We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hospitality and ocean views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Studios Tabachin del Puerto
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at Tabachin for 4 nights last week and it was the perfect way to wrap up our trip to Mexico. The owner, Paul, is such an incredibly friendly host. He ate breakfast and engaged in rousing discussions with us each morning (more on breakfast below), upgraded our room from a small to large studio for free because the larger room was empty, gave me a historical map of his to keep based on a discussion we had about the Mexican American War, and arranged to have his driver take us to the airport so we wouldn't have to pay for a cab. His and the other staff members' hospitality is what makes Hotel Tabachin a standout place to stay.

The other great things about Tabachin:
-Less than a 5 minute walk to Playa Zicatela and all the restaurants and bars there
-It's on the west end of Playa Zicatela so it's closer to the other beaches and El Adoquin, about a 10 minute walk via the beach.
-Free breakfast included and this is no ordinary breakfast - local fruit, delicious homegrown coffee, fresh squeezed juices, and you can order whatever else you want off the menu that includes eggs, pancakes, enchiladas, etc. The food is delicious and healthy, and it's fun to sit around the breakfast table and chat with the staff and other guests.
-Rooms have their own private patios. If you stay in the rooms on the 3rd floor in either building, you have an outstanding view of the ocean and sunsets from your patio.
-Spacious rooms with AC and kitchens - great to be able to cook your own dinner once or twice after eating out all trip long.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at Tabachin and were not disappointed. The position just off the busy Zicatela strip is perfect, close to the action but still quiet at night. The rooms are spacious and breezy. Views from the balcony and roof are excellent. Highlights are the breakfasts and the conversations with the owner Paul who we now call a good friend. We look forward to staying at Tabchin again.

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank MaiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

It's been quite a while since I have stayed at this lovely, small hotel but keep in contact with the owner, Paul once in a while. My girlfriend and I stayed at this amazing oasisl for two weeks in one of the beautiful roof-top suites with wrap-around deck facing the sea. Everything was top notch including the morning breakfasts served in the shady and cool courtyard where you can eat to your heart's content. Paul is the perfect host and as we had no car, he kindly took us grocery shopping and for a little tour to get our bearings when we first arrived. We met so many friendly people in this town. The food, music and camaraderie of PE must be experienced to be believed. I must go back.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with the roof-top rooms - superb - a memory I will cherish forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

When we arrived at Hotel Tabachin, Paul Cleaver greeted us with two of his friends who were there for breakfast. Paul immediately struck me as a Hemingway-figure, especially sitting at the clothed, outdoor long-table, set with mismatched exquisite china under a thin marquee, with fans blowing and mosquito-repellent swirls burning. Paul was an impeccable host, full of stories, eager for yours and always keen for debates and conversation. If you are conservative and private by nature, I suggest announcing that immediately. Pauls' tales, intense curiosity, knowledge, and book-loans are part of the character of the place.

My other-half and I arrived during the off-season. Tabachin is behind the Hotel Santa Fe, but the taxi driver knew exactly where to go, and access to the beach was a short, block away. Paul upgraded our room to the Penthouse suite at no extra charge, simply because it was available, and why keep it empty when guests could enjoy it? The suite was phenomenal. It was spacious with a full kitchen, two beds, a comfortable indoor table, a curtained-off dresser and wardrobe, and a large, luxurious bathroom, with a tiled shower and plenty of shelves and cabinets. The multiple ceiling fans were all wall-controlled with various settings and there were plenty of lights. Best of all was the almost-surrounding balcony with a beautiful view of the beach. My other half and I spent much of our stay there. There was a clothes-line and pegs which we used daily. The open layout of the place allowed us to open the balcony doors and let the breeze circulate inside. We never used the air-conditioning. Plenty of windows created an open, peaceful, and luxurious space.

I was quite ill from the local, fish-tailing, mountain bus-ride from Oaxaca City, so I ate simple food, but my partner greatly enjoyed his breakfasts here, and our breakfasts were always fresh and prepared with care. Paul himself went to length to supply me with a local hot cereal that was delicious and just what I needed. He was very persuasive and it was hard to turn down his kind offers to run to the pharmacy, or recommend one thing or another. During our trip in Puerto, we discovered that Paul is known throughout the community for his hospitality. His brother owns the adjacent hotel, which I understand to be more hotel-ish and less of the casual bed-and-breakfast atmosphere that we prefer and Paul provides. He also owns a farm that supplies many of the delicious ingredients for the breakfasts. The breakfasts are chosen from a menu with a wide variety, but if you'd like something you don't see, simply ask. Despite the casual environment, Paul runs an old-fashioned service, and was training a new server at the time of our visit.

A seasoned bed-and-breakfast beach-traveler will know this, but it is worth mentioning that bugs and sand are always an issue. Everything is perpetually covered in a sheen of sand, despite the daily cleanings from Paul's housekeeper. Mosquitoes and ants find their way in regardless of precautions taken and I (a light-sleeper) often woke to being bitten in the night! The atmosphere, beautiful tile-work, and unique experience of having Paul as a host greatly outweigh any discomfort from the sand and bugs, but you should know they are part of the experience.

If you are looking for a lovely spot with good food, and lively conversation, I could not recommend a better place.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the penthouse suite, which was delightful, but I hear that all of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Vacations means Peace of Mind, and we found that here. Me and my fiance love to travel (I also love to surf). Paul (the owner) set us up with one of his beautifully decorated studio apartments. "Bargain" is an understatement, we were very fortunate to find this place while searching the web. Breakfast comes with your room, so it is so nice to share breakfast with the good company of other travelers that want to enjoy not only the waves, but the rich history of Oaxaca. Paul is an incredible host that has decades of knowledge of Mexico.
You can spot the big sign from the 200, and the balcony that gives you a view of the entire beach. Perfectly located behind Hotel Santa Fe, the Tabachin keeps it's cozy, low profile, tranquil vibe without all the "surfer dude" traffic you find at many others on the strip. Also Paul helped build the Sante Fe, so we can easily walk over and use their pools, simply after just being a patron at the Hotel's restaurant. Also with our studio having a Refrigerator and a kitchenette it is nice to be able to make your own meals too. The grocery store (Super Che) is only 10 minutes away by car.
The Tabachin is one of Puerto's last secrets...So make reservations...before a million other people read this, and your stuck somewhere else, kicking yourself, wishing you did.

Room Tip: The entire vibe of the Tabachin is rest and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoFRENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

What a pleasure to stay at Tabachin and have such a knowledgeable and gracious host as Paul Cleaver. I arrived early, was shown warm, generous hospitality and then to my spacious room on the third floor. What a view! Endless ocean, the sound of surf and a kitchenette. I could have stayed there forever. As it was I extended my five day stay by another five days. Great breakfast and because of the connection with the Hotel Santa
Fe, we could use the pool. Paul, the owner, a native English speaker knows the area well, is more than accommodating and shares his books!
Sigh....can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and stay in the big room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We just spent a fabulous week at this charming and most comfortable B&B. Must say our stay was greatly enhanced by having our gracious owner/host Paul Clever there every morning at breakfast time to stimulate the conversation and give friendly advice to one and all. The other guests were equally nice and friendly which was another added advantage.We had the top floor unit with a large balcony over looking the bay and along a most beautiful beach - this too added to our stay. There was always a nice breeze which meant we did not have to use the airconditioning - ceiling fans were more than sufficient. Now the breakfasts - unlike any you will find almost anywhere. A wide variety of chioces - fresh fruit and juices, omelets and eggs any style, etc.etc.. The locals come here to enjoy the feasts and this too adds to the character and charm of the place. Overall a 5 star stay in a 5 star place. Many thanks. During our stay, we bought a condo about 1/2 an hour away and plan to spend the winters there- when we want to take a break - guess where we it will be??!!

Room Tip: If availabe, the top penthouse suite in the taller building which was the first to be built
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#30 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aqua Luna
Hotel Aqua Luna
#16 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barlovento
Barlovento
#25 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#8 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aldea Bacocho Hotel
Aldea Bacocho Hotel
#42 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
8 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios Tabachin del Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios Tabachin del Puerto

Address: Calle de Morro by Zicatela Beach | Apdo. 210, Puerto Escondido 71890, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer only 6 rooms consisting of three large Penthouse Suites and 3 small studios (which are not very small). All rooms are self-contained units with full kitchen facilities, dining area, air conditioning, wireless internet servince, cable TV and balcony access. All guests are welcome to enjoy our roof top lounging area for spectacular views of the beach, harbor and sunsets. The prices include a splendid breakfast with international, Mexican and vegetarian specialties, containing organic products from our own farm in Nopala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Studios Tabachin Del Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing