We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED”
Review of The White House

The White House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Issey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #3 of 4 St Issey B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

)We chose The White House after reading up on reviews for places to stay near Padstow and are very pleased to say that we were not disappointed with our eventual choice. Our bedroom was lovely - selflessly clean, modern, stylishly decorated and furnished, and VERY comfortable. An added bonus (we stayed in a room at the back of the house) was the panoramic view across the fields to the sea beyond! Breakfast is taken in a well appointed dining room and if you fill up here, especially with the fantastic cooked options, you certainly will have no need to eat during the day! There is a large, stylish and comfortable lounge for guests to use if you want, a nice touch was the fruit and chocolates for guests to help themselves to. Elaine and Warwick were the perfect hosts - friendly and very helpful. We would certainly stay here again if we are in the area and would recommend The White House to anyone wanting to stay in the Padstow area too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked thru the Internet for one night but felt so at home we stayed an extra night. Elaine and Warick are simply charming people who did their utmost to make our stay a pleasant experience. The bedroom was very comfortable and to have the use of a downstairs sitting room made us feel right at home.
Thanks Elaine and Warick, Karen and Max

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Promrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed four nights late August. The White House is a well appointed, beautifully decorated B & B but its greatest assets are Elaine and Warwick - the hosts. We stayed in a room at the front of the house excellent facilities, tv with dvd (good dvd library in guest lounge), good shower and tea and coffee making facilites. Breakfasts were a feast, a menu with varied choices for hot food, plus a huge choice of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals. I have to give a special mention to Elaine's fruit compote - yummy! Warwick and Elaine were extremely helpful and informative, always on hand for tips and ideas for visits, eateries and car parking, nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed their company when we met them at Harlyn Bay for the Raft Race. Highly recommend The White House look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusCie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We got off to a bad start. Our booking was confirmed via email and we said we were arriving between 2-3pm. When we arrived- there was no answer? We called the home number and the mobile number a few times and left a message on both. By 16:00 we still hadn't heard back? I called again and Warwick answered - said he had got messages and we could come between 16:30- 17:00? Since we had said what time we would be arriving and this had been acknowledged via email - better communication would have been appreciated.
Other than this bad start- I have to say the breakfast was superb. The presentation and food was really well done. One small suggestion- a full veggie breakfast option would probably be appreciated - only needs some veggie sausages and just offers the same choices as the meat eaters. The room was immaculate and the tea making facilities, water and DVD in the room was great. Warwick offered some great suggestion of a walk and places to go.
It's 4 miles out of Padstow- so does require driving back and forth- there is some off street free parking in Padstow out of season otherwise you will have to pay up to £4.50 for harbour car park for all day parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Friendly, home from home, beuitful breakfast with attention to high quality ingredients, immaculate rooms, lovely hosts who feel like helpful friends after just a few days, lovely longe to relax in if needed; excellent local knowldge for that extra nice break that we all need - Thanks Elaine and Warwick from Mike and the girls (Annabel and Mel), hope to see you again; lovely bumping into you on the beech with your lovely dogs, keep well Mike

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have views across the fields, best choice, the bungalow has same orientation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHelpfuTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We travel to Cornwall frequently but this was our first stay at the White House. We just came for 2 days to celebrate my wife's birhday and could not have been more warmly welcomed anywhere. The whole property is immaculate and every detail catered for. We were just unpacking our bags and there was a knock at the door. Warwick came in with a tray on which was a bottle of chilled pink bubbly and 2 flutes. We were absolutely "gob smacked" as we had never been there before. Both Elaine and Warwick went out of their way to be the perfect hosts and the accommodation and breakfast were definitely 5 star. Lovely guest lounge also and our room (beautifully furnished) had views over to the Camel Estuary. They also booked tables for us at 2 local hostelries for evening meals which were both very good. We will hope to return in the not too distant future

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked a three day stay from the website details and managed to find the best B&B we have vet stayed at. Very much like a small boutique hotel, The White House is beautifully presented, with stylish and top quality decoration, soft furnishings and fittings. Add to this mine host and hostess, Warwick and Elaine Blake, who look after their guests superbly. A warm and friendly atmosphere in a lovely house and breakfasts to die for. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank properjob929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: St Issey, Wadebridge PL27 7QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Issey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Issey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White House St Issey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing