We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Carrizalillo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Fe(Puerto Escondido)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rockaway(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Santa Cruz(Puerto Escondido)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mozart y Macondo(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Paraiso Escondido(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Suites Villasol(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casamar Suites Hotel(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelito Swiss Oasis(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escondido(Puerto Escondido)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
153
40
0
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
40
0
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson site restaurantprivate staircasegreat porchoverlooking playaperfect beachprivate beachtaxi into townsurf lessonswonderful restauranthuatulco airportshort walkshrimpocean wavessatellite tvoaxacan coastread a bookwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The plant is well kept and the setting is great. Nice and quiet resort an inexpensive cab ride to Puerto Escondido. 167 steps down to the beach,a bit hard on these 64 year old knees but a worthwhile climb both up and down. The on site restaurant is quite good too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank phytowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We had previously traveled to Puerto Escondido and loved it!! When choosing somewhere for our destination wedding we wanted an amazing location and somewhere really special, as we were travelling all the way from Australia. After a little bit of research we came across Villas Carrizalillo....and it was so perfect!!

We only left yesterday after staying 9 nights and I couldn't write this review quick enough!!! Thanks to all the staff there, especially owner Amy, our wedding day was beyond perfect. Planning a wedding from a different country via email can be quite difficult at times however Amy made it so easy and organised everything from our celebrant, cake, flowers to the mariachi band (best part of the day!!). Marcelo from the Espadin Restaurant was really helpful with organising all the food and drinks. We had 35 guests travel to Mexico for our wedding and everyone was looked after perfectly. We had all 12 villas to ourselves for 3 days and it was filled with our family and friends, and it was so fun!

All the villas (because we hired the whole place we could check them all out!!) are so spacious and comfortable. All have air conditioning in bedrooms and terraces with furniture. We stayed in Colorada and the view to the ocean below was amazing!!!!

We loved Espadin Restaurant, the food was so amazing with good variety, and also very reasonably priced. It's so convenient when you can't be bothered venturing anywhere else to eat after a big day. We had breakfast here everyday. We had no complaints or problems with any of the food or drinks - everything was great. The margaritas are delicious!!

The beach below is nice and calm and we could just swim down there for hours. The stairs are steep but that didn't really bother us much. Just stop for a break on the way up if you need to!

We like to hire motorbikes and explore the area so if you feel like trying someplace different to eat it is just a short work (or even shorter ride away!). Turn left at the end of the dirt road where you turn into Carrizalillo and you will find heaps of restaurants. Try the pastries from El Cafecito or the fish tacos and margaritas from Turtle Bay Restaurant.....delicious!!

We absolute love this place, we even changed our travel plans and re-booked flights just to stay longer. We like that it is quiet and secluded, but still love going into Zicatela for food and beach drinks at sunset. We will definitely be back and stay here!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank lisa_freelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at Villas Carrizalillo for seven nights. It was an excellent experience. The location is excellent, in a quiet area on a cliff directly above Playa Carrizalillo. There is a private staircase down to the beach. Bikes, surf boards, and boogie boards are available. The staff is friendly and helpful. They can set you up with Spanish or surf instructors, tours, excursions, etc. The villas (at least the one I stayed in) are comfortable and roomy, with full kitchens and plenty of space. The view from the deck is spectacular. There is a restaurant as well. The food is not great, but the view is really great.

I will definitely stay again on my next trip to Puerto. I want to try one of the villas with ocean view!

Room Tip: Some of the villas have an ocean view. I did not try them. They are probably more expensive, but quite possibly worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shmekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I agree with all the positive comments regarding the hotel. I found the stairs to the beach hard to negotiate going down and going up. Anyone with physical limitations might find them very daunting. Handrails would make all the difference. I had to negotiate the stairs VERY carefully. The beach was absolutely stunning and the water was warm and very safe so I tried not to think about the climb back up the stairs at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view! It is well worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rocmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Villas Carrizalillo is beautiful with access to a great beach. The on- site restaurant is very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Many speak both English and Spanish. Terrace bar is great place to watch sunsets; great bar tender. The Villas are beautiful, many with private terraces and ocean views. On- site owners. Well managed and maintained.

Room Tip: Check out their web sites rooms are accurately photographed
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sun-line-camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews