We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - Where all the things you want to happen, happen!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casanuna Villas Resort
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We have stayed at the Villas several times and look more and more forward to each return. Our favorite "place to be" is on our private balcony enjoying the glorious sunsets . The main palapa and pool areas provide relaxing and inviting spaces to swim, lounge, enjoy a cocktail, grill a meal and commune with fellow guests. The new tennis court is a great addition and a unique feature to Puerto Escondido. All the amenities of a boutique, resort hotel with a "hostess with the mostest." Christina is a breath of fresh air. Her fun energy and hospitality always makes us feel more like family than guests. Our favorite home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CraigW153373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Quiet place, 5 min. by car from Zicatela and 5 min. walking from La Punta, this place is wonderful, accomodation is excellent, apts are very good decorated and complete kitchen with all you need! Large beds , big swiming pool and a nice tennis court in front of the aps., the view from the varandas of the sunset is amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Casnuna , is kind of out of centre of town. Which is very good, since centre town is party centre for the surfing kids. And they party till dawn. Since we wanted an quality vacation, away from our daily hectic life, and surf daily an relaxed wave ( la Punta, just down the street ! 10 min. walk ). And enjoy Mexico as mucho as possible. This was it , with it's spectacular view from our balcony, (specially since Casanuna is build against a hill , 600 feet above sea level ). With the binocular on a tripod parked on our balcony, we could see the surfers taking the waves at Zicatella. And all the tropical birds in the palm and banana trees surrounding the area. When we were there it was dry season, which is very dusty. So for the Mexican circumstances, they kept it pretty clean. Everyday there was a polite cleaning lady. The more than large enough swimming pool was checked daily and it was just out, in front of our huge living room ( with antique pool table !).
Any down sides, sure ! Since it's kind out of town, ya actual need a set of wheels, but when we wanted to go somewhere, the landlord was willing to take ya over there ( free), and coming back was just with a taxi ( 50 pesos). But we rented a van anyway locally , to explore the surroundings, carefully since the B roads have big rocks sticking out, in the middle of the road. But hey !! this is also the romance of Mexico !!
Landlord and the people of Puerto Escondido, where all very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AL-Wildstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

7 israeli college students on vacation are having a blast at casanuna. it's got everything!! view, service, toys, and the charm of casanuna is off the charts. recommended big time!
better than the pictures!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We had a great stay with Randy and Cristina at Villas Casanuna last year. The room/areas were very clean and well cared for-- the grounds and pool were pristine and bright, and the hosts Randy and Cristina gave wonderful advice about enjoying Puerto, recommendations for restaurants, beaches, etc. as well as set up massage and horseback riding on the beach for us. Also, Randy was happy to drive us to/from the airport and lend us the car or quad when we needed it. Overall, we had a wonderful trip and stayed in the Penthouse unit which is an enclosed bedroom, outdoor kitchen, and separate bathroom. It is the least expensive room, but has the best views, and no one shares the top level, so it is very private.

I spoke to Randy several times in advance of making the decision to stay at Casanuna. Casanuna is not a resort hotel,and is instead listed as “vacation apartment rentals”. It does not have a bartender on staff, room service, etc. so if you require those types of amenities, this is not the place for you. There is not a chef per se, so if you want to stay put and have someone cook for you, that is something that can be arranged, but with the variety and quality of the food in Puerto, I don't think that it is necessary.

The villa is not *on* the beach. It is a short walk to the beach down a dirt road. If you have never lived on a dirt road or have never been to an "authentic" part of Mexico this may be shocking to you, but after now having been to Mexico several times, I can assure you that the quality of roads is not good anywhere. This villa is built on a ridge in order get great views of the ocean and the town—if it were down at the beach it would be on a strip with many restaurants/bodegas and all you would see is sand.

There are a few options for transportation in/around Puerto from Casanuna.

1. Rent a car. I was told this is inexpensive—maybe $10-15/day for a week.

2. Taxis. If you are going to take a taxi, make sure you know enough Spanish to direct the driver to the villa, because it is not necessarily a well-known place. Know the highway to take and know “Left” , “Right” and “Slow down”. Also taxis in Mexico you can negotiate the rate before you begin your trip. From town it should be 40-50 pesos to “la punta” (the point). Know enough Spanish to be able to do this, otherwise you will be paying 90-100 pesos each way.

3. Borrow something from Randy – either the SUV or the quad, provided he doesn’t have plans to use them. If he does, he is very willing to drop you off somewhere.

4. Walk. You can easily walk to the bodegas/restaurants on the beach at la punta (5 min downhill). You can also walk along the beach to town during the day (20-30 mins), but it is *very* dark at night through this stretch of Zicatela so I would not attempt it after dark.

Each apartment has a kitchen, but you do not need to prepare your own food. Randy brought us by the local supermarket on the way back from the airport to pick up snacks/milk/etc. We thought we would like a chef to prepare breakfast, but after the 2nd day, we decided to just walk down to the beach to a restaurant, and enjoyed this very much for the rest of the trip. All the best beaches also have little cook shacks/food available, which was great. Personally, I love trying local food, and Puerto is perfect for that. There are so many authentic restaurants, and if you walk along the “working” beach in the center of town, there are local foot-vendors selling fresh tamales, fried plantains, fresh caught oysters, etc. Randy also has a great recommendation for a pizza place although I forget the name.

My personal recommendation is that whether or not you are used to being pampered/resorts/etc. you should give Puerto Escondido a try, and there is no better way to do this than staying with Randy and Cristina at Casanuna. Learn a little Spanish, be a little adventurous, and give it a shot. Eat what the locals eat, don’t drink (not bottled) water, and be sure to order “agua con sandia” (water with watermelon) at least once.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JVestal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We have rented the whole house for 3 families, a total of 13 people, for 2 wonderful weeks. The house itself has 4 apartments, each with a kitchen, living room, bathroom and 2 bedrooms, and 1 more apartment on the top floor with a single room, bathroom, and kitchen. Plus, the common area has a great and clean swimming pool, concatenated with a "palapa" hosting a bar and a barbecue area; plus a living room with TV, a pool table, kitchen, garage, and a spaceful lawn. It was really worth the costs, and the benefit to watch everyday a different and remarkable sunset was priceless. It's at a walking distance from the Zicatela beach, but sometimes you may want to reach it by car, if taking too many utensils and kids with you. I recommend day trips to Carrizalillo, and Roca Blanca, two other nice beaches too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftagnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

very accommodating stay, great view of the ocean, very friendly owner and a very secure area, we had a pleasant stay and well be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce5173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
78.8 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
120 reviews
78.9 mi away
Hotel Aqua Luna
Hotel Aqua Luna
#16 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
71 reviews
78.7 mi away
Papaya Surf Beach Hotel
Papaya Surf Beach Hotel
#31 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
78.6 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
313 reviews
78.7 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
256 reviews
78.6 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#6 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanuna Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanuna Villas Resort

Address: Calle Vista del Sol s/n | Punta de Zicatela, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: £87 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanuna is a luxurious and intimate resort with 5 apartments. All our apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen, living room, with TV and ocean view terraces. We offer the best view in Puerto, beautiful landscaping, lap pool, outdoor BBQ area with open bar. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casanuna Villas Hotel Puerto Escondido
Casanuna Hotel Puerto Escondido
Casanuna Resort Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing