We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing but great location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calcot Manor

Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Calcot
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little disappointing but great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Meal was let down by a number of errors, such as a raw camembert starter and the failure of half of the main course (the shepherds pie in the cannon of lamb and pie) which failed to justify the £27 price tag. Potatoes and other sides also did not arrive for main courses in certain cases even when someone had pointed out this was the case for their meal. However, the scallops starter was divine, as were a variety of the puddings I managed to try. Shame a few things overshadowed the meal somewhat, in a great location and atmosphere and at almost £50 per person, these sorts of problems are not usually anticipated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomkenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very friendly and welcoming.
The staff were excellent and my made our special evening unforgettable by going more than the extra mile with their excellent service. Well done to all!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daysters2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovey time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

relaxed refreshed ate well & service very good.Will be back food outstanding whole experience money well spent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank topskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Boxing Day Lunch at The Conservatory, Calcot Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I booked Boxing Day lunch for 11 people of various ages based on a fab visit to The Gumstool Inn and wasn’t disappointed.

From sending an email to Emma who replied promptly and courteously, to arrival on the day, went smoothly.

Plenty of parking and on level ground (elderly relatives need not worry), we made our way to the entrance which looked inviting with beautifully decorated Christmas trees aplenty. We went into the sitting area(s) for a pre-lunch drink which had Christmas cake and festive fayre on tables to which I think you help yourself (I was having lunch so didn’t really look).

Onto the Conservatory where the tables are near each other but not so close as to butt chairs. The staff were professional and friendly and above all efficient and accommodating especially when the beef was a little pink for the younger relatives. My vegetarian starter and main meal were superb, I had a rich Christmas lunch and didn’t want the same for Boxing Day and the portion size was just right. It was flavoursome without being heavy.

The rest of the party enjoyed their meal immensely with all of us walking away feeling full but not stuffed.

So I would like to say thank you for making our Boxing Day lunch more than a meal, it was an event.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family friendly, wobbly in places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

As a treat for our little holiday in the Cotswolds we booked in for a half day spa which included lunch. When I say I lunch I mean £18 towards lunch, but other than that the discounted deal was reasonable value.
On entering the restaurant the strong smell of urine hit us, not a great start. Friendly service in the "golf club" styled setting, although its been a while since the delivery of the wine did not include opening the bottle and asking us if we'd like to taste it first. I guess that what you get for buying a screw top!
Starters great, although at £8 each an extra slice of bread for our parfait would have been ideal. My main however was no great. The ham hock pie lack filling and tasted like Gingsters had been involved. When I questioned the quality I was advised it indeed was not made on the premises and the pies were bought in, suspicion confirmed. To be fair the pie was removed from the bill.
Then the spa, which was great, dropped our little boy off in the crèche whilst we had time to ourselves.
Overall the venue has lots to offer, the restaurant just needs to sharpen up a little.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToffeeBoy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calcot Manor also viewed

 
Westbury on Severn, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing