We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was a 3 day business trip with 10 people on 1 day and 36 for the remain two. We nearly took over the whole hotel. All rooms are excellent and facilities. Staff really care and are very helpful. Spa facilities are excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending this.

Food is excellent in the restaurant and the pub next door.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel are all en-suite but the cottages outside are 2 storey and the next level! S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    177
    67
    22
    7
See reviews for
249
284
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The great thing about Calcot Manor is that it's not a typical family resort, yet it's perfect for families with children of all ages.

We have just spent a weekend with our 14-months-old toddler and we all had a great time. I guess as young parents we miss reading the news peacefully in the morning while having a long breakfast. This became possible again thanks to the on-site creche, what a brilliant idea! It rained heavily for most of the WE, so we did take advantage of it, and found them very efficient in terms of planning (I had booked in advance to avoid 'disappointment'), but also great in the way they look after the children, the carers were really nice and experienced.

The family rooms, which are on a separate wing outside the main building are just perfect. They look like normal country house rooms, excepts you have all you need to look after a baby. I was very impressed with the box in the closet with a bottle steriliser, bottle warmer, brush and washing up liquid, all super handy when you are away for a couple of days and don't want to bring everything from home. Everything it well thought after, meaning there is nothing at a short height with which toddlers could hurt themselves, even the buttons to open the doors of the building are carefully placed as high as possible so children cannot run away!
And of course the built-in baby monitor connected to reception is go-go! Again very simple yet clever idea, which makes a huge difference as I find it a bit silly to pay a babysitter for a couple of hours to sit in your hotel room (especially since this room needs to be dark if your child is sleeping in it) while you are at the restaurant.
The staff at the restaurant and reception were extremely kind and organised, always arranging for your needs/requests.

Thanks to the creche we also enjoyed a selfish afternoon session at the spa. It offers a comprehensive range of treatments and also boasts a big indoor swimming pool, which access is opened to children at certain times of the day. There are travel cots in the ladies changing rooms so you can put your baby somewhere while getting ready! The spa itself is very nice, big and bright, it's good to see natural light coming in despite the rain. It seems to get quite packed in the weekends though as I guess the nice facilities attract local people who are not staying at the hotel.

All in all a great city escape just 2 hours drive from West London!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AxelitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a 4 day break in January and what a lovely time we had. Although it was cold the hotel was just so cosy with nice log fires just the place to read a book with a cup of tea and cake. We stayed in the main building in the "Gatcombe Room" which was on the first floor. The room was lovely with 2 windows 1 overlooking the front garden and the side window looking onto the small garden of the Gumstool and car park in the distance. The bathroom was wonderful with a large walk-in shower as well as a bath. We eat mostly in the Gumstool where the food was very good. We found the staff all very friendly and were always there to help. A really nice hotel to stay at and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenfield186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was our second visit in two weeks, our first visit was for afternoon tea in lounge area, sat in front of a very nice and alluring open fire. We found the staff to be very friendly and so polite they just made you feel that nothing is to much trouble and as for the cream tea absolutely beautiful. So we returned again, this time for a evening meal, have way through our first round of drinks we decided to see if we could book a room and stay the night. Now we feel that these staff members have to be meantioned as they go above and beyond there job titles, pulling out all the stops for us to enjoy our spur of the moment night away. First of is Mr Paul Sadler who organized the room along with Rory and Emma P on reception who organized all of our personal bits and pieces needed due to our spur of the moment decision. Secondly Barry Mannings (chef) who personal came out of the kitchen to discus his recommendations to my wife and myself regarding our choices and what dishes complimented each other. We followed his advice and can honestly say it was one of the best three course dinners we have had. Thirdly Monika who gave her reconditions on wine to compliment the meal which we could not fault and also she took five minutes of her very busy time to come over to our table and chat with us. Lastly but not least Bea our waitress who was always smiling and so polite and made us feel so comfortable. To be honest every staff member that was working that evening deserves a mention but there are far to many to mention personal. Everyone was smiling, happy and certainly looked like they were enjoying there work they are all a credit to this amazing hotel. We would highly recommend for time way to visit this amazing place. Our next visit will be a little more planned to allow a visit to the spa and maybe an extra night away.

A huge thank you to everyone who made our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLisa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just been, for the third time to this wonderful building with lovely Spa and Pool with open space for perfect walks. It conceals, behind its Public House entrance, a beautiful building with some exquisite interior decoration in the house and its bedrooms, and wonderful artefacts of Museum quality.It's serious restaurant is of four star quality as are all its numerous house staff. Breakfast with care from an extensive (seductive) menu. But walk it off round the tow and a half mile track through lovely, lonely open country undisturbed by man or beasts.

Room Tip: In the winter, stay in the main house if you can. But outside rooms all also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daffyddapgwilym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great place to bring the family. We had 5 kids of different ages from toddlers to teenagers to university students and we all had a fantastic time. We bonded over the bike rides and the food which was one of the best we had considering that we had so many allergy and dietary requirements. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone went out of their way to make this a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 759michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our second visit to Calcot and just as relaxing as the first. There was a slight confusion over spa times booked, but very quickly resolved to what was originally agreed. We had a room in the main house this time, which was smaller than before but just as lovely and much better lighting. Fantastic big bathroom too - only problem was that the hot water couldn't cope with filling the bath!
We love the spa and the treatments were excellent. Plus a lovely laze in the hot tub looking at the stars
Dinner was delicious, but maybe not excellent - both main courses a little lacking in flavour, and nothing on the pudding menu that tempted me, although my husband enjoyed his.
We slept really well, and enjoyed our breakfast - the ladies who serve this are all slightly more mature and just gorgeous - so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Again, only criticism was that the Eggs Benedict was lacking in flavour - really weak hollandaise. Think someone in the kitchen needs to look at the seasoning of the food.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
378 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
14.5 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Property: Calcot Manor
Address: | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing