We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better and fresher than El Cafecito”
Review of EL MANA

EL MANA
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
S. P. Cholula Pue Mx
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better and fresher than El Cafecito”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The fresh bakery is equal but here you sit over the beach with fresh air of Zicatella beach and do not have the street in front. just don't be that late for Breakfast, they run quickly out of croissants. And they could be better organized

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinaMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    30
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The 'Service' Has Become So Bad I Can No Longer Go There”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have enjoyed the food at El Mana (once El Jardin), in each of its locations (it has moved a few times) over the past decade. However, the service has declined to such a low level, that my husband & I have resolved never to return. Twice recently we have gone for what we thought would be a special night out, as the setting is lovely. However, on both occasions, we waited, and waited, and waited, not only to place our order (and it was not particularly busy), and then the waiter (this last time it was the owner himself) did not end up placing our order with the kitchen. On this past visit the owner then came and asked us if we had enjoyed our meal! We had never even received it. Turned out, he had not placed it. The waiters would not even give eye contact so we could remind them that they took our drinks to the wrong table. When the table told them they weren't theirs, they brought the drinks, but left the limes on the other table. Since we could get no attention, my husband had to go to the kitchen to ask for the limes. In spite if a ridiculously bad night, of which the owner was well aware, he made no concessions or offers regarding drinks or our dinners, even though we went ahead and waited late when he finally placed our order (promising to have it ready in five minutes . . . ). It's a sad situation because the food there is actually nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyLaneEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edson, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food and location”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We ate her a few times and thought the food was very good. And they had a varied menu. With my poor spanish I did not receive what I though I was getting but it was excellent anyways.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We didn't get here until after sunset, but it would have been a great place to see it, right on the beach. We had a prawn pizza, which was very cheesy, the prawns were fresh (though there weren't many) and the pizza dough and sauce was delicious. We also had a pasta, which was a large serving (too large for me) and very rich. The service was exccellent, and the price was reasonable. Another good option in Zicatela.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teleejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best Pizza”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After pigging out on 2 weeks of Mexican food - I was really needing some good ole western junk food - Pizza seemed to be the top topic. The vego pizza (Margarita I think?) It was Amazing and was like a gourmet pizza soft and fluffy with a fantastic tomato flavor. Needless to say we popped in here a few times and found the food and service consistent and very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunna101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EL MANA also viewed

Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to EL MANA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing