We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising stay”
Review of Halfway House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halfway House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 St Issey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yaxley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A surprising stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We booked at short notice and were not sure what we would find.. The 'last room' - number 6 - was small, clean, warm and has a great shower. The towels and bedlinen reminded us of smart chain hotels, and when we checked in Lesley the landlady was keen to explain that we had the 'dog stay' room, just in case there were any odours. There were not!

Because of the gale blowing outside we opted to eat in the pub. Great food and surprising quality and value too.

Breakfast was a treat; we had a full English and smoked salmon with poached eggs. Yummy.

If you want to know anything about the local area, best places to park, local routes, times of tides or seasonal events - just ask Lesley...

We will return , but book further ahead for an inside room' or even bring the dog as this is a great base for walking and exploring Cornwall.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you don't have a dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    27
    6
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
68
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights this May and enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel very welcome by the landlady who was very friendly and helpful. We were in an upstairs room. The room was really well presented with comfortable beds and nice bedding. There was plenty of space and the shared bathroom with this room was never an issue, we had a wash basin in the room. Although the room is on the road it is quiet at night and the double glazing does the job and keeps the noise out. You should sleep well. The breakfast was fantastic, a good choice and again a great service. The pub is quiet at night but they have some nice local ales on tap. The food in the restaurant was nice. It is well placed for reaching the beaches between Padstow and Newquay, we were spoilt with good weather and were able to spend all day on them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheridanslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night in May. A difficult review to write as Im not sure I saw the best of the Halfway House. We arrived at 5:30 to check-in and the greeting was not the most enthused one I've ever had at a hotel and we were shown to an Annex room off to one side of the hotel. The room was clean but reminded me of a 1970's caravan and definitely had the wiff of one. Now fast forward to the morning and we saw what I guess is why people like the place. The dining area was nice and the welcome far more friendly and I could see where most of the other rooms were located within the main part of the hotel. Breakfast was good and by the look of it the dinner menu would probably be fine too ... a few more smiles and a warmer welcome and we may have tried that too...

Room Tip: Didn't like the Annex Room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crossy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Firstly I would like to point out that this is an old building and we are limited by the nature of the building – much as we would like to, we cannot wave a magic wand and make rooms bigger! All our room details are available to customers before they book and with 3 very different standards of accommodation (priced accordingly) the customer chooses the room that they want, superior rooms 3, 4 or 5, standard rooms 6 or 7 and basic rooms 8,9 or 10. This guest selected room 6 – smaller standard en suite double - and booked it online – the agency used did not forward the customers contact details to us. I usually email customers to check that the room they have chosen is actually the type of room they want and when possible suggest a better room. Room 6 was redecorated at the beginning of May, but it is also the only room where we allow dogs and the axminster wool carpet is shampooed regularly with Vax Animal Carpet Cleaner. The customers from the night before this gentlemans visit had actually commented on how clean the room smelled! With regard to welcoming our guests, they are all accorded the same courtesy, unfortunately this gentleman was unhappy because we would not serve breakfast at 7am for him – breakfast is served between 8 and 9am with a packed breakfast offered for those who wish to leave earlier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

On a recent visit to Cornwall, my family and I booked two rooms at the Halfway House Inn. The whole experience was pleasant and enjoyable. The rooms were clean, modern and good sized, (I booked a large family room for myself, my wife and our two kids, and another room for my mother who we had come to the UK to visit.)

The staff and owners of the hotel were wonderful - helpful, friendly and welcoming. The menu choice and food was excellent and deserves special mention.

I'm glad we stayed at the Halfway House Inn and would definitely recommend it to others. The only potential downside (for some) is that the location is a little remote - although in our case this was a bonus and part of the reason we decided to stay here. We wanted to explore the north of Cornwall one day and the south of Cornwall another, so the close to centre location served well as our base.

Room Tip: The family rooms are nicely sized and contain a large double bed and two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dak72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a flying visit to Padstow. Lovely people and large ensuite room. Short taxi ride (£15 each way) into Padstow and would definitely stay again if we were in the area. Great price for location and facilities.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

As a Rep who’s been staying in hotels for over 10 years (the good, bad and ugly) this small family run inn was a great find.

The owners were lovely
The rooms were modern, well equipped and comfortable.
Plus the menu and food quality were excellent.
(a large tapas choice was an unexpected and pleasant find)

All bundled up in first-rate value for money.

My new base when working in Cornwall.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikea5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I came across The Halfway Inn whilst browsing online for a short Easter break. So glad I did!
Lovely 4 poster bed room with wall mounted tv, tea and coffee etc etc, lovely spacious bathroom with nice shower.
The food was delicious. A great choice on the menu - the treacle tart with orange zest was delicious.
Had a fantastic nights sleep- no road noise or anything to keep us awake, comfy bed and heaters which were adjustable.
Breakfast - full English was delicious- really set us up for the day walking around Tintagel and Boscastle. Personally we love brown seeded toast!! A choice available of cereals, yogurts and fruit juice also.
A great location to see Padstow, Tintagel, Eden project, Boscastle etc etc. thank you and we will return!

Room Tip: Go for room 5 - 4 poster bed. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyjack78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Issey
5.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
358 reviews
3.3 mi away
Molesworth Arms Hotel
Molesworth Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wadebridge
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
5.8 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
390 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wadebridge Bed and Breakfast
Wadebridge Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Wadebridge
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Inn

Property: Halfway House Inn
Address: St Jidgey, St Issey, Wadebridge PL27 7RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Issey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Issey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Halfway House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Country Inn, slate floors, fires, real ales, fresh food and luxury en-suite letting rooms. Accommodation includes full english breakfast. Evening meals also available 6pm to 9pm daily. Situated on the A39 between Wadebridge and St Columb Major. Wadebridge 4.3 miles, Padstow 7.6 miles, Newquay 12.1 miles, St Columb Major 5.8 miles and Newquay Airport 8.9 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Halfway House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway House Hotel Wadebridge
Halfway House Inn St Issey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing