We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best you can get”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“This is the best you can get”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is the best Spa hotel I have ever stayed in, I cannot praise it highly enough. Its a slice of paradise.
Food AMAZING
Outdoor hot tub in front of roaring log fire, the smell of the wood wafting through the air as you relax.
The rooms are stylish and luxurious.
If you only ever visit one hotel in your life make it this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    178
    67
    22
    7
See reviews for
249
285
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It has been a while since I've stayed in a hotel in England, so despite the location, ambience, excellent service and food at Calcot Manor, I was taken aback by the prices. I cannot compare the room rate or food costs with anywhere else in the UK, but by European standards I would say that you get a lot less here for your money.
Value apart, the hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation which comprises rooms in the main building and in the surrounding cottages and houses.
Staff are welcoming and helpful.
Food was excellent in the restaurants, and 24 hour room service is available.
Wi-fi is provided free of charge, but mobiles only seem to work in the car park!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonybard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I had very high expectations which is potentially why I was slightly disappointed. We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend and really enjoyed our stay. However, the room we had could have done with some refreshing. The odd light didn't work, there were marks on the wall etc. None of these are a problem but when you pay as much as you do per night you expect better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

went there with my partner for my birthday last year and i dont have a bad thing to say about it, it isnt the height of luxury but it is a great all round hide away. the only thing that was not up to expectation was the restaurant, the food was not what you would hope for the price and the staff were not attending to customers as well as they should have, the hotel had plenty maybe too many staff but i had to wait 15 minutes without recieving attention and that includes me physically waving my arms directly at a waitress before going to the manger and getting the bill myself. such a shame really as the rest including all staff from pool guard to massage staff were fantastic.
huge continental breakfast delivered to the room in the morning and enjoyed in the huge bath with my partner as a last treat.

Room Tip: we stayed in the york room which was lovely. i dont think it would be he best but by all means decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I visited on 15th July with 3 girlfriends and we booked the half day programme at £99 each.

On arrival I was greeted by Victoria who has a style that's nice blend of friendly, professional and welcoming... she walked me over to the conservatory where lunch was booked. The lunch was outstandingly good .... the Maitre D' a little chilly but professional.... the waiting staff were lovely.

We returned to the spa and completed out forms.... there was a little bit of a wait to be shown around ... given the number of staff this should have happened quicker but the objective was to chill out so maybe that's the issue!

The setting is just stunning...... a big hot tub surrounded by sun loungers and there's an open fire too so the atmosphere is wonderful.

The tour was great and the spa is immaculate... I enjoyed the pool, the hot tub and then a full body massage with Keira - she's very good and it was exactly what I wanted. Afterwards I had a little snooze in the chill area upstairs and then we all had a cup of tea downstairs before hot showers and home.

If I was asked for one change I'd make then it would be to add conditioner to the showers along with the shampoo but that's a tiny thing and can be overcome very easily.

Overall, I recommend..... the staff are great and the location is stunning!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My wife and I were booked in for a 2 night stay and we liked it so much we extended it by a night. During the last year we have stayed at Babbington House and Cowley Manor, similar sorts of hotel to Calcot and we had super stays at both, having said that, Calcot was by far the best of the trio. Why? The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and varied - restaurant cuisine in the Conservatory(which is a beautiful room), gastropub food in the Gumstool Inn and healthy snacks and light lunches in the spa area. The Spa is excellent with a lovely outdoor area with a large hot tub backed by roaring log fire. Two new tennis courts........and lots more. Our kids aren't young any more, if yours are, the facilities appear to be excellent, far better than anything that was available when our kids were younger. Our room, Kingswood, is in the main part of the hotel and was quiet, comfortable and well appointed. All in all, a lovely place...... we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A&K57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. The room we had booked was Devon, which is a perfectly sized beautiful room. We ate dinner at the Gumstool Inn which is situated within the hotel. As previous reviews have stated, it was fairly busy, but I will take that as a good thing as the food was very nice, although the vegetarian options were on the slim side.

We used the Spa facilities, which I would also highly recommend, especially the outdoor Jacuzzi.

Overall we both had a great experience at Calcot Manor and I would highly recommend the hotel. Go for Devon, lovely room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
6.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,277 reviews
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
381 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
14.5 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Property: Calcot Manor
Address: | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing