We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Best B & B in the World.”
Review of The White House

The White House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Issey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #3 of 4 St Issey B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just the Best B & B in the World.”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have read Ruth W's Review of The White House B & B and her Derogatory Remarks, and I can assure any prospective Guests that She must have her wires Badly Crossed.
We are Retired Seniors from New Zealand and have traveled extensively during the past three years.
We have Stayed with Warwick and Elaine on two separate occasions on our World Travels, in their Immaculate, Spotless, Modern B & B, and consider it to be the Best we have stayed in,
The Owners are Wonderful Hosts very Friendly and Helpful, and the Breakfasts are the Best Choices that we had anywhere. Great Value for Money, and we will certainly be back to stay in the future.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms, and could not fault either. Beds are comfy and clean, linen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We came down from Plymouth for Christmas shopping and a relaxing 4 day break. We found the bungalow spotlessly clean, very well appointed and good value for money.
The 'Hosts' were very friendly and accommodating, we were even invited into the main part of the B & B to socialise with other guests and when we went out for a meal they taxied us to and from Padstow...what more could you ask for.
An excellent stay put us in the right frame of mind for Christmas...Thank you Warwick and Elaine for looking after us so very well.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here recently and as well as charging you over £800 for a week the owners ask for £100 cheque on arrival incase 'anything happens' on your stay. We left the place spotless but they cashed the cheque after we had left and invented we had spilt oil on the floor and carpet - this was a complete fabrication!!!! By this point it was our word against theres - when calling them to enquire why they have cashed the cheque both the lady and male owner become aggressive on the phone and say they have had to steam clean the carpet and buy a new rug - the man shouts rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb repeatedly down the phone and you can not get any sense out of the two of them-they just shout and over talk you whilst you are trying to explain!!!! Not nice people and a complete scam!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Elaine and Warick are wonderful hosts so friendly nothing to much trouble.The White House is spotless bright and modern. Breakfast is to die for with an excellent choice. The best B @ B we have stayed in, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-whitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stopped in this lovely B&B just outside Padstowe, Elaine and Mike could not make you feel more welcome, they were the perfect hosts. The accommodation was spotless, stylish, bright and fresh looking. The beds were comfy and pillows and douvet fluffy. This is one of the best B&B we have stopped in, well worth the money. The cooked breakfast was superb, plenty of choice and presented really well with care and whilst Elaine cooked Mike could not do enough for you. Loved the berry compote, different jam selections, yoghurts and muesli etc. Absolutely wonderful. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BradLeigh6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Excellent guest house, cannot say enough about the exceptional quality throughout their premises or the wonderful breakfasts. with so much choice. The owners are very warm, welcoming and caring.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have just returned from a weekend at The White House. Having travelled extensively throughout the world I can honestly say that I have never come across such perfect hosts. Elaine and Warwick (not Mike !!!) pay so much attention to detail that nothing is overlooked. The place is spotless, comfortable, homely, welcoming and all that you could want whether staying for a weekend or an annual holiday. There is a great choice of breakfast options including fresh fruit compote and even smoked salmon and kippers. The full English had sausages that actually tasted of real meat, not your usual chaff and skin!!!!!!!!
This is the place to stay when visiting Padstow and comes at a very good price.
Thanks Elaine and Mike (oops Warwick) Will see you again next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: St Issey, Wadebridge PL27 7QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Issey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Issey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White House St Issey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing