We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel/Spa”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Have just arrived home from a birthday weekend away with my sisters, staying at Calcot Manor for 2 nights. I wanted to express how fantastic the hotel is and what a relaxing and enjoyable time we had. The service was amazing, nothing was too much trouble, and the staff outstanding. The hotel does cater for families, but is equally good for adults only parties, and they balance the two perfectly. The spa is very nice and the facial I had was expertly carried out and the result was perfect.
The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and the setting and surrounding area beautiful. It was our first stay here but hopefully not the last. Many thanks to all the staff, and particularly the Maître D' who truly understands how to make guests feel welcome.

Room Tip: As we were an adults only party we stayed in the main house. It was very quiet and peaceful and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding anniversary. Place is set up like a small village with a green where children played and the rooms were a bit like cottages (although with bedroom and bathroom only. No mini bar in room but staff were very quick to deliver room service so not the problem I thought it might be. Spa was great although the indoor pool could've been more inviting, was just a pool, had hoped for loungers etc. dinner in restaurant was very nice. Lots of staff so service was good. Lovely touch of half bottle of champagne left in room while we were out for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in Calcot Manor for 3 nights with our children and their young families. The facilities were perfect for every. The spa,food and ambience was perfect for adults. The creche for the children was very were run and we felt confident to leave the little ones there. Food and mealtimes for them was also faultless,good menus and only a couple of minutes waiting time after ordering until they for their food.Even the food for babies was well thought out.The adult only rooms are in a different part of the hotel from the family rooms.
Above all, the staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have stayed at Calcot four times in the last 3 years.

It is quite simply amazing. Heaven!

The rooms are country chic and homely, you get baby listening which basically means you get a free babysitter! You press a button on the wall in your kids rooms (which comes off of your room) and you go and eat in either of their two amazing restaurants. Michelin star "Conservatory" or the gastro pub "Gumstol Inn" (my fave!!) and if there is ANY noise coming from your room, the reception staff come and get you!

The crèche is very sweet and the staff are really friendly. It's ofsted registered and in all the times we've been, we recognise the staff and they recognise us. Harry and Oliver love it!

The only feedback I would give is to have the kiddies tea ready a little earlier. It is served from 5:30 which is a little late and feels rushed. From 5 would be much better as all the kiddies go swimming between 3:45-5:15 and are very ready to eat when they get out!!
The kiddies food is outstanding and we normally have a glass of wine and our starter while they eat.

The spa is fab! I love how you can have a glass of champagne in the outdoor hot tub next to the roaring fire! They actually bring it over to you! Treatments are so relaxing and you really feel like you've had a holiday once you've been.

The grounds are beautiful and the facilities are fab. You can take some bikes for a ride with a trailer for the kids, go climbing on the wooden boat play area or swimming in the kids and adult pool during the set times. It really is planned around kids and you feel like they're reading your mind!

I got told off for picking up the breakfast mess on the floor after my baby! She told me that it was her job! They have spare beakers, plastic cutlery and crockery and kids food at the ready.

Nothing is too much trouble! They have everything you need on hand!

Love it! Will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoe12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We decided on the Calcot Manor as the venue to enjoy our evening celebrations for our Wedding. The staff at Calcot were fantastic and helped in making our big day turn out to be so special. The food in both the Gumstool (Wedding Day Eve) and the Main Restaurant (Wedding Day Meal) were exceptional. We were provided with a private drawing room to enjoy the afternoon celebrations, and provided with the private Garden Room to enjoy our Wedding Day Meal - both proved perfect. The spa facilities were brilliant and the overall venue had a lovely relaxed feel about it. I would highly recommend Calcot Manor to anyone, and my wife and I will be definitely returning to enjoy future celebrations.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Courtyard are particularly special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have stayed here a few times already and we confirm that it is a very good place.
Excellent service, excellent cuisine. Fine lounges. Very tasteful decor.
Very good room with wooden floor, very well equipped, great bed and great bed linnen.
Very good bathroom. Glass shower panel in middle of bathroom should be marked. It's nearly invisible and I walked into it.......
Not the cheapest of places but still good value for money.
A suggestion for the manager : the tables in the Conservatory are very small, yet the chef uses very large plates. Something isn't right there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From experience this hotel was much as expected, beautiful well appointed and very stylish room, comfortable bed / linen, lovely bathroom with quality toiletries.

Very good dinner in the conservatory,and excellent breakfast outside on the terrace. Lovely atmosphere in the conservatory in the evening (no children) candle lit, lovely views.

Two things to watch out for - very children friendly - not everyone's idea for a relaxing break - but sure it's fantastic if you do have kids, secondly very prompt end of service at breakfast - 10am sharp even on a Sunday - by 10.10 almost everything was cleared away and we felt our cooked breakfast order had definitely been rushed through.

Definitely dog tolerant rather than dog friendly - allowed in the room only not bars, lounges etc, nothing provided in rooms like in most dog friendly hotels eg bowl, treats, towels etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
615 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
911 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Address: Near terbury | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £203 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing