We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For my first...”
Review of Hostal Shalom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Shalom
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For my first...”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

For my first Hostal I had ever stayed in, on my first solo adventure, Shalom felt great! A wide selection of rooms. A pool. A close walk to the best beach for swimming and the sunset. A short walk to the center of town. Taxi's stop by often. The staff helped fix a shower head that wasn't showering. And, you can bring in your own beer, or wine, unlike many of the hostals I came across on my travels.
Having a kitchen at a hostal is a crucial factor for those traveling on a shoestring. The one here, although, functional and clean(always do your dishes!!) was dark, had a small fridge, and was quite hot during the afternoons and early evenings. With a more comfortable kitchen, Hostal Shalom would have gotten a 5/5 rating.

Remember travelers, Hostals are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days years. Give thanks for what they do for you. That's a hell of a job

Room Tip: Personally, I really liked the small cabanas with thatched roof and walls. It got kind of hot by abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakanZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    6
    8
    13
See reviews for
4
16
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private room with bathroom, room was quite ok, plenty of ventilation with mosquito screens on the windows and doors. Water pressure is ok but the shower head was not great. Pool was lovely, lady a reception was really nice, breakfast was basic but nice. The location is ok, but it is a short cab ride from the main surf beach at Zicatella (25pesos). Overall a pretty good budget option, but if you can afford more, then maybe look at other options closer to the clubs and bars in Zicatella.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was unfortunate to be in the rain season so there was lots of water everywher. Which makes it hard to rate the general cleaniness of the place. It was a bit chaotic. But it was worth it. I only wanted to stay 1-2 nights and ended up staying a week. You will party with the staff, meet very cool people and all in all for 100 pesos a night it's absolutely worth it. It's a cabañas place after all...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franqkbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is by far one of the worse experiences I ever had. First of all, the place is very dirty and poorly maintained, of course there is no hot water and the zink in our bathroom didn't have a tube underneath - all the water went down on the floor. How is that possible, one of those tubes costs like 20 pesos? They only had three towels available for rent since the other got wet in the rain, so we couldn't shower. We came during the raining season and the first morning we woke up with 5 cm of water in our room. Since the room only had a bed and no table, no closet, our bags were on the floor and therefore soaking wet. We had to take all of our clothes to a lavandería and electronic devices worth 4000 pesos were ruined. And during the night when the rain was pouring down and everyone had to move around the beds in their rooms to try to avoid the big leaks, an employee started coming on to one of the girls in the group instead of trying to help with the swimming pools in our rooms. When they told him about the problem, he shrugged his shoulder and gave them a lame smile. Apparently it was more important to try to get laid with one of the girls! So we found a new hotel and asked for the money back since we prepayed 3 nights for 10 people. The answer from the girl by the desk was that the money went in to an account owned by owner that she doesn't have access to and therefore can not give the money back. So I reminded her that we payed half of it in cash and she should be able to pay back that part at least, but this time the answer was that there was no refunds. After some arguments, she gave us 700 pesos back and stressed the fact that this was from her own pocket. Later on, I find out that she herself is the owner since 12 years back and we found her the next day by the pool in our new hotel, cause she couldn't stand her own hostel probably! She also had the guts to go to my boyfriend and tell him that I should speak Spanish since I'm in Mexico, even though she has an employee that basically only speaks English and she owns a hostel in Puerto Escondido, one of Mexico's most turistic places with visitors from around the world! Is that really the right attitude for a hostel in Pto Escondido? I do speak Spanish tho, but I doubt that she speaks my language!

So yeah, stay as far away as you can from this hostel and get something dry and closer to Zicatela, and maybe something with a more profesional and honest staff, like Acuario Bungalows. And remember, even if everything is wet outside, there is DRY rooms without leaks to find!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Escondido hotels

Rochester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hostel Shalom was a really nice place to stay. The atmosphere was really relaxed - the staff and other residents were hugely friendly, very welcoming and willing to help, and there was a brilliant sense of community that quickly drew me in. I stayed in one of the cabanas with a friend, and it was clean and pretty cheap - 100 pesos (£5) each for a night. It was well situated - it was near to one of the quieter beaches, Playa Carizalillo, but only a short walk away from the main beach, and a short taxi to the Zicatela, the surfing beach, and was on the same road as some cheap, but good quality eateries and a few decent bars.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We only planned to stay for 3 nights, but ended up staying 8! As with all hostels is about the people, and we met a lovely bunch of them.
The space itself is great, the lobby, communal area / bar is a great place to hang out and get to know people and Andy who works at the hostel really made our stay, extremely friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and really helpfull, in fact we probably wouldn't have stayed as long if it wasn't for him!

We would definitely recommend staying here, however if you're planning to cook be ware, the kitchen is not really well equipped at all, two portable gas rings in a very dark room with a fridge and a mad dash for a saucepan and any type of cooking utensils or cutlery were hard to come by, which made cooking more of a challenge.

The hostel is clean, all the floors are scrubbed clean every morning, just beware of the puddles! The pool area and gardens are clean and nice to hang out in too.
Overall if you're not fussy about the little things, want a good atmosphere, great location and value for money look no further!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My stay at Hostal Shalom was really nice because of the friendly staff,clean rooms and the relaxed atmosphere.The pool area and garden is nice to chill out,but also to party.
You can meet really nice people there and just enjoy your stay.Near to the Hostal is also the Playa Carrizalillo,where you can learn surfing.By the way it´s the most beautiful beach in Puerto Escondido.Another fact is,it is very cheap and you have an included breakfast.
I only can recommend this place,if you wanna stay in Puerto Escondido.You will not regret!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
#16 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Careyes Puerto Escondido
Careyes Puerto Escondido
#19 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
20 reviews
2.5 mi away
One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido
One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido
#3 of 66 in Puerto Escondido
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Puerto Escondido
Posada Real Puerto Escondido
#8 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Shalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Shalom

Property: Hostal Shalom
Address: Blvd Benito Juarez 4082 | Fracc Rinconada, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Shalom is a contemporary, fun and friendly hostal located in one of the most spectacular parts of Puerto Escondido. Next to the stunning Playa Carrizalillo, a beautiful beach perfect for snorkelling, swimming or taking surf lessons. Surf lessons and board rental can be arranged at our reception. The hostal regularly hosts live music and DJ's. We also have a 24 hour bar!!!We can cater to all group sizes and have discounts for long term stays.We are great value for money with accommodation options to suit your every need. Our fun and chilled out atmosphere is why people always return to us and our friendly and warm staff are always around to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Shalom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing