We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calcot Manor
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound(Burghfield)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beech House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bath Hotel(Reading)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roselawn Hotel(Burghfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
480
198
82
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
198
82
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgumstool innthe outdoor hot tubfamily suitedeluxe roomspa breakgreat facilitiesthe pubglass of champagnemain restauranthigh teafamily friendly hoteltennis courtsyoung familiesthe main houselog fireafternoon teatravel cot
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We took a "four nights for three" mid-week package at Calcot Manor this June, selecting it because of its spa and indoor pool. We were not disappointed. The hotel itself suited us very well, with its choice of two restaurants - the Gumstool and the Conservatory, and a very comfortable and roomy bedroom with high beamed ceiling, immaculate bathroom and gentle décor. We ate most evenings in the Gumstool, an old coaching inn/pub style brasserie restaurant with a wide choice of good dishes using local and seasonal ingredients. The slightly more formal Conservatory, where breakfast is also served, offered similarly eclectic and delicious choices.

The staff were, to a man and woman terrific. We enjoyed the warmth and friendliness of local staff at breakfast times and appreciated the assistance given by the reception staff at various points during our stay.

We used the spa for a couple of massages, some exercise classes - pilates; aqua; yoga; dance; and manicure. It was also an ideal place to enjoy a coffee, sit in the sunshine and read the papers, or use the hot steam tub. Here too the staff were helpful and the right mix of friendly and professional.

Families with young children; there were four such families during our stay; seemed to enjoy the special dinner menus laid on for little ones, which were served at around 5.30-6.00 pm. There is also a playroom for children and the special attention paid to providing facilities for families really seemed to work well. Although we are elderly and retired, preferring a fairly quiet time, we did not at any time feel discomfited and positively enjoyed being alongside these young families. The Manor catered for our different needs and tastes very effectively.

Oh - and the setting. We must mention the setting. It's bliss. Yawning great pastures and meadows stretching off to the horizon, rolling Gloucestershire hills and vales, lawns to make a mole excited and well-tended gardens. I dead-headed a few geraniums. Happy Stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unfinishedjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay and, for us, it was a perfect combination of luxury, fabulous food and wine, excellent service and great facilities. There is no pretentiousness here and somehow the hotel has managed to successfully meet the needs of families and couples alike .... Children eat in the Gumstool pub early evening and whilst they have limited access to the spa pool (to keep it as a grown up space), there are indoor and outdoor playgrounds, an outdoor pool and acres of space to let off steam..... To the point that we only saw or heard children at breakfast time! Our large standard bedroom may not have had a brilliant view but the room was so comfortable and peaceful (no passing people traffic or slamming doors) that it was a perfect place to chill out. We loved the spa and the aromatherapy treatments are thoroughly recommended. The staff were friendly and professional, anticipating our every need, and.... There is no room service charge!!!!

Only one criticism ..... The extortionate bar and wine prices - do they really have to be that much?

We shall definitely return ..... Once we have saved our pennies!

Room Tip: Couples tend to be booked into the manor itself and families in the outer buildings - good system!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaseyPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Have just arrived home from a birthday weekend away with my sisters, staying at Calcot Manor for 2 nights. I wanted to express how fantastic the hotel is and what a relaxing and enjoyable time we had. The service was amazing, nothing was too much trouble, and the staff outstanding. The hotel does cater for families, but is equally good for adults only parties, and they balance the two perfectly. The spa is very nice and the facial I had was expertly carried out and the result was perfect.
The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and the setting and surrounding area beautiful. It was our first stay here but hopefully not the last. Many thanks to all the staff, and particularly the Maître D' who truly understands how to make guests feel welcome.

Room Tip: As we were an adults only party we stayed in the main house. It was very quiet and peaceful and overlooked the gardens. It is so carefully managed that I suspect all the rooms are equally well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding anniversary. Place is set up like a small village with a green where children played and the rooms were a bit like cottages (although with bedroom and bathroom only. No mini bar in room but staff were very quick to deliver room service so not the problem I thought it might be. Spa was great although the indoor pool could've been more inviting, was just a pool, had hoped for loungers etc. dinner in restaurant was very nice. Lots of staff so service was good. Lovely touch of half bottle of champagne left in room while we were out for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in Calcot Manor for 3 nights with our children and their young families. The facilities were perfect for every. The spa,food and ambience was perfect for adults. The creche for the children was very were run and we felt confident to leave the little ones there. Food and mealtimes for them was also faultless,good menus and only a couple of minutes waiting time after ordering until they for their food.Even the food for babies was well thought out.The adult only rooms are in a different part of the hotel from the family rooms.
Above all, the staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews