We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for kids (and us)”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I surprised my wife (and two year old boy) for a long weekend. We stayed in a family suite (so he had a seperate room, which had chicken decorations which he loved). Bed was very comfortable with views from the room overlooking the countryside. He loved the playzone (particularly the trains), but we didn't leave him alone there. We had dinner both nights in the conservatory, which was very nice (even though they had a fire in the building that evening, everybody was very effecient about it) and lunch in the Gumstool. All the staff were very friendly and effecient. The high tea was fantastic and the little one ate everything (cornish mackerel, sweet corn, soup...), breakfast was relaxing and was also fresh and fantastic. Basically, it felt like being at home with all the comforts and relaxation of not being at home, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at calcot manor.
We have stayed here before on several occasions.
Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Lovely big bathroom with a large bath.
The bed and bedding is just so comfortable it's a shame to return to our own bed, I had the best three nights sleep ever.
There also delicious home made biscuits in the room, with the tea and coffee.
The breakfast is great lots of choice on the menu and the buffet, really great service and friendly staff.
We ate lunch and dinner in the gumstool on Friday both meals were fantastic. Fantastic chips and steak.the service was very good and the staff were very friendly.
We also had treatments in the spa our treatments were great and left us feeling relaxed. We also had the fresh juices they make in the spa, delicious.
We had a great stay and hope to return again next year.
It's a beautiful place to go this time of year, with the Christmas trees and decorations. With the smell of the log fires makes you feel really Christmassy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went to Calcot Manor for an overnight break and it was amazing! Bedroom was beautifully decorated with a lovely freestanding bath, a real treat after our walk! From the location to the lovely walk to the fabulous meal in the Gumstool Inn, everything was perfect. Breakfast was excellent, just one tiny criticism, our toast was forgotten...
I know this place is popular with young families, mainly because everything is on site, and they cater for children very well, which was lovely to see.
The spa is gorgeous, especially the hot tub! All in all, a lovely stay and I would definitely recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room, but I think because do the location most of the rooms would be fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Wonderfully relaxing, beautiful room and spa. Loved that I could have a proper swim in a decent sized pool. My fourth visit in 8 years - I love the consistency every time I return. Young children around and about, but mostly seen and not heard if you want a quiet couple of days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This review is for a day business trip only, but it is always relevant.
We have used this venue for business for a few years now and i can confirm that the facilities are always excellent, lunch and drinks service on time. The venue is truly first class and i would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deano933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were staying at Calcot Manor's sister hotel near Bibury and decided to take a drive south towards Tetbury, calling in at Calcot Manor for a cup of coffee and early lunch. Very impressive buildings as we wandered round trying to find reception which we did and were guided towards the lounge area by friendly staff. This room was filled with rather comfortable looking sofas but also buggies, toddlers and babies making a fair amount of noise as little ones do at this age. The decibel level seemed not to bother the parents who were obviously enjoying themselves while their children played around them on the carpet. We then enquired where else we could enjoy a quiet cup of coffee, and were pointed in the direction of the Gumstool Bar/Restaurant. The fire was nearly out, giving only a modicum of warmth on a cold, wet and rainy day so much coaxing with logs of wood in a basket next to the fire place made a bit of a difference. No problem, the staff did not seem to have noticed. I love making fires. We were the only couple in the Gumstool as far as we could make out - just as our tray of coffee arrived -by now nearly midday, the doors opened and more buggies, babies, toddlers and young children accompanied by their parents walked in. Gulping our coffee down and leaving the warmth of the now roaring log fire, we headed for the door back to the car. Calcot Manor looks to be a good place to stay - child friendly is most definitely high on their agenda - not ours though. Neither was lunch in the Gumstool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just had a lovely stay again at Calcot . Staff so so helpful, we had to change our booking twice (due to child care issues) and nothing was to much trouble. Lovely room , lovely food , great spa and treatments . We travel frequently and this is up there with one of the best. You feel like it is a real treat.

Room Tip: Had different rooms each time we have stayed all lovely. We were in a garden loft room . Lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
616 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
911 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Address: Near terbury | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £203 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing