We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely spa break”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely spa break”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Calcot Manor over the Christmas period after staying at their sister hotel, Barnsley House. It's a lovely hotel, great for a weekend away where you want to use a good spa but for more reasonable rates.

Our room was lovely but for us, it's the spa that makes the hotel worth a visit. There's a lovely indoor pool, good size changing rooms, a super outdoor jacuzzi and some treatment rooms. My recommendation would be to avoid school holidays though when families descend on the hotel and take over the pool....if it's rest and relaxation you're after then plan your visit carefully!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SunshineBluesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    175
    66
    22
    7
See reviews for
249
283
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went to Calcot for a spur-of-the-moment spa break with a friend. I think we had a superior room, The Wiltshire, which may have been all they had available as we wanted a twin, and this was absolutely lovely. It's in a separate building in the grounds, with very comfortable beds - albeit pushed up next to each other, so not exactly twin bedded really - and an enormous bathroom. Another reviewer has written that they didn't have anywhere to hang a coat in the room, which is very strange as there's an enormous wardrobe with a lot of good quality coathangers in it, so we hung ours there! Simples.
There was a proper hairdryer - which makes a nice change - and a vacuum jug of chilled fresh water, which was a pleasant touch.

The breakfast was very good as was a light lunch in the conservatory restaurant. We possibly made a bad choice for dinner in the Gumstool "pub", which didn't have enough atmosphere to feel like a proper pub and tried to be a bit too clever with the food, which didn't work. A duck confit starter was incredibly salty (which I told them about) and the burgers had a very strange "bacon jam" which didn't add anything at all, although otherwise the burgers were very good - thick and juicy. The service both in the restaurant and the lounge for pre-dinner drinks, was hit and miss - the cocktails were great but we had to go and rustle up drinks as nobody came to take our order having given us a cocktail list. Similarly in the Gumstool we had to get up from the table, which was tucked in a corner, to find someone to ask for more wine. So we felt that the food and service rather let down the overall standard of the hotel and certainly wouldn't eat in The Gumstool again.

The spa treatments were lovely - massages, facial etc - and the spa itself is a lovely airy, purpose-built, building. There's no noise in the treatment rooms from the gym below and there's a very popular outdoor hot tub with a log fire just nearby - we didn't get to sample it and it did seem rather busy. The only criticism of the spa was that they had a very limited selection of nail polish colours, so I suggest taking your own if you plan a manicure. The treatment rooms and therapists all seemed busy so it's worth booking as far in advance as possible. There's a café in the spa building serving hot and cold drinks, snacks and very nice cake, in enormous slices!

Overall it was a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds and I would definitely go back, but with reservations about the dining options.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are in separate buildings in the grounds, so you may need a coat when going to and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My Girlfriend and I had very much been looking forward to staying at Calcot. we had heard some great reviews from friends and online.
initial feedback was good we were given some complimentary drinks as we waited for our room, we then visited the spa and gym, both of which are great. the outdoor hot tub was often quite busy but when you did have a quite moment it was great. all treatments we had were also excellent, cannot fault the service in the spa at all.
we arrived in our room at 2pm and decided to head down for some lunch following our spa session. only to be told by all 3 restaurants that kitchen was closed from 2pm. leaving the only things to eat as sandwiches and cakes. the staff said they could accommodate us and prepared a chicken salad and a chicken sandwich for us. both of which to be honest were fairly poor. Checki n is advised for 3pm, if you travel down on an empty stomach and you dont fancy eating bread or cakes then i would bring a lunchbox.

table was booked for dinner at 7.30pm, we were shown to our table in a fairly empty restaurant although it was very loud due to 3 children being sat next to our table of 2. we had been told that children were supposed to eat dinner in the pub area of the hotel and not the quiet restaurant in the conservatory. our starters arrived and were sensational it has to be said, unfortunately they were not enough to tie us over for the hour we then waited to receive our main courses. the water bottle was empty for 30 minutes before a member of staff came over, to which we then asked about our dinner. to the surprise on her face she rushed back to the Kitchen and brought over the mains a couple of minutes later. My dish was superb my partners was stone cold...back that went. we were offered a free round of drinks, received and appreciated.
on to deserts, the pecan pie was going to be 12 minutes said a completely new member of the staff in the kitchen/ restaurant, no problem we said. 40 minutes later out came the pecan pie. meanwhile other patrons of the conservatory are streaming out having sat down at 8.30 and finished at 10pm. desert was complete and up to our rooms we went. No additional apology received.
great sleep great room.
next morning, up we get for breakfast. had a little word with the duty manager regarding the dinner the night before on the way to breakfast. understood and apology accepted.
shown to our table and over came all the wrong drinks. not for us we said. omelettes came out...wrong fillings! girlfriend sent hers back, i was too hungry, i can do without some onions.
few more apologies and of we went. stayed a few more hours to soak up the spa and surroundings. the walk/run trail is a good addition.
paid the bill, to be fair they did take some items off from the dinner but the satisfaction from staying in a expensive and luxurious hotel/spa had slightly tainted the experience for me.

one note, there is no dedicated waiter /waitress in the restaurants. we must have had 6 at dinner and the same at breakfast. and the worry was neither time was packed out. god forbid!

im not sure whether we would go back, we do love the area of Tetbury. and most areas of the hotel are great. just left a funny after taste when it came to the service side of things. Hopefully we were just unlucky!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Fabulous is the only word for our room at the Calcot Manor Hotel. Tastefully furnished throughout with exposed oak beams and a bath and shower room to die for, "The Cornwall" suite was pretty as a picture. Expensive hotel but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I visited the Calcot Manor with my boyfriend. It was our first weekend away together and we were looking for somewhere peaceful to relax.

We were given a duplex room. The ground floor consisted of a hallway and a very large bathroom. The bathroom featured a walk in shower, enormous free standing bath and two sinks. The bathroom was the making of the accommodation and very luxurious. The bedroom took the whole of the upper level and had a cosy, cottage feel. The colours were neutral and warm.

We dined in the main a la carte restaurant the first night and in the gastro pub the second night. The food was excellent on both occasions. One small blip was that staff took my coat when I arrived in the restaurant but could not locate it very quickly when I was leaving. They offered to bring it over to the room but as this was in an adjacent building and the weather was cold, we waited whilst they searched the cloakroom in a bit of a panic.

The best part of the spa was the outdoor Jacuzzi, set in front of a log fire. You are able to order drinks whilst relaxing in the bubbles for added luxury.

We thorough enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumsponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A group of 20 of us stayed the weekend at Calcot Manor, business related.
The atmosphere of the place is very good as is the facilities and service. The room that my wife and I stayed in (Cornwall) was full of period features, a large vaulted ceiling and sumptious bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the private dining that we had in the 'barn' was very well organised and lovely food & wine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Cornwall' room which is a room slightly away from the main building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was a 3 day business trip with 10 people on 1 day and 36 for the remain two. We nearly took over the whole hotel. All rooms are excellent and facilities. Staff really care and are very helpful. Spa facilities are excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending this.

Food is excellent in the restaurant and the pub next door.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel are all en-suite but the cottages outside are 2 storey and the next level! S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
17.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Property: Calcot Manor
Address: | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing