We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Work In Progress?"”
Review of Halfway House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halfway House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 St Issey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I have just spent 2 nights at the Halfway House.

On arrival, before we got out of the car, we were greeted by an untethered Staffordshire Bull Terrier type dog that appeared to belong to the owner and was present throughout our stay.
Some people, who do not know the animal, may find its presence intimidating.

Once inside the building we were greeted by the owner who stated that they had only been resident for 4 weeks.

The room (no.3) was very nice with patio doors looking out towards the sea (in the far distance) and offering access to the room without going through the pub. The free wifi was very welcome and the beds were comfortable.

The outside of the pub, particularly the rear (outside of the rooms patio doors) was down at heel and very scruffy with litter in gardens.

The breakfasts were ok in parts but not wholly satisfactory with some of the cooked components having the appearance and texture of being reheated from previous days. The worst example being the scrambled egg served to my wife on the second day which had the texture of rubber and being of a dirty yellow/grey colour. This was sent back and replaced to a satisfactory standard but we received no apology. We cannot comment on lunch time or evening meals as the quality of the breakfasts made us look elsewhere.

There is potential here but the food needs to improve and the outside needs to be much better presented.

We could not recommend this establishment at the moment (Aug 2014).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

As one of the owners, I am very pleased with the work that Debs and Pete are doing at the Halfway House Inn and support them fully. Here is their management reply to this gentlemans review: As you acknowledge in your ‘review’ we have only been here for 4 weeks and 'Rome wasn't built in a day'!. We are gradually improving the business whilst working running the Halfway House Inn – a full-time job in itself. The area you refer to at the side of the pub is a private part of the business where our dog is permitted and she was fulfilling her duties in warning us of trespassers. We do not allow dogs in the public or dining areas of the pub while the pub is open - while the pub is closed it is our home and as such our privacy should be respected. As is posted on the internet booking sites the owners subscribe to, on the pubs own website and on the front door of the pub – arrivals are welcomed 6-10pm unless by prior arrangement, once checked-in guests have their own entrance to access their rooms at any time. We are sorry you had a poor experience with one of your breakfasts – our food enjoys a good reputation with plentiful portions and a varying menu. Had you discussed your concerns directly with us we could have reassured you of our best intentions and plans for the future. Look out for our autumn/winter 3 for 2 special offers and our gradual improvements and changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the end of July and had a wonderful time - due in large part to the hospitality of Debs and Pete. The breakfasts were a really good start to the day, offering plenty of choice. We couldn't have been made more welcome and it was lovely to sit on the decking appreciating the fantastic view across the countryside to the sea.
Thanks once more to Debs and Pete, hope to see you again some time!

Room Tip: The rear rooms with French doors onto the decking area are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with Debs and Peter at the Halfway House Inn. Thank-you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from a short break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly, family run b and b. We loved the room, which was very clean and had a wonderful sea view. Our hosts were incredibly helpful and made us feel very welcome. If I return to the area I would definitely want to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi, We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We feel that the Halfway is in good hands with Debs & Pete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just arrived home after a wonderful stay at this quaint little inn and would like to extend our warmest wishes to Debs and Pete and their family for an excellent stay! The room was clean and comfortable, with lovely views of rolling countryside, we loved the power shower!, and the food was excellent, breakfast (choice of full English, toast, cereals, juices, yoghurts)and evening meal with Pete's own menu. It was lovely to sit and chat with Debs and Pete and other guests in the bar, in the evening. They were only too willing to do anything to help make our stay a comfortable and memorable one. I would definitely recommend it anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank-you for the lovely review, we're very pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly owners and amazing food at reasonable prices. Lovely setting with beautiful rooms. Very clean rooms and excellent service. An altogether, very enjoyable experience.
I would highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank-you for the nice review. Debs and Pete are doing a great job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked two rooms in May for a family celebration that was local to the Inn. I picked this particular Inn because they had real ales. The website also said that they did meals in the summer ( we went in July ). We arrived tired and hungry ( also not at our best due to a family bereavement ) to find no food and no real ale! also my brother was asked if he would mind changing rooms!. However I must point out that he agreed and we were given a refund. He was also back in his original room the next day. I would also like to say that Debs and Pete only took over the Inn two days before our arrival. They both deserve top marks for people skills, being very apologetic and going out of their way to help. The breakfast was excellent and the next day we had an excellent meal plus real ale!. I think this couple will make a real go of it and the Halfway House Inn will be really popular. I would certainly like to go back sometime and recommend it. The rooms 5 & 4 were excellent too- lovely view.

Room Tip: Room 6 small. Room 5 double poster bed and view. Room 4 family room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for the well balanced review. We're very pleased to have Debs and Pete managing the Halfway House Inn and they are bringing order to the chaos they arrived to. We're sure that things will continue to improve under their guidance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having endured a 4 hour journey, we arrived at the Halfway House only to be greeted with a very unwelcoming ‘CLOSED’ sign in the window.

Our initial thoughts were had we been subject to an internet scam, as the buildings looked as though they were derelict and had been closed for many years. The entrance of the pub was accompanied by tall weeds and cigarette butts.

The car park was completely baron, in appalling condition with huge chunks of tarmac churned up and enormous pot holes. In fact all that was missing to complete the look was tumble weed blowing in the wind - this place definitely had a distinct feel of ‘Royston Vasey!’

We eventually ventured over to the front door - which was locked, so then tried around the back to see whether anyone was around. The back of the property was surprisingly even worse than the front – it reminded us both of a shanty town with a tatty caravan placed in the corner. In hindsight, we should have just driven off and booked in elsewhere, but decided to try and get a contact number off the Halfway House website to make somebody aware of our arrival and at least be hopeful that the inside would be a complete contrast of what we had seen so far.

I managed to get through to a very hostile woman (the landlady) on the end of the phone who was most annoyed that we had troubled her, and even more irate at the fact we had arrived 10 minutes before check-in. I was abruptly told that check in was at 6pm and not before, so we waited in the car for her arrival - It soon became apparent why there were no other people staying at this place.

After a while we were greeted by the landlady and immediately given a ‘dressing down’ yet again about the check in times as stated in her email which she had sent to me previously. We really did not think that being 10 minutes early would pose such an inconvenience, or presumed that perhaps there would be a warm, friendly place to sit and wait prior to check in – after all as the name suggests ‘Halfway House’ and given the location, the majority of people staying would most likely have travelled some distance.

Moving on to our bedroom –this was the dog friendly room (which was like something from a 1970s motel) it was tiny, dusty, dirty and dated. We were warned that the roof had undergone some repairs, so a dehumidifier was in place (which was very noisy) - we suspected this was also being used to try and mask the smell of dog pee. The bed was so uncomfortable my husband said in the middle of the night that he was going to sleep in a pot hole in the car park!

The en-suite had a heated towel rail - which didn’t work, there was only a net curtain for privacy which was of no use whatsoever stepping out of a shower at night time! The shower came complete with pubic hair and congealed pink shower gel from who ever had used it last.

The following morning we went down for breakfast which was reasonable, the landlady did make an effort to be a little hospitable, giving us pointers of where to walk the dog etc. However, I didn’t like how the mirrors had been strategically placed to watch our every move whilst she was sitting around the corner.

After breakfast we decided that we would cut our stay short (as we had booked for two nights) pack up and leave.

Prior to us leaving, my husband telephoned the land lady in order to hand back the key in person. She agreed to meet him in the bar area where he explained that the room really was not for us, and how she could have perhaps have been a little more accommodating upon our arrival. The land lady did show my husband another larger room with a four poster bed which looked very nice but sadly wouldn’t have been an option with the dog.

The best part of the stay for us at the Halfway House was driving homeward bound out of the car park!

We feel that the landlady’s time would be better spent investing on customer service, taking on board people’s comments and ensuring the cleanliness of the rooms, rather than painstakingly responding online to each complaint.

We actually wonder who wrote the good reviews?...

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diasy, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I’m really not sure whether to reply to this nasty and distorted review at all or just refer it to Tripadvisor as it is outside their guidelines. To reply to all the exaggerated comments in this review would take double the length of the review itself, and, as Tripadvisor recommend us to reply in a concise, professional and courteous manner, we will leave the majority to draw their own conclusions. The only thing I will say is that these guests stayed just after the storms that caused so much damage in Cornwall and usual maintenance was delayed because of the poor weather, we were lucky to only suffer a few damaged slates in one room, but this did require a dehumidifier to dry things out and room 6 was under repair. I advised the customers of this before their stay, offering them the opportunity to cancel with full refund and the gentleman insisted that he did not want to cancel and that it would be ok even though I encouraged him to make other arrangements. The room details are given in great detail including measurements (13ft 4" x 8ft 6" plus small ensuite shower), and the room and en suite were clean. We have over 200 reviews on various internet sites and for these customers to infer that they are false is an insult to anyone with any intelligence. We have been awarded the prestigious 2014 Tripadvisor certificate of excellence - our 4th year - and we do try very hard to please our customers within the limitations of a very old building. We are a small family run country inn/bed and breakfast, and as detailed on our website and internet booking sites, we cannot offer 24 hour check-in without at least 24 hours notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Inn

Address: St Jidgey, St Issey, Wadebridge PL27 7RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Issey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Issey
Price Range: £101 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halfway House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Country Inn, slate floors, fires, real ales, fresh food and luxury en-suite letting rooms. Accommodation includes full english breakfast. Evening meals also available 6pm to 9pm daily. Situated on the A39 between Wadebridge and St Columb Major. Wadebridge 4.3 miles, Padstow 7.6 miles, Newquay 12.1 miles, St Columb Major 5.8 miles and Newquay Airport 8.9 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Halfway House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway House Hotel Wadebridge
Halfway House Inn St Issey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing