 80th birthday here and took over the place for one night. Our party included two children under the age of ten and a puppy and all were made very welcome. The family room was excellent as it offered separate but joined sleeping accommodation for kids and parents. The superior double rooms were lovely and the food (and breakfasts) was excellent. Mark the owner gave us personal attention and we all enjoyed a memorable family celebration. I'm sure most of the party will be returning at some point in the future. Lovely old building, with tons of character and great location for beach and walks.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are above the bar so ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Second visit for evening meal and it hasn't improved, except that this time it was out of season and the restaurant was not full of noisy children. Food still mediocre and hugely overpriced for what it is .... pub grub at upmarket restaurant prices. Drinks expensive. Not recommended - you can do far better for a local meal than at the Mill House.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a 2 night stay using a Groupon Voucher and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The setting was perfect, our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was amazing..it was huge! It was very quiet when we stayed there. We ate in the restaurant for one evening and the food was lovely. We had the Thursday special which was two steaks for £20 and they were both beautifully cooked steaks. Lovely dining area and log burner in the bar was a delight to sit in front of with a glass of mulled wine...Drinks are pricey. Breakfast was very tasty and the staff were very polite. Would definitely stay there again altho I can imagine it gets very busy in the warmer months.

Room Tip: Ask for one not above the bar, it could be noisy when they have a band in! For quiet, ours was up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at The Mill house Inn on the 11th and 12th of February.
We had a warm welcome. Mark and the rest of the team are friendly and helpful
This was our seconded stay at the Mill House Inn and again we had room one.
The furnishings need updating, having said that the room was a good size warm and clean
The bed was very comfortable. A large bathroom no shower but for two days can manage with a bath
The weather was dreadful so it was great to sit on the sofas by the wood burner with a good book and a glass of wine and forget the weather
The meals are excellent and beautifully presented. Also the breakfasts with everything you need.
On our first evening we asked if we could eat in the bar because we had our dog with us. The table was laid as beautifully as the tables in the restaurant.
The bar and restaurant was also well used by the locals.
I would once again recommend The Mill House Inn. We would certainly visit again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I booked a 2 night stay via Groupon, as a birthday present for my partner. Unfortunately, illness meant we couldn't make our original dates, and the inn were extremely helpful and accommodating in offering us alternative dates.

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night, in the midst of some very stormy weather. The inn was cosy and Mark was very welcoming. Great atmosphere in the bar, very friendly.

We had the twin room, at the top and back of the inn. It was very peaceful. The room is basically but comfortably furnished with good bedlinen, excellent big towels and great toiletries from the nearby St Kitt's Herbery. It felt homely and characterful. My only one slight criticism is that the blinds were a little bit marked and could do with replacing.

Breakfast is wonderful. Plenty of choice for your cooked breakfast - the taste of the mushrooms and tomatoes was terrific and everything seasoned really well Enjoy it with a big pot of tea and you're set up for the day. Just a little way down the road is one of the best beaches on the North Cornish coast, and the sight of the stormy sea was incredible.

We ate in the inn both nights, not wanting to venture out into the rough weather at night. Again, all the food was great -I had battered haddock which tasted so fresh and was cooked to perfection. Plus the most wonderful ice cream from a Cornish supplier at Callestick Farm. Flavours and seasoning as good as they were for breakfast. Service is laid back and informal, which is how we like it. We enjoyed the food so much, we've booked for Mother's Day lunch.

All in all, a very relaxing weekend, enjoying good hospitality in a secluded location that lets you forget all about the stresses of the working week and unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trebarwith
1.6 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
274 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
495 reviews
1.3 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel > Trebarwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trebarwith
Price Range: £73 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House Hotel Trebarwith
The Mill Hotel
The Mill House Inn Trebarwith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing