We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed results depending on what you order”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Duloe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: THE AWARD WINNING PLOUGH, DULOE. GREAT FOOD SIMPLY PREPARED WELL. The Plough, Duloe, a delightful Cornish pub celebrating the finest seasonal produce from the surrounding area. Found in the lovely Cornish village of Duloe, offering a warm and relaxed atmosphere with a passion for simple, honest cuisine, real ales and fine wines. The Plough was awarded Gold for The Taste of The West Dining Pub in 2015, 2016 and again in 2017 demonstrating our commitment to using fantastic local produce. The kitchen is led by Shaun where he creates an ever changing menu combining his passion for great food simply prepared well using the finest Cornish produce. Enjoy a drink in our garden, sit at our well stocked bar or unwind by the open fire. Alternatively Dine with us and enjoy a selection of our award winning food We look forward to welcoming you to The Plough Duloe.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Mixed results depending on what you order”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Charming location with a good menu, but what you pick determines how much you enjoy your meal. The people who picked anything with salad in got an indeterminate mass of green stuff with very little else. The beeetroot and orange salad was mostly green stuff with a small amount of betroot and orange barely able to taste it.

Those who picked the home made lasagne (vegetarian) or mint and pea soup were happier. I am told by regulars their fish and chips are good enough to die for, but on the night we went they had sold out. The sauce for the mussels was also very good. My mackerel salad again was mostly mystery green stuff - the mackerel was nice enough but I do think a salad needs more ingredients.

Friendly service.

The place advertises itself as dog friendly - we thought this applied to the pub side of the building but in fact it meant people ate at the table with their dogs underneath, occasionally wandering about. I was shocked by the hygiene implications of this - not being in the habit of eating with dogs present. Some small children were petrubed by large dogs and I think perhaps if you are not really a serious dog lover - possibly to the point of allowing your pooch to sleep with you - then this is not your ideal restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shepherd433, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
I am sorry that on your last visit to The Plough Duloe it fell short and did not meet your expectations, as new owners from October 2014 we are confident in our service and the food we serve.

We have started to undertake an investment programme with the aim of enhancing our guests experience when visiting the pub whether enjoying a drink at the bar or a meal in the restaurant areas. I hope our more recent reviews will give you enough confidence to give The Plough another go and we would love to personally welcome you to The Plough if we can be of any more help please feel free to contact us direct via our email, enquiries@ploughduloe.co.uk
Like us on facebook to receive updates.

Please note The Plough is a privately owned free house.

Kind Regards

Richard and Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    148
    51
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What good service, lovely atmosphere and excellent menu with good variety of choices. Not rushed at all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrisju2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Took the dogs”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing food and very tolerant of dogs. Went here on my hooneymoon. Walked from the cottage we rented. Fantastic atmosphere. Really enjoyed it

Helpful?
Thank IzzyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fresh Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a wonderful pub, just off the beaten track near Looe. The menu was so appealing and tempting we had to visit twice in one week and weren't disappointed on either occasion. The food was very fresh and local. The Cornish crab salad was delicious and great value and the short beef rib special melted in the mouth. There was high praise too for the homemade scotch duck egg, scallops and beer-battered fish and chips. There was a nice children's menu but our nine and twelve year old dived headfirst into the adult menu and enjoyed every mouthful. Lovely, traditional pub atmosphere and incredibly friendly, attentive service. I would not hesitate to recommend to others visiting the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another satisfied customer”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Agree with David G. Interesting menu, good, friendly and helpful service, but too many dogs. Obviously this is a plus point for many, but when one has children in the party who aren’t used to the animals big ones can be intimidating.
Aside from that the only reason we didn’t go back during our stay was that there are so many other excellent places in the area! Were we to go back to the area, we’d definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldEssexMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing