We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound(Burghfield)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beech House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bath Hotel(Reading)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
490
201
83
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
201
83
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgumstool innthe outdoor hot tubfamily suitedeluxe roomspa breakthe pubgreat facilitiesglass of champagnehigh teamain restauranttennis courtsfamily friendly hotelthe main houselog fireafternoon teatravel cotspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We had just spent the weekend at Soho Farmhouse but moved to Calcot Manor for the final night of our break because it was close to Giffords Circus where we had been that afternoon for our son's birthday treat. What a MASSIVE down grade! Totally underwhelming but very overpriced. Supper at the Gumstool Inn wasn't great, the creche staff were quite unfriendly, no changing facilities at the (unheated) outside swimming pool, very average bedroom, the list goes on - just nothing special for the £515 our 1 night's stay totalled.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank louisa4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Calcot at Calcot Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hello Louisa4h

Many thanks for your review and we are sorry that your recent stay with us wasn't up to our usual standards. We have passed on your comments to the team but if you would like to discuss them in more detail, please contact our Deputy Manager, Ali on 01666 890 391 or email him at receptionists@calcot.co.

Kind regards
The Team at Calcot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

In bathroom - the wall mounted toilet appeared to be set on the floor - just right for a 5 year old, but not suitable for an adult! I see that this was mentioned as far back as 2015, but no change.
The Restaurant - a simple breakfast ordered of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs The salmon arrived with no eggs. Sent back, then noticed that people with badly-behaved children were being served with their breakfast before us.. Finally the salmon arrived with the eggs - eggs still runny and not very warm. The explanation given was that "there was a mix up with the chef". But the hotel still expected £400 per night from me...and another member of staff said the cost of breakfast each day would be deducted, when I complained some more..
Overall the staff did their best - but even they could not make £400 to be value for money. I could go on but won't - complaining does not seem to have much of an effect!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Calcot at Calcot Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear John F

Many thanks for your review and we are sorry that your recent stay with us wasn't up to our usual standards. We know that Paul Sadler, our General Manager has been in touch with you directly to address your feedback.

Kind regards
The Team at Calcot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This was my second time in Calcot Manor and spa. We had a standard room which was far better than I had anticipated and in comparison to similar hotels, I thought was good value, it had plenty of room and a lovely bathroom. Nice touches in the hotel throughout, with a welcoming and friendly reception team. We had been delayed in getting to the hotel but they went out of their way to get us a table in the pub. The food in the pub (we ate there twice) was lovely. Service in the bar was great. Breakfast gives a great choice and is in a lovely setting, especially on a very sunny Sunday morning!. We used the Spa and had treatments which were lovely. The only downside of the Spa was the relaxation area was not quiet - not down to the hotel but more down to the other guests ignoring their fellow guests at rest!!! Nice touch at check out with a goodie bag for the journey home. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkEm_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Calcot at Calcot Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi UkEm

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and able to relax in the spa during your time with us.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
The Team at Calcot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and my husband came here to celebrate our birthdays and opted for the Sunday spa break package. For this we had Sunday night stay, breakfast and £45 each towards a spa treatment. We stayed in Linthorpe room which was lovely and spacious for a 'small standard' with king size bed, roll top bath in bathroom with separate shower cubicle. We spent most of our time in the spa where the staff were very attentive. We had a. Ack, beck and shoulder massage which was lovely and spent a lot of time in the outdoor hot tub with the log fire. We did take the bikes out for a ride which you get from the spa and they have a trail you can go in which is good. Breakfast was very nice wecould choose from cereals and pastries and also order and have the chef cook what you would like. All in all a lovely stay in which we will be back again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank melissa1985little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Calcot at Calcot Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Melissa1985little

Many thanks for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the Spa, your treatment, the hot tub and fire.

We do hope to see you again very soon.

Regards
The Team at Calcot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

An overnight stay to celebrate an anniversary was ideal. The staff were efficient and welcoming. Our room was delightful with magazines, home-made biscuits and a wide selection of coffees and teas. The outside hot tub surrounded by gardens was perfect with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Cottage style room in courtyard facing garden
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCalcotCollection, The Team at Calcot at Calcot Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hello Anathecat

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that enjoyed your stay with us celebrating your anniversary.

We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
The Team at Calcot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews