We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, nice and close to the beach”
Review of Hotel Rockaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rockaway
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed a week in one of the cabanas facing the swimming pool. The rooms are cleaned daily and have one double bed and bunk beds with mosquito nets on all and a really nice bathroom with shower. In October it is very hot. There's a ceiling fan and another larger plug-in fan and the room does cool down towards the morning. The swimming pool is really welcome (as it's a bit dangerous to swim on Zicatela) and well maintained. There's a small shop on site with cold drinks and snacks and we found the staff in Rockaway friendly and helpful. Take ear plugs as the bars close by can get really loud at night and go to Cafe Cito next door for amazing coffee and breakfast.

Room Tip: If you want air-con stay in one of the rooms not a cabana.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missfranbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rockaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

During our stay it was really quiet (what we liked!) in compare with other accommodations. The rooms (double with aircon and van) are reasonably priced (500 pesos/night).
We think the employees are not really friendly. The options they offer are good: 2h surflesson for only 300 pesos inc. material and transport and a boattrip to see dolphins and turtles for only 250 p/p (we saw both!).
The pool is nice but i wonder about the quality of the water. My white bikini turned into green after the first day and in blue after the second..

It's a shame that a lot of the beachcabbins are braken down to build shops (they are building at the moment). That's why there is no bar, restaurant or meeting place anymore and also the poolbar is no longer. If you want some fun with other travelers you should go somewhere else, there are many options in P.E.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maaike82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in a cabana for 250p per night. Room had 3 beds and 2 fans and got very hot during the day. The cabanas all face the pool which can also get very hot during the day. But in the morning and evening is a nice place to cool down. Pool area is very socialble. Most nights we sat around and had a few beers and chatted to the other guests. The only negative was the very surley guy on reception in the afternoons/evenings. No matter how nice you were to him he would always grunt and be miserable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Zicatela Beach is the location to be in Puerto Escondido - the beaches are nice and wide with plenty of restaurants/bars and surfing. The Hotel Rockaway, just across the street from the beach was in a great spot! It has a 24 hour convenience store attached to the reception office - big bonus. We stayed in an air conditioned hotel room (there are less expensive cabanas also). The rooms were basic and a little small but clean and comfortable. The small pool area was nice with a bar open on certain evenings. The Cafecito restaurant next door was handy for grabbing a good cup of coffee in the morning and was always busy for breakfast. We were happy with the price and would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipsy-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

There's a lot happening at the Rockaway and most of it involves noise. When it isn't generating its own from the Friday and Tuesday night live music—and daily happy hour crowd (except Sundays)—the disco a few doors down the street makes its own significant contribution. Still, I had a good time and liked the central location. At M$250 a night for a cabaña, one feels a bit guilty making many complaints. But do bring your earplugs, if sleeping is part of your agenda.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We were warned when booking that the hotel was noizy, and for the most part was not too bad and died down around midnight. New Years eve and the next night there were many 20 somthing crowd anf they partied all night.
The rooms were clean, we had hot water and aircon, so found the hotel great.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
Thank GordA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We arrived in P.E. without reservations so we walked around looking at different rates and rooms. Rockaway was by far the best deal we could find. I can't remember how much we paid...less than $50 for sure, maybe even less than $40, for a great room with AC. They also have bungalows without AC for much cheaper. Don't expect luxury - but the rooms are very clean and spacious enough. Perfect location! Right across from the beach and walking distance to everything (except the bus station - short taxi ride). The front desk was super helpful and set up surfing lessons for us. There is a pool in the middle of the courtyard - we preffered swimming in ocean, but the waves are big so I can see why some people like the pool. There is also a bar by the pool that was always busy in the evenings. One night there was live music by the bar/pool with lots of people dancing/socializing. The music went on very late and was quite loud, but it was only one night and we didn't mind too much. I highly recommend this hotel, especially for budget travelers!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mia415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#24 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
81 reviews
9.7 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rockaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rockaway

Address: Calle Del Morro S/N | Playa Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: £48 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rockaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from world-renowned Playa Zicatela lies an intimate and recently-renovated boutique resort, Hotel Rockaway. This authentic property features 31 guest rooms and 12 beautifully - luxury scaled Residences. All of the spacious units are unique in design and each one possesses their own character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rockaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockaway Hotel Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing