We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic luxury!”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights following our wedding in nearby Stroud.
Lovely setting and building. Very friendly and helpful staff . Fantastic food. Very nice spa and pool.
We booked this hotel several months prior to our wedding. The lady my (now) wife dealt with could not have been more helpful and efficient and indeed that theme carried on with each member of staff we came across. On the first night we ate in the very nice setting of The Conservatory restaurant. Food and service were excellent, not over formal, not over familiar. Nice wines too. On the second night we chose The Gumstool Inn. Not really a pub in the grounds of the hotel as advertised more a bar made to look like a pub. Again great food and service with a nice relaxed feel.
Our rooms were nicely furnished and even had Sky sports available! Lovely bathrooms too.
Be under no illusion, this place is not cheap but for a bit of luxury without pomposity it is a fantastic hotel in a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had about 30 hours at Calcot, starting with coffee late morning in one of the gracious lounges, with log fire gently burning, followed by a very reasonable but delicious lunch in the Gumstool restaurant - actually sitting outside in the warm, Spring sunshine. We were able to check into our beautiful, deluxe room then and change ready for an afternoon of pampering and relaxation at the Spa. The large, stainless steel hot tub has a cedar-wood open fire burning next to it, all year round, wafting sensuous, smoky perfume and warmth and adding to the feeling of 'everything taken care of'. The Spa treatment that was included in our package was very nice - and the dinner was outstanding - food to the value of £40 each included. All the meat is locally sourced and perfectly cooked and presented. The following morning, after a late and leisurely breakfast in the large conservatory, we had a walk around the 'trim trail' and more time at the Spa - all adding up to a feeling of timeless elegance and unwinding, even though the timelessness was 'contained' within a single day package. It felt like £415 well spen, as the benefit didn't wear off for several days back in stress-land!.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms that come with this 'Spa Break' package are really beautiful - we've ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent the long Easter weekend at Calcot Manor, first timers for this hotel. We were one of the few couples at the hotel, most guests were families with children, which was nice. The room we had (Norfolk) was lovingly decorated with real attention to detail. During the course of our stay we ate at both restaurants, which were excellent. Fresh and top quality food that would not have to hide amongst some of the best restaurants in London in terms of quality of produce and again, attention to detail. Staff were extremely attentive and thoughtful. We were even given a farewell bag when we left with water, chocolates and apples. The Spa treatments were lovely as well. We played tennis a couple of times and used the swimming pool during the child-free times. All in all a fantastic weekend; we felt very lucky to be there and hopefully will be back soon.

Room Tip: We had one of the deluxe double rooms called Norfolk. It was nice, but we heard other deluxe rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrin_78_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Calcot Manor for two nights (mid week; mid April 2014) and were very impressed by the quality of the hotel and its facilities as well as the quality of the service of its extremely friendly and helpful staff.

We stayed in a lovely double bedroom, called 'Chester' (£280 per room per night, inclusive of breakfast for two people, morning newspaper, and VAT. Cheaper if only one person stayed). The room is located on the first floor of the main hotel building with a large bathroom / shower (around half the size of the room) with the view of the Manor's own 220-acre-estate - total privacy. Some of my suggestions for the management team would be to 1) replace the relatively dark colour scheme of some of the items of furniture in the room to something a bit brighter and more uplifting, whilst still maintaining the hotel's rustic country feel (... the curtains and the TV stand are the main culprits here); 2) the room's phones just have to go. Look very 1970s and not in the good way; and 3) include a small fridge.

During our time at Calcot Manor, we were like children in a (rather luxurious) candy store, picking and tasting a wide range of spa facilities, including but not limited to, an indoor swimming pool (an additional outdoor pool was not available at the time), a hot tub/jacuzzi, sauna, a steam room, a 'relaxation room', a gym and tennis courts - all inclusive in the price we paid for the hotel room. Additionally, every time when we went in to use the spa facilities, we were promptly offered bathrobes, towels and slippers - free of charge.

Each of us also chose a 40-min (£50) massage treatment (neck, back, shoulder and legs), which was very relaxing. (So relaxing that half way through the session, both of us ended up dozing off and ... drooling which was rather embarrassing)

Bikes were also available to borrow for free to cycle along the 'Trim Trail' around the vast plot of land that the hotel is located (220 acres in total). For those who are more sportive, they can also borrow the bikes and cycle to a local picturesque village called 'Tetbury' (a haven for antique shops fans). Otherwise, a taxi trip would cost £15 and takes less than 10 minutes.

This hotel is 'very family-friendly'. Almost every single table we saw during breakfast had young children, which might not be everyone's cup of tea. Having said that, these children are from very middle class background so have been well-trained and are thus rather well-behaved. The hotel also has a policy whereby children are only allowed in the swimming pool after a certain time (4PM?), so we tried to use the pool before that. Additionally, the hotel has a 'Playzone', a large Ofsted-registered crèche, where, we assume, most parents leave their children for most of their stay as we rarely see any babies / children around the hotel's facilities (bear in mind we stayed during the holiday season), except, as mentioned, during breakfast (and lunch and dinner). So do not be put off by the hotel's 'family-friendly' selling point.

Speaking of breakfast, it is served in the Conservatory which was very nicely decorated with an impressive panoramic view of the estate. The range of breakfast included, but not limited to, cooked breakfast options (e.g. full English breakfast, salmon royale, and kedgeree, etc.) as well as a wide range of cereals, fresh fruits, and freshly baked plain and chocolate croissant, among others. The staff were very attentive, friendly and polite (e.g. Diana, etc.).

The interior design of the hotel is very nicely done with a rustic country feel to it (... though, again, I would strongly recommend the management team to replace those few plastic transparent side tables found in the communal rooms with something a bit more in keeping with the other items of furniture.)

One last suggestion would be for the hotel to use the service of a metered taxi company, rather than the one without (the 'Omega' firm is the main culprit here). For example, to get from Kemble train station to the hotel, we got ourselves a metered taxi outside the station, and only paid £27. On the way back, the hotel got us an 'Omega' taxi (without meter), and we ended up paying £36.

All in all, I would certainly go back there again and would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Would recommend Chester (see my earlier comment and photos). Good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincentTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a lovely time with my daughter - a Christmas present from my son. Very expensive and the breakfast was not the best. They charge extra for everything, even a cup of tea in the bar.
However, the room was beautiful and a big bathroom all beautifully decorated

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We did a family half day spa and treatment as a treat for a birthday.
The treatment, a back and facial massage was very good (Thanks Emma) as was the facility.
We used the well equipped gym, modern well maintained equipment and the treat of sitting out in a 40 degree outdoor spa bath with a glass of....
The steam room and sauna are not the best we've had, the steam room wasn't really hot enough.
Children are allowed in the pool late afternoon, which we were warned about!. If you want a peaceful experience I would suggest morning half day, as we weren't expecting quite the number of children in the hotel and pool, thus we avoided using that part of the facility.
Staff were attentive.

Overall a nice afternoon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TopTip_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Enjoyed a half day spa experience here and had a terrific time. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and the massage I had was one of the best I had experienced
The outdoor spa pool is really lovely with the table and chairs set in front of the outside fire. Recommended

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
610 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,386 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 7 in Tetbury
437 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
900 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Address: Near terbury | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £218 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing