We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halfway Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halfway House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halfway House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 St Issey B&B and Inns
Hutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Halfway Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

As a Rep who’s been staying in hotels for over 10 years (the good, bad and ugly) this small family run inn was a great find.

The owners were lovely
The rooms were modern, well equipped and comfortable.
Plus the menu and food quality were excellent.
(a large tapas choice was an unexpected and pleasant find)

All bundled up in first-rate value for money.

My new base when working in Cornwall.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikea5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    26
    5
    11
    3
See reviews for
32
67
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I came across The Halfway Inn whilst browsing online for a short Easter break. So glad I did!
Lovely 4 poster bed room with wall mounted tv, tea and coffee etc etc, lovely spacious bathroom with nice shower.
The food was delicious. A great choice on the menu - the treacle tart with orange zest was delicious.
Had a fantastic nights sleep- no road noise or anything to keep us awake, comfy bed and heaters which were adjustable.
Breakfast - full English was delicious- really set us up for the day walking around Tintagel and Boscastle. Personally we love brown seeded toast!! A choice available of cereals, yogurts and fruit juice also.
A great location to see Padstow, Tintagel, Eden project, Boscastle etc etc. thank you and we will return!

Room Tip: Go for room 5 - 4 poster bed. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyjack78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and the room we had was fantastic. Booked from late room at a special price! It was a family room we got and very private peaceful with our own private parking area with easy access in and out without having to go through the main bar area. The breakfast included was a hearty one, with cereals, yoghurt, lovely toasts and rawness of bacon, sausages , eggs, beans and mushrooms or tomatoes. Value for money indeed. The location is fantastic. Easy reach to all the popular tourists sites by car of course. The landlord and the landlady as well as their staff were great and very helpful. We met some lovely people during our stay too and everyone gave great compliments on the service provided. If you are looking for a family run friendly place to stay, I recommend you this place and once you have stayed there, you will definitely stay there again in your next trip to Cornwall.

Room Tip: I will choose the rooms on the ground floor at the back of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed in one of the smaller single rooms, which was just right for what I needed and very reasonably priced, lovely bathroom had a shower with jets .Lots of other good sized rooms available too .Great food all locally sourced where possible .Really good choice at breakfast all cooked to order.Run by a lovely couple who made me feel very welcome .Stayed three nights .Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moffy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Just, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed there for 1 evening in march for a last minute weekend away for my husbands birthday and although we only live in the west of cornwall seemed very pleasant place with walking off the road just behind the pub, it was a central point for padstow and wadebridge if you dont want to be in the heart of the towns.
The pub is traditional with wood burning stoves which we took full advantage of when we had our evening meal. The evening meal was fanfastic the food was well cooked and lots of it. Our room(no. 5) was very modern with four poster bed and was clean, warm & very cosy we had your own access through a back door which meant we could come & go when the pub was closed, the heating was brilliant in the room the bed was very comfortable to sleep in and although you are close to the road, didn't hear it. The morning we had breakfast this also was excellent with lots of cereals to choose as well as cooked breakfast.
It was very quiet and nice.
There was pool room and darts room if this is something that you like participating in and although the darts room was a little cold but expect that in a traditional old pub, we couldn't fault anything else and would definately return again in the future.

Room Tip: choose any of rooms 3, 4 & 5 as you have your own access outside of pub hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here in August returning from a holiday having toured around the coast. We arrived at 5pm and entered the bar to check in. We were shown to our room promptly. The bar area looked great and we soon set about looking for a seat near the bar for a drink. Only to be told in no uncertain terms that it was not an area were the children could sit. We were shown another area behind the bar that had no atmosphere. I have never been made to feel so unwelcome with children. Our room had a very strong smell, not dissimilar to cat wee. Other than that it was fine. We had an evening meal, which was also fine and a good local ale for me. The only issue was that with the exception of one other couple that were sat directly behind us by the bar staff, it was totally devoid of any atmosphere. The couple behind us had originally sat at a larger table for four. However the bar manager asked the staff member to move them as it was taking potential space for others....there were at least 8 other empty tables! This was done in ear shot of both the couple and us and made it difficult for them in what was clearly a romantic dinner. The following morning we had breakfast - which was excellent. On check out the children again were made to feel unwelcome as the landlady made it clear that they could injure themselves on a bar stool or the bar itself....it was health and safety gone mad!...they had to stand completely still. Anyway I would say that if you don't have children with you, this is a good base. The food was fine and the breakfast outstanding. Shame about the very unwelcome bar area and the lack of music and atmosphere in the eating area. Rooms were clean, apart from the cat wee smell, which I suggest maybe down to the continuous rain and damp conditions, as I didn't see a cat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curryandy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
This is a very strange review and we are in the process of checking our records to see whether this party actually stayed with us or if somebody has taken elements of other reviews and compiled one of their own for whatever reason! OK – arrival at 5pm – our evening opening time isn’t until 5:30pm with bed and breakfast guests check-in welcomed from 12-2 and 5:30-10pm. Families are welcomed into the 35 cover dining room which is supplied with music and games. From this review it appears that this family seated themselves on a reserved table in the snug area – the snug is reserved for bookings and/or customers who cannot cope with the stairs and who want to sit in a room without music – we try to comply with the ‘Campaign for Freedom from Piped Music’ as supported by Stephen Fry, Joanna Lumley, Tom Conti and many others – by having our snug area without music or speakers. Right then – 8 other tables – there are 3 tables in the snug with total seating for 14 people (seating 8, 4 & 2), even if we take into account the main bar area, this only adds another 4 tables seating a total of 12 (4,4,2 & 2). With regard to ‘health & safety gone mad’ and as previously explained in another review, we have several entries in our accident book where children have slipped off the stools onto the hard slate floor, catching their chins on the bar en route. This has resulted in some nasty, bloody and painful injuries which I am sure both the parents and children concerned wish they had avoided. Reports of smells of ‘cat pee’ have also been dealt with in another review as we had a large group of Lands End to John ‘o’ Groats cyclists visiting who were very generous in their use of embrocation which left an unappealing smell at the time. Again, we are puzzled by this review but hope that we have explained why different areas of the pub are arranged to suit different groups of customers needs. If the reviewer would like to contact me I can amend this reply as required once we can establish the details of the customers visit against our records.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Came across the Halfway House Inn whilst looking for a short break on Laterooms.com for my husband and myself. Arrived on Tuesday 25th September for a three night stay, what a gem of a find as it is a stunning place and very easy to commute back and forth around North Cornwall. Lesley is a font of knowledge and gave us great information on the surrounding area, which enabled us to make the very best of our short stay. The room we had booked was bedroom number 4 which is one of 3 that has access from the Veranda at the back of the Inn. We found this excellent as you can come and go as you please without having to use the entrance to the Inn itself. Our en suite room was also excellent providing everything you could need, great comfortable bed, plenty of tea, coffee and milk supplied every day. Beautiful clean towels, plenty of hot water, TV etc, including breakfast. Breakfast cooked by Rob which was amazing, plenty on offer, cereal, fruit juice, tea or coffee lots of, followed by a choice of full english breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or a mix of anything you fancied. In fact the food was so good that we always returned for our evening meal, the Inns menu is so inviting and all home cooked. The home made puddings especially the Raspberry and Pear Crumble with clotted cream is to die for. In fact we are looking at our Calendar right now to see how quickly we can return.

Room Tip: Room 3,4 and 5 are accessed from rear of the property and have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Issey
5.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
3.3 mi away
Molesworth Arms Hotel
Molesworth Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wadebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
5.8 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wadebridge Bed and Breakfast
Wadebridge Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Wadebridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Inn

Property: Halfway House Inn
Address: St Jidgey, St Issey, Wadebridge PL27 7RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Issey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Issey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halfway House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Country Inn, slate floors, fires, real ales, fresh food and luxury en-suite letting rooms. Accommodation includes full english breakfast. Evening meals also available 6pm to 9pm daily. Situated on the A39 between Wadebridge and St Columb Major. Wadebridge 4.3 miles, Padstow 7.6 miles, Newquay 12.1 miles, St Columb Major 5.8 miles and Newquay Airport 8.9 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Halfway House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway House Hotel Wadebridge
Halfway House Inn St Issey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing