We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spring spectacular”
Review of Caerhays Castle

Caerhays Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Caerhays
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Caerhays Castle is one of the very few Nash built castles still left standing, and is situated within approximately 120 acres of informal woodland gardens created by J C Williams, who sponsored plant hunting expeditions to China at the turn of the century. As well as guided tours of the house from March to June, visitors will see some of the magnificent selection of plants brought back by the intrepid plant hunters of the early 1900s - these include not only the collection of magnolias but a wide range of rhododendrons and the camellias which Caerhays and the Williams family are associated with worldwide.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Spring spectacular”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Tempted by a TV preview we came to enjoy the truly beautiful display of magnolias, rhodos and camellias planted over an ancient, wooded hillside garden, with views down onto the castle and out to sea. Also took in a tour of the castle - rather expensive for the house and garden combined ticket - but very interesting. The garden was obviously planned for dramatic spring impact, and would be no more than a walk in the woods at any other time of year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GeeJay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    45
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning garden despite the heavy mist and rain”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Coming from South-east England where rainfall is significantly lower than in Cornwall one can only marvel at the size and scale of the plantings at Caerhays.

Our visit was perfectly-timed to admire the displays of many magnolias, camellias and rhododendrons that Caerhays is justly famous for. A guided group tour helped us navigate the huge garden and see the best of the seasonal colour. There was so much to enjoy we should have stayed longer, dipping in and out of the garden at our leisure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RachelP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful spring garden”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very busy when we arrived as a coach party of 44 was visiting. Signs not brilliant but we walked around the grounds with beautiful views to the coast. Magnolias and camellias were stunning.
Tea rooms very busy obviously couldn't cope with volume of visitors so waited about 40 minutes fir a sandwich and list of items sold out.
Good little nursery selling locally grown plants including magnolia and camellias.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenloverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lost in Cornwall!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We are keen gardeners so were looking forward to this visit.
Yes the castle and it's surrounding woodlands with magnificent magnolias, climbing clematis, huge hydrangeas & colourful camellias, were undoubtably beautiful. But the cost of £8 each appeared above average.
Unfortunately the directions to take you around the grounds were somewhat lacking. So would often point to the sky or down to the ground, we got lost on numerous occasions, with dead ends and paths that suddenly disappeared ( it was clear others had struggled too- as we could see tracks of where others had got lost!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“February Camellias”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It may be wet underfoot following the storms, and trees may be down, but the camellias of Caerhays make up for this with lots of walks with splendid views. The cafe serving home made food with a cheerful smile.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goldcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caerhays Castle also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Caerhays Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing