We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dreamt of a beach hostel just like this one - paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frutas y Verduras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frutas y Verduras
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I dreamt of a beach hostel just like this one - paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We had 10 hrs in the air before we arrived in Mexico City to jump straight on a 14hr overnight bus to Puerto Escondido... Needless to say we were hoping we'd picked a good place to stay - after 5 great nights I think we picked the best! The hostel is new and kept very clean, there's lots of friendly staff and the hostel itself is very cool (if you stay here make sure you climb up the man made tower to check out the view of Zicatella beach - telescope provided.) we stayed in a private room, all of them have been painted and have a fan. The food at the hostel is delicious, all very fresh and healthy... Great if you need a break from the greasy enchilada (if not then there's a shop across the road that does Mexican.) The area itself was perfect for us, the south end of Zicatella you can swim in the water, still a few waves to bodysurf etc... Also some great waves to learn on. We had some other friends staying in Zicatella and we went to party down there with them as this is where most of the bars are... Only 30 pesos in a taxi. Highly recommend this hostel - we would definitely go back there again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HayLee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    11
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

For sure the best hostel in Puerto Escondido. Its just 3 steps from the beach and you can hear the waves all night...so relaxing! If you want to escape reality, the tower is the best place to chill and feel like you are alone in the world. The hostel is spotless clean and the owners super friendly. I stayed for a month and felt like at home. The food at the bar is sooo delicious, I have never tried such tasty pancakes before! Internet is very important for me and it worked without problems all the time, thats also a big plus. The place is gorgeous!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siva999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The food at rhat place is really great, we had breakfast there every single day. Great smoothies, nice People, really relaxed Atmosphere. the place is gorgeous, and we loved the environment and the hippie lile feeling. I ll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoupeeViennoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Had an awesome time here. Stayed for 5 nights but easily could have stayed for longer. There are plenty of areas for just lazing around & they have a bar with awesome food. The room was basic but what you expect for the price & the wifi worked the majority of the time. The location is awesome literally a 20metre walk and you are on the beach at La Punta & the views from the viewing platform are amazing! The rooms can get pretty hot at night but the fans worked well. My only criticism would be that there was only one male & one female toilet & shower, & they were right next to the kitchen so there was very limited privacy but apart from that it was great. The price is also fantasic as well :-) Cabs are aways around so its easy to get to Zicatela if you need to. I would definitely stay here again when in Puerto Escondito

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrutasVerduras, Owner at Frutas y Verduras, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Glad you liked the food...mas banos are on the way. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was my first trip to Mexico and I was excited to find such a great hostel. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable - the vibe is mellow and inviting - and the food is healthy and fresh. You're so close to the surf break la punta, and you can see how the waves/crowds are from a tower built on the property. There's tons of hammocks to lounge on, and hot tub and sunning area, cool books in the library, and cool ex-pats and locals hanging around the bar. I totally recommend this hostel if you want to surf your brains out and be in a nice quiet zone to rest up for the next days waves. It's like a mix between a B+B and a hostel since you can order all the food you want - or cook for yourself if you prefer. Can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catnievesness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I originally came to Frutas to have lunch in their cafe and hop on wifi. I was so impressed that I ended up cancelling another hostels reservation and staying there instead.

My decision was perfect. After I few days I realized this is where the cool kids hang this place keeps a great atmosphere of visitors and locals and the food in their in house cafe is so good you'll end up eating there more than any other place around. I suggest the banana Nutella crepe and one of their fresh fruit juices.

The owners invested a lot of energy and it shows. If it wasn't for the lack of private bathrooms I'd call this place a resort; everything here is extremely well done (and clean), from the soft and colorful bed sheets to the original artwork on the walls. The terrace is beautiful with a jacuzzi and there is also a tower to watch the sunset or check the waves. The staff is friendly, beautiful and down to help with whatever you need.

Frutas is definitely recommended for surfers, the owners are surfers who have a large selection of boards for rental.

so yeah, I love this place!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms instead over the cabanas, they are spacious and get beautiful light during the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Santa Cruz
Bungalows Santa Cruz
#25 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#4 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#16 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frutas y Verduras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frutas y Verduras

Property: Frutas y Verduras
Address: Alejandro Cardenas s/n | Brisas Punta Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Hang Ten or just hang out at our international hostel! Frutas y Verduras is conveniently located 1 block from the beach and a short walk to Playa Zicatela, one of the top 10 surf breaks in the world. Hear the waves from your bed! We offer private double and triple rooms with balcony, private cabanas and a communal dorm that holds seven. We also offer an apartment with private kitchen and bathroom. Rooms are spacious and well-furnished with locally made furniture and fixtures. All bathrooms are communal. Our communal kitchen is equipped with refrigerator, oven, blender and juicer. Free wi-fi and drinking water are included.Enjoy the beautiful sunsets at the playa and watch the sunrise from behind the hills on our spacious terrace. Check the waves from our observation deck. Hang in a hammock and check out our selection of books or check in back home with our wi-fi. Hungry? Our restaurant Café Ole serves omelets, crepes, salads, juices and sandwiches freshly made to order. We also have a full bar with a great selection of mezcal, tequilas and rums. Salud!Ready to get active? Our friendly staff can help with surfing lessons, yoga classes, diving and more. We have a large selection of surfboards for rental. Puerto Escondido is the perfect place to explore the beaches, mountains, lagoons and villages of Mexico.Nightlife and shopping at Zicatela are only a short walk away or an even shorter taxi ride. The markets and shops of Downtown Puerto Escondido can be accessed by taxi or the coletivo public transit.We speak English and Spanish but our international crew is often fluent in several languages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Frutas y Verduras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing