We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calcot Manor Spa Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Calcot Manor Spa Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We recently went to the Cotswolds for a few days and stayed in this lovely hotel situated in rural Tetbury which incidentally is a charming and quaint village definitely worth a visit. Calcot Manor offers a relaxing ambiance, log fires, beautiful walks, delicious food in their conservatory ( we did not try the Brasserie). The decor is fairly modern and very comfortable as indeed are the bedrooms with their kingsize beds and every accoutrement for a comfortable stay. We were greeted as if we were " coming home" that is to say not intrusively nor particularly service orientated but all the staff are keen to bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. It is just a question of asking. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of food. The evening meals as I have already hinted offer a good selection of locally sourced foods and in our view were very good indeed Tetbury is well situated to visit nearby Cheltenham and Cirencester as well as smaller villages such as Stowe on the Wold in the locality which offer a wealth of typically English heritage. Finally, the spa side of the hotel offers pool and gym as well as the usual treatments. I had a wonderful aromatherapy massage which was sheer bliss and extremely relaxing. We would return any time given the chance.

Room Tip: The mid week offer with a significant discount is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn-Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    173
    65
    22
    7
See reviews for
249
279
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just back from a 2 night break celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary. A personal thank-you to Emma P and the reception team for arranging a nice bottle of Champagne and card in the room as a surpirse for my wife. A nice touch. Thank-you.
As a couple travelling without chidren, under advice from other reviews I asked for a room in the main house. We were delighted with the Gatcombe; spacious, comfortable and high quality.
There were a few families around the hotel but no unruly children to disturb our relaxation! We ate in both the Gumstool and Conservatory for dinner and both were very nice.
We chose to drink our bottle of bubbly in the hot tub at the spa - why not show off! The spa itself was very good, staff very friendly and facilities top quality, you can see a lot has been invested here.
Each morning after a very hearty cooked breakfast we enjoyed the 3k walk around the surrounding fields, especially enjoying the views on Sunday morning on a fresh, sunny autumn morning. Perfect.
Any criticisms? No! At a push I can only think that on arrival we ordered sandwiches and cake in the lounge area. Maybe we mistakenly chose from a kids menu as the portion sizes were rather on the small side....

It's not cheap to stay here but it deserves the 5 star title and we both felt you got what you paid for and recommend to anyone. A fantastic weekend of 'get away' relaxing, the hotel was great and we will certainly return.

(Tetbury is also a nice local town for wandering around the shops and only 5 mins away)

Room Tip: Prefer to stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Calcot Manor. It was my husband's 60th Birthday and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They thought ahead to anticipate our needs and always got it right. There were 12 adults and 5 children, everyone had a good time. The babysitters were prompt and loved by the children. We had a mixture of bedrooms and they were all of a good standard, and all different in style. My husband and I were in a family block, we thought we might be surrounded by noise, but not the case, we didn't know there were children there.
The staff are amazing, friendly and efficient. We booked the barn or a private dinner on the saturday night, the food and the staff were fantastic.
We would recommend a visit to this very relaxing hotel. We are certainly going back there.

Room Tip: Rooms inside the house are generally just for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We are just back from a 4 day trip at Calcot Manor having used a 3 for the price of 4 nights deal. We were with our 3 and 1 year old.

The hotel is very good, the family suite of a good size and I loved the bathroom. There is a GBP30 fee per child per night as they have an on-site creche with very nice staff and this includes high tea. We used the creche to get a relaxing massage at the spa.

The staff is very friendly and used to dealing with families with children. The food is great at both restaurants with healthy options for children.

Only small negative elements and the reasons why I would only give 4 rather than 5 stars: the rooms are relatively sound proof but for the noise coming from the hallway and there was a baby not sleeping through the night in the room in front of ours for 2 nights meaning that we did not sleep too well during these nights.

The light colour of the carpet in the rooms and hallway is also not ideal especially during autumn and a muddy environment as it can very easily look dirty. Before it got changed on the fourth night our bed linen was not completely spotless either.

However we would go back for the friendliness of the staff, the family friendly features and the quality of the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was our second visit to lovely Calcot Manor. We spent 2 nights here in May and booked our return visit during the winter half term on a DBB deal with spa vouchers which is available on weekdays. The deal is still expensive (£40 per head towards dinner in the main restaurant doesn't always cover it) with £30 per child extra per night and some reviews have commented that for the 5 star prices the rooms are not up to scratch. BUT we disagree. Yes it is expensive and yes the rooms are a bit worn with some bits needing updating. However, it is easy to see where the money goes. So on to the good stuff:
the facilities in both the spa and the playzone are excellent. The spa is beautiful and the changing facilities, outdoor hotbub, fires, common areas etc are very attractive and beautifully maintained. The kids only get to use the pool for an hour and a half in the afternoon as the rest of the time it is adults only, but this is fine as we know in advance and there were plenty of toys etc. to amuse them and make the most of their swimming time.
The plazone is run by lots of wonderful staff and full of toys and activities. The staff also took our kids on nature rambles and gave them plenty of attention. There were also special Halloween night activities which we were invited to join in prior to arrival (so we could come prepared with dressing up clothes etc) and a cinema night with a 'spooky' cartoon. Needless to say the kids loved it.
The Gumstool Inn served a delicious, 3 course, childrens tea at 5.30 every day where the kids were treated to crispy pan fried mackerel, poached salmon, parma ham and melon, fruit salad and homemade ice cream. Not a frozen fish finger in sight. Portions weren on the small side but there was always corn on the cob and fresh bread to accompany the meal and service was very efficient and fast.
The Conservatory restaurant, where we had our dinner once the children were settled in bed with the listening monitor system on, was a more formal dining experience. We were very charmed by the delightful maitre de and enjoyed our dinners but found the prices a little high and the wine list also a little pricey. That said, the food was of a good standard, with fresh ingredients and attentive service.
Our bedroom, the Westonbirt, had a small room with bunk beds for the kids, a large bathroom and a large main bedroom with french windows leading onto a back garden with a lovely small play area. On our last visit we stayed in an adjacent room which was also suitable for a family with young kids. It was lovely to have a bit of privacy at night without having separate rooms and also lovely to be able to open the french doors in the morning and let the kids play in safety on the 'pirate ship' while we got ready to go out. It's true that the rooms are a little frayed around the edges, but this didn't bother us as the decor was very pretty and whatever was lost by the odd missing tile was more than made up for by the charm and ambience of the place. There was tea, coffee, hot chocolate (all organic) and homemade shortbread in the room which was great but no minibar. Again, this was not a problem for us as the bar was open all day and room service was always available.
The building and setting of the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The hotel was an old farmhouse and the stone walls and corridors give it a lovely, cosy, rustic feel. The furnishings, along with the log fires and original cotswold stone make for a very relaxing atmosphere, luxurious, without being grand, tasteful without being pretentious, very pretty without being twee.
Finally, a few words about the service. Having read many of the other reviews here, I was surprised to find some criticising the service. On both visits to Calcot we found the service in all areas of the hotel to be absolutely faultless. From the lovely ladies on reception, the restaurant staff, the spa and the playzone everyone was friendly, professional and helpful, even when we had cause to complain about something (like our noisy neighbours) or had a special request (another log for the fire please). Nothing was too much trouble and everything was dealt with efficiently, with a smile. I really don't think they could have been nicer! They also treated our 4 and 7 year old like VIPs, spoke to them with kindness and respect. There were also had games, dvds and crayons at reception and in the lounge to borrow any time. It is also a bonus that, once we checked out, and indeed before we were able to check in, we were allowed and even encouraged to use the facilities, spa and even the creche.
We loved our stay at Calcot and, while we agree it is expensive, for the beautiful setting, the warm and relaxing atmosphere, the wonderful facilities and the attitude and service of the excellent staff, it's definitely worth it. If we could, we'd be back this weekend! We really hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms in the separate building by the playground are perfect for families with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happykampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel to celebrate my grandmother's birthday in October and thought it was great - very comfortable room, tastefully decorated inside in a manner which compliments perfectly the more traditional exterior; both nights, we ate in the more formal conservatory restaurant which, whilst pricey (over £10 for 2 scallops isn't acceptable) was extremely good - and the crispy apple tart was one of the best I have ever had! Fantastic location too, with several options for countryside walks, visits to local towns and villages and more adventurous activities too. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I booked a Spa Day for my wife and I on our 31st wedding anniversary. All the arrangements were well handled via e-mail and it all happened exactly as planned. Met at Spa reception, escorted to the Conservatory for an excellent lunch. Returned to the Spa for a very relaxing afternoon and the treatments were exactly as described in the brochure. The introductory tour covered all the points that were necessary for a trouble free visit. Felt very relaxed and my wife really enjoyed herself, which was the important thing. Due to certain matters, my wife is very stressed, and this day helped to sort out, for a time, this problem. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hautchamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
17.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Property: Calcot Manor
Address: | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing