We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Puerto Escondido”
Review of Espadin

Espadin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in Puerto Escondido”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The restaurant is located on a cliff overlooking the Pacific and a beautiful beach. It is open-air and very tastefully decorated. The drinks are great, and the food was the best we had in Puerto Escondido. We ate at Espadin the majority of our trip. Our waiter, Alfredo, was incredibly welcoming, helpful, and very sweet. Definitely an unforgettable spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler9125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    50
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best location in Puerto”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We went to Espadin three times in our one week holiday and loved the view, food and survice in this special restaurant. The chiles relleno were simply an outstanding entree and the pineapple guacamole is another example of the innovative and delicious approach to Mexican fare. The comments in other reviews about the sunsets are all true! It is tempting to hold back this rave review to keep this wonderful spot from the crowds.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank screenname002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We loved the food and the service was excellent. We ate here three of four times and every meal was great. The arrachera beef was absolutely sublime and the calamari was perfect, not greasy and not fishy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal spot to see la puesta del sol”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Situated on a high prominent cliff it's a short, steep walk to/from 2 good beaches..but we found it also an easy walk from our secret hotel.. take a flashlight, for when you leave it is quite isolated. It is part of the Villas Carrizalillo, but open to non-guests. The view is magnificent as the sun sets..and grey whales were spouting as they slowly headed westwards. Food was good, lots of choices. The pollo adobe was excellent..fish choices fresh, good and nicely presented.The staff were wonderfully professional. You can get there by taxi, but if you walk..go in comfortable sandals as the access road is only a sandy track! Viva Mexico!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seeadler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself to a Sunset View and Some Great Food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have eaten twice at this restaurant in recent weeks. The view from the restaurant overlooking La Playa Carrizalillo and the sunset is one of the best in Puerto Escondido. The food is also outstanding. The various choices have all been well prepared and served. The dining area is on two levels under a large palapa roof.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Espadin also viewed

Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to Espadin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing