We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but not amazing”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Duloe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: THE AWARD WINNING PLOUGH, DULOE. GREAT FOOD SIMPLY PREPARED WELL. The Plough, Duloe, a delightful Cornish pub celebrating the finest seasonal produce from the surrounding area. Found in the lovely Cornish village of Duloe, offering a warm and relaxed atmosphere with a passion for simple, honest cuisine, real ales and fine wines. The Plough was awarded Gold for The Taste of The West Dining Pub in 2015, 2016 and again in 2017 demonstrating our commitment to using fantastic local produce. The kitchen is led by Shaun where he creates an ever changing menu combining his passion for great food simply prepared well using the finest Cornish produce. Enjoy a drink in our garden, sit at our well stocked bar or unwind by the open fire. Alternatively Dine with us and enjoy a selection of our award winning food We look forward to welcoming you to The Plough Duloe.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of our accommodation provider. The staff were very friendly, the bar was really pleasant. The food was OK, and I would eat there again, but it was not as amazing as we were led to believe.

The fish and chips were bland, I have certainly had better, but the smoked haddock fishcake was lovely (although more spinach would have been good).

I would eat there again, but wouldn't rush to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 66Firehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shepherd433, Owner at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

I am sorry that on your last visit to The Plough Duloe it fell short and did not meet your expectations, as new owners from October 2014 we are confident in our service and the food we serve.

We have started to undertake an investment programme with the aim of enhancing our guests experience when visiting the pub whether enjoying a drink at the bar or a meal in the restaurant areas. I hope our more recent reviews will give you enough confidence to give The Plough another go and we would love to personally welcome you to The Plough if we can be of any more help please feel free to contact us direct via our email, enquiries@ploughduloe.co.uk
Like us on facebook to receive updates.

Please note The Plough is a privately owned free house.

Kind Regards

Richard and Louisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 513 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

With another couple we visited this pub/restaurant twice during a week long stay in the area. It is, in fact, the only eatery within walking distance of a stay in Duloe. However, the service was attentive, the food excellent and well presented. Although the interior was basic it was comfortable and the tables well spaced. We had two enjoyable evenings. Booking seems to be more or less essential at all times - when we visited it was full on a Tuesday evening and nearly so on Monday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ROG44_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ate here with friends on our first night. Staff were friendly but a little disorganized at times. Food was fairly typical of better than average pub fare but not outstanding. Good atmosphere

1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shepherd433, Owner at The Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

I am sorry that on your last visit to The Plough Duloe it fell short and did not meet your expectations, as new owners from October 2014 we are confident in our service and the food we serve.

We have started to undertake an investment programme with the aim of enhancing our guests experience when visiting the pub whether enjoying a drink at the bar or a meal in the restaurant areas. I hope our more recent reviews will give you enough confidence to give The Plough another go and we would love to personally welcome you to The Plough if we can be of any more help please feel free to contact us direct via our email, enquiries@ploughduloe.co.uk
Like us on facebook to receive updates.

Please note The Plough is a privately owned free house.

Kind Regards

Richard and Louisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having spent the evening searching for a suitable 'after wedding meal out venue', we were relieved to have our faith restored in Cornish pubs! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate ALL our needs, so we decided to stay and have a meal to test them out and were far from disappointed. The food was excellent, as was the service, we had both children and dogs who were equally welcomed and we considered the bill to be very reasonable. We have booked our wedding day meal in the function room and have been told - 'our only limit is your imagination'!! So a big thank you to all the staff - we are looking forwards to returning!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ZoeB580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stopped late on a Sunday for lunch and they were really friendly and helpful. Chose Haddock and chips because the Sunday lunch portions looked huge! Needless to say so were the fish and chips. Very fresh,well cooked and presented. Good value for money. Look forward to going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing