We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a blast! Must stay here when in Puerto Escondido”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Osa Mariposa Hotelito
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Had a blast! Must stay here when in Puerto Escondido”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This place has an awesome atmosphere, it was so much fun staying here. Super close to the beach and easy to get to Zicatela and Centro by either taxi or collectivo. The food is sensational, I miss Sylvia's breakfasts and the family vegan dinners every night. Great parties in the evening with some awesome infused Mezcal (the cinnamon is lethal) but they make sure the party finishes at a reasonable hour and you can carry on in Zicatela. Most importantly this has the most relaxed, chill easy going vibe where you can do as you please and wont feel at all uncomfortable.

Room Tip: The very first dorm (front facing) is slightly larger than the rest. Ask nicely and you might get i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
20
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Osa Mariposa is a paradise that is affordable for everyone! When I first walked in I wasn't sure where to check in cuz it's that relaxed. The staff was super friendly and made everyone feel like they're part of a community. They have family style dinners every night, which are affordable, and optional (even locals sign up). The rooms are cabina style, which I love... makes you feel like you're at one with nature. Everything is clean and super relaxing, with plants, hammocks, and kitties hanging out. They have a small menu with healthy food options (vegetarian), and fresh juice. The mezcal is good too (must try cafe mezcal)! It's located between La Punta and Zicatella, a little walk, or short cab away. It's a good excuse that makes you get a little exercise in your day. I HIGHLY recommend Osa Mariposa and hope to return soon! Love it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Walking into a hostel for the first time can be a little like walking into a high school cafeteria for the first time, so inevitably one of the first things I do is try to get a feel for the type of people that run the hostel, as well as the type of guests that stay there. My immediate reaction coming into Osa Mariposa was extremely positive, I was greeted by really friendly people that were quick to help me with their local knowledge of the area and genuinely seemed interested in making sure that I got the most out of my time in Puerto. To be honest, I was going to leave after a few days because I was looking for a place that was a little more surf-centric, but I quickly realized that Osa was a much better option as I was able to surf in the day and then hang out with people who have more to talk about than surfing (nothing wrong with that if that is your thing). I found the prices to be extremely affordable, the food to be absolutely delicious, and the variety of mezcal to be impressive. The staff, volunteers, and guests were always inclusive in the things they were doing, but there wasn't any pressure to join in. It was really nice to have the option of either being social or to go off on my own. One more thing... I happened to be there when the owner of the place came down from Denver to check in.. and I can see where the place gets it's light and welcoming atmosphere from. He was a down to earth and a super friendly guy and I could tell that all of his employees felt privileged to work for him. Great time. Hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmor10221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hostel is nestled between beach towns; La Punta and Zicatella. Although only 5 minuets from both, you are left with a more secluded stay off the main drag. The little wooden cabins are surrounded by the well looked after lush green gardens.
Even if you decide not to stay at the hostel I 100% recommend joining the staff and guests for 'family dinner'. Facebook or pop by before 5 (mon-sat) to let the staff know you'd like to eat the best vegan meal of your life. I'm a carnivore and I savored every dinner I are there for 30 days.

Stay here for a mixture of hammock reading and mezcal fueled nights out. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasterlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

it's not a myth, nor a legend, it's true, ppl tend to stay longer then they planned! When you arrive first time in Puerto, on foot its not easy to find without good instructions. it's not a town center hostal, just ask a cab to save the trip. But when you arrive... holy Mari of Posa!!! they have shady hammocks around, cool beers, great food, friendly staff with their own state of mind, a backgammon board wich is daily played till you drop, or ask for the pig game. its not a real party hostel, but athmosphere is great! nice music, dancing, or whatever you like :) bar closes before 12. they offer open paycheck, so no grabbing for money all the time, prices are fair, just dont get crazy too much :) Dorms do are a little crampy, but beds are fine. they are equiped with mosquito nets, wich are sufficient for the nights to stay safe. i only sprayed some bugspray to prevent to many bites (and dont worry too much about malaria etc...), the little ventilator can be a little noisy for a good night. showers are fine, just no warm water, wich is mostly fine due to the heat... also dont miss the rooftop in the night to see the stairs, take the stairs next to the toilets. The only down side of this Paradise is that there is no kitchen. But if you're not on the uberlow budget, some very nice and good priced restaurants, juice shops,... Surf lessons can be asked in the hostel. its nice to surf in la punta, but it might be a little crowded there....
Just get there, you will never regret!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakkevaneyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Rustic but clean, very relaxed hostel atmosphere. Staff extremely friendly & accomodating. It is a few minutes to the beach, 10 minute walk to the couple bars & restaurants in Punta,easy transport to anywhere else available up the hill and around the corner. As noted they do observe quiet hours which is good. Definitely would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFLGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The shared dorm rooms are a bit cramped but the food, hammocks and proximity to the beach well made up for it. The central common area creates a great social atmosphere and the mezcal helps as well. Vegetarian options are often hard to come by so those looking for a little green in their diet will be completely satisfied.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amydoodledaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#7 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#19 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
#17 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osa Mariposa Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Mariposa Hotelito

Property: Osa Mariposa Hotelito
Address: Privada de Cancun S/N | Colonia Brisas de Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71988, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osa Mariposa is a small boutique hotel on Oaxaca's Emerald Coast. We are located in the Brisas de Zicatela neighborhood of Puerto Escondido right between the two best surf breaks in a quiet community made up of sandy streets and smiling faces. We rent rustic beach bungalows surrounded by a lush and colorful tropical garden. Plenty of hammocks, books, breeze and great food. Check our schedule for live music, karaoke, cinema and other events. We can direct you to yoga or surf classes, tours, travel information and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Osa Mariposa Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing