We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family stay”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire,UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing family stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our third, and probably best, family stay at Calcot Manor. If you are looking for a combination of relaxed, grown up luxury with great service, delicious food, a lovely spa and good children's facilities then I would really recommend this hotel.

It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful, rural setting which in itself helps you to relax as soon as you get out of your car and walk into the hotel. The service is professional and friendly and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to look after us at all times, but particularly when our little boy wouldn't sleep and we had to retreat to our room for dinner.

The Conservatory restaurant is back on good form from both a food and service perspective, and both dinner and breakfast were really well cooked and enjoyable dining experiences.

The pool, spa and treatment rooms are very attractive and comfortable - lovely outdoor hot tub - and the pool was the perfect temperature. The service in the spa is also very good - friendly and professional.

We have used the Playzone as a place to go and play with our son, rather than a creche, but have always found the staff to be friendly and welcoming.

There is also a fun children's outdoor playground which our son loves. The playground is right outside the family block and given the proximity of the family block to the playground, the main house and the Playzone, I'd personally advise families to stay in the rooms there to make the most of your stay.

In my experience, you enjoy Calcot Manor at its best during the week when it is slightly quieter. It loses none of its ambience for being quieter and in my opinion, is even more relaxing for sharing it with fewer people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJEBerkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    185
    70
    22
    8
See reviews for
255
294
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent one night here with my husband and thought the food at both restaurants and service was excellent- however the room was just average. Maybe this was because we were right next to the parking lot and the windows were small and dusty owing to the cars coming in an out. The spa service was average- it was full, and we felt like our therapists were in a rush.

Would definitely come back to the restaurants- delicious! But not so sure about hotel or spa itself. No porters in sight to help with the bags either. We came from a longhaul flight with lots of luggage, and although the young girl at front desk offered to help, my husband felt he had to do it himself.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor by the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a traditional English afternoon tea with two very old friends, their son, his wife and three children. Calcot Manor is a delightful place and the whole package looks to be set up exceedingly well.
We had a lovely time, the staff were pleasant and helpful and afternoon tea delicious.
Our friends, over from Vancouver, were spending four days at Calcot and had nothing but the highest praise by day three. They are wold travellers, so that is praise indeed!
It is a child friendly environment, so if you don't like kids, beware!
We plan to return with our own children(and theirs)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from lovely spa break at thiS beautiful place.
Very good service and effiecent and decor is so tastefully done and cosy by the fire.
Food very nice in Village pub. Calfs liver was yummy!
Spa treatment was lovely and the outdoor hot tub with the fire was really lovely.
Did not want to leave.
I have nothing against kids, but there were lots of them so as very child friendly place.
Only annoying thing was wifi as you can only get in room and it was random so may not be a good place to come if you need to work?
Would go back in a heartbeat and shame xmas is booked as the place will be magical then.

Room Tip: Oxford room very nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I very much enjoyed our recent stay at Calcot Manor. It's a well-organised hotel, facilities are good, staff friendly and efficient. The food is also very good. We spent a long weekend there and found plenty to do around the hotel (walks, spa, swimming, kids creche) and enjoyed the relaxed atmoshere and peace and quiet of the room and grounds.

Only downsides were parking (a little cramped) but not sure what they could do about that), and I think it's slightly over-priced, although not by much. I'd have preferred something a little more 'eclectic' and a little less 'stokebroker' but you can't have everything I guess, and this place would certainly suit most people's tastes.

How about some decent artwork, this would put it in the bracket I think they want to be in.

Room Tip: I think they're all probably very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madbharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our second stay this time with children, previously without. Both stays have been superb, its lovely to stay at a hotel where you know there is stuff for the children whether you're with them or not (as there is a creche and on-site nannies). This makes for a lovely relaxed stay but the place is not over run with children either so the child averse should not be put off.

Service is excellent. They were even flexible enough to let us have the restuarant menu on the veranda at the front of the hotel. As we have two young children and did not want to use the nanny service it was the perfect solution; the children could be in the garden not disturbing anyone whilst we had dinner.

They are very accomodating and offer perfectly good value in a beautiful setting, overall a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I and our 2 small boys (4&2) stayed in a family suite last week and LOVED it. My expectations were high as even in advance Deborah at reception had slightly forced me to decide on kids club, spa treatments, dinner times etc. Well worth the few minutes thought in advance. We had our best family holiday yet. It was unbelievably relaxing (spa every morning), fun with the boys (including swimming both indoor and out) in the afternoon followed by kids high tea, followed by play on beautiful lawn, followed by DVD, followed by their bed and our fantastic dinner, which managed to feel like a real occasion, while only being 11/2 hours. Just wonderful. Great combination of everything; style, food, atmosphere, dynamic staff, wonderful facilities and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanandJarleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,305 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
794 reviews
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
390 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Property: Calcot Manor
Address: | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing