We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely what we wanted”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Flor de Maria
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely what we wanted”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Like so many others my wife and I were truly happy with our choice of the Flor de Maria. We stayed there for a week but others in the hotel were there literally for months. Although it seems a bit odd to stay that long in a hotel it does show you how comfortable and pleasant the place is. Paul and Joanne are natural hoteliers and restauranteurs - they like people, they are effortless helpful and they run a fine establishment. It is, however, a quiet place that caters to a mature crowd. No lively late night bar but that's not very far away if you want one. Their roof top terrace/bar with view of the ocean (and small pool) is a perfect place for the hottest part of the day and the restaurant claimed our custom for roughly half the time basically on the strength of Joanne's considerable skills. In the end, who could ask for more?

On a final note - the location is very good for Puerto, if you like to swim in the ocean you are minutes away from Playa Marinero - a small stretch of beach (part of the Playa Principal) which is nice and swimmable. Not as beautiful as Carrizalilo but it's right there. If you stay on Zicatella, and you're not a surfer, then you'll have to take a taxi or take a longer walk to swim.

Room Tip: Upper rooms look outside - lower rooms look into the court and are less expensive. Depends on budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonKMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    34
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
56
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Flor de Maria is close to everything but still quiet and quaint. Beautiful and romantic colonial style building with inner courtyard. Perfectly located halfway between the two restaurant strips (a five minute walk to each) and almost on the beach (a 30 second walk). Full bar and restaurant service. A super nice rooftop terrace, half shaded, half open, with pool and bar and a spectacular view of the Pacific. Sitting there reading during the afternoon was a great pleasure. Rooms were spacious with lots of shelf space for two people to spread out our stuff. Add warm personal attention from owners Paul and Joanne and reasonable prices and you can hardly ask for anything more. Wait, there was free unlimited purified water available on each floor. A detail, but very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikE878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Wow, what a great hotel!!! The owners, Paul and Joanne see to your every need. They treat everyone like family. Five of us traveled from Acapulco to Puerto Escondido on a recommendation of a good friend, Rik. We stayed at Flor de Maria a very cute, colonial hotel for 4 days. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious each with their own safe. The roof top bar had an excellent view of the bay with a gentle breeze and dipping pool. Sandwiches were available there for lunch. The hotel is a short stroll to the beach, "Playa Principal", a safe swimming bay. The morning breakfast and evening meals were cooked to perfection. Paul and Joanne arranged a wonderful lagoon and bird watching tour and a great city tour with an English speaking guide. The hotel is very quaint and spotless and well maintained. Wi-Fi Internet service and a computer in the lobby for guests use. We each had a great time and look forward to our next visit to Flor de Maria, a great bargain and a rare find.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first and second floor courtyard we all had a good night sleep. No issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AcaSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

You will not be disappointed with this small gem of a hotel, in fact, you will not want to leave. It's just a short walk down a cobble-stone street to the Marinero Beach and close to the main road where plenty of taxis, collectivos and busses will take you anywhere you wish to go. There is a rooftop verandah with a small pool, bar, and shaded hammock area. It would be easy to spend the entire day there but the sunsets over the sea must not be missed. The rooms are simple and spacious and are quiet at night. They have an overhead fan but no AC, which isn't required. The small restaurant is also excellent. Perhaps the best part of this place are the owners, Paul and Joanne who lovingly care for their guests and employees as if they were family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights, and we did not want to leave. This hotel became our home away from home. Paul and Jane made us feel truly at home, so much so that we did not want to return to New Jersey. The rooms are large and clean. The restaurant has a very friendly atmosphere and the sangrias were prepared just how we like them. Paul and Jane we are coming back, for sure!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaccita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We returned again to the Flor de Maria, and as before Joanne and Paul, the hotel's long time owners and their staff of helpful and accommodating folks made our three week stay feel like visiting family without those tensions. Paul's recommendation of a hotel in Mexico City made the stopover on route and returning to the States a pleasant mini-stay. We flew into Huatulco, where they'd arranged for a taxi to pick us up like visiting celebrities. There was our name on a card with a smiling driver making the drive to Puerto a smooth transition. We checked in, got our smiling hugs, and we were sitting at the roof-top bar sipping a cold drink as the sun set dropped into the Pacific. As usual, Joanne's restaurant selections were terrific, and it's easy to see why visitors from other hotels flock to Flor de Maria for their meals. That's how we found the hotel many years ago. People recommended Joanne's cuisine and we wandered around the hotel corridors, saw the lovely architectural details, the roof-top pool, bar, hammocks and decided to change accommodations. As always when one has had a delightful vacation experience at a favorite place, one may feel reluctant to post a review praising such a hideaway on TripAdvisor for fear that when its time to reserve space for the next visit, you'll find no room at the inn! But, if that's the case, we'll simply smile, plan for several dinners with Joanne and Paul and be happy for their success. You cannot go wrong staying at this hotel in Puerto.

Room Tip: We've requested the same room year after year, and they've made it available. It's doubt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuckwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff who are helpfully in setting up tours or answering questions. The rooms are large and clean. Centrally located. There is a small pool on the roof with a great view of the town. It has an excellent restaurant open every day with the exception of Tuesday. I received excellent help with both a birding tour and a diving tour.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rainbow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#22 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#13 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flor de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flor de Maria

Property: Hotel Flor de Maria
Address: Playa Marinero S/N, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Flor De Maria Hotel
Flor De Maria Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing