We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vivo Escondido Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hostel”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Best Hostel I have ever been to. Stay here! Friendly staff, good vibes and great facilities. Even if you surf, just stay here and taxi to the surf spots (30-40 pesos). You will enjoy Peurto Escondido more if you stay here, period.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    12
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
17
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Viva Escondido we felt very welcome. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and the location was great. Close to one of the only swimming beaches. We among many other guests decided to extend out stay because we enjoyed it so much. Pancakes every morning and a swimming pool, what else could you want!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Malicki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this fantastic place? If you are looking meet people, have fun, go to nice but cheap restaurants and are on a budget this is the place for you. With approx 25 beds it is a perfect size to get to know everyone, the kitchen is a good size, there is always someone about during the day and they have a noise curfew around about 11/midnight due to being in a residential area. We absolutely wish we could have stayed longer, it is like one big family with group meals organised to share costs. We want to say a huge thank you to the staff Chris, Suzi and Ellie for being so accommodating and doing everything in there power to make sure we had an awesome time. If we come back to Mexico we will definitely come back here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlin, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What can I say, this is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Really not even a hostel, more like a house full of friends and good people. Ross was a great host and knows how to show guests a great time. I was only planning on staying for a few nights and stayed well over a week. It is a hard place to leave! You can just chill by the pool and drink all day, go to the beach, hit the town or go kayaking, birdwatching- the list goes on. The town itself is great as well- full of great people, food, wildlife, and night life. Anything you are looking for! And this hostel is a great addition to it. Super clean, relaxed and safe. It is also in a perfect location. Close to great food and the beach! I could easily go back to Mexico just to hang out in Puerto Escondido and at this hostel. I've never felt more at home abroad and I've been to a lot of places! If you get the chance, don't miss out on this hostel. You won't regret staying there! And you probably won't want to leave. Thanks again Ross and D! Hope to see you cats again soon! -Dan from WI

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hostel is epic. The owner, Ross has done an amazing job of turning this once mansion into Escondido's best place to stay. Ross is also and amazing host and he rocks at showing his guest a good time.
If your coming to Escondido don't miss out on staying here.
Great beds, cool staff, beautiful pool & everything is very clean. Also some of the best art pieces painted on his walls I've ever seen.
As a hostel owner myself I know what makes a great hostel and this is absolutely an epic hostel.
Thanks for the great time bro. I'll see you next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

What can i say.. Its like i was at home.. Everyones so friendly the pool is cleaned everyday the paintings nikki and joe have done are amazing loved watching the progress they made.. Mongo the 70 year old mongolian painter who lives here for 2 weeks at a time is hilarous! Joel and trent and de were so helpful! I was sick for most of the time and they acted as big brothers to me.. They also let me organise a pirate party which everyone loved!! Nothing bad to say the dorms are also clean and beds massive!!!! Thankyou guys


Xxxx luci

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucindaemmaord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

By far the best hostel my boyfriend and i went! The owner and the staff are so amazing!! We had a hard time leaving, we absolutely loved it! Anyone who is suppose to stay a day or two ends up staying longer than 1week! Brand new hostel with art everywhere, and if u are lucky youll get the chance to meet Ali Mongo who is a 78year old artist! (Chillest man ever) so we 1000% recommend this place! Thanks so much for everyhing ross xoox manu and karo!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karolambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#17 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Careyes Puerto Escondido
Careyes Puerto Escondido
#19 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
#16 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ribera del Mar
Hotel Ribera del Mar
#45 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
20 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#21 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivo Escondido Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivo Escondido Hostel

Property: Vivo Escondido Hostel
Address: Calle Barriletes Esq Mantarraya Rinconada 2, Puerto Escondido 71983, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spacious villa with high ceilings and large open areas, when you arrive at Vivo Escondido you step into the ultimate holiday home you never knew you had. We welcome you with open arms and friendly smiles to join our little family and explore the beauty and magic of Puerto Escondido. Laze in the hammocks or practice yoga on the roof terrace, as the breeze from the ocean washes over you. Play a round of table tennis, have a beer by the pool, watch the sunset from the rooftop, cook your favourite meals in our fully equipped kitchen or just explore all the different art and murals covering our walls. We are close to the best swimming beaches of Puerto Escondido and a 5 minute walk from the beginner/intermediate break at Playa Carrizalillo. As well as homemade breakfast, you can enjoy great restaurants nearby ranging from Middle Eastern cuisine to seafood straight from the ocean, to pizza and even sushi. Come with an open mind and you will leave with a full heart, new friends, and a promise to return to your home away from home. Breakfast included. Reception opened from 7am to 11pm. Please let us know if you will arrive before 7am or after 11pm so that we can welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing