We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casamar Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Casamar is like a beautiful oasis! From the gorgeous gardens, the pristine pool, impeccably clean rooms, and outstanding service by the staff--nothing could have been improved upon. Our stay there was just perfect! We LOVE Puerto Escondido, and have been going there for years. Now that we have found Casamar we will go to Puerto far more often. Feels like a home away from home! Thank you, Willits, and all your amazing staff for taking such good care of your guests.

Room Tip: Every room seemed cool and comfortable--even without AC. We chose the AC option thinking we would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyQ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    26
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
49
67
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

How can I start describing my experience and my girlfriend in Casamar, I guess the easiest way to describe is to say it was a 10 out from 10. Casamar is located in Zicatella a couple of blocks away from La Punta. The complex is a quiet and peacefull place, its well decorated and the staff does it best to make you feel at home. I stay in two rooms, both of them fully equiped and really nice. The manager is a really good guy that would encougare you to perform some of the many free activities the Hotel has for the guests, for example Yoga. The swimming pool is awsome and the gardens are beautiful. Looking for another hotel for a friend of mine I investigate some other ones near Casamar and there is no doubt Casamar plays on another league. Hope my reviews help,

Alberto and Erica.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This complex is lovely, well situated and a real haven. The staff is friendly, able and ever vigilant to the needs of the guests. They seem sincerely interested in making sure the guests are comfortable and happy. They did an excellent job in helping me sojourn to Oaxaca City for a couple of days sending me off with Captain Vega who pilots a lovely twin engine plane for a very affordable price. Our apartment was well furnished, quite comfortable and quiet. The maids were excellent in every way. The owner has a meet and greet on Monday evenings in his apartment and it was interesting meeting the other guests, many of whom had great life stories. Many of the guests were repeat guests over the years. I definitely recommend the Casamar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pueolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I cannot really add to the many positives written by others about this hotel.However I will add a couple of points not previously mentioned.If you are a beach walker (or jogger) then this is for you as it is quite a long beach and the sand is in itself walk-able.The rooms (at least the one we stayed in) have large screened windows and doors at the front and a screened opening at the back.This front/back screening allows for a cross breeze which coupled with the excellent room fans and landscaping did not require us to use the air conditioner at all.I do not agree with a previous comment that the hotel is situated in a rough looking neighbourhood but rather a typical one where sandy streets are the norm.Also,the Amoki restauant , where you likely will have your included breakfast also serves very decent hamburgers ,pizzas and other dishes during the daytime and evening

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dongara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Since we were visiting Huatulco before, which is cleaner and more family-friendly in terms of streets and security, Puerto Escondido appeared to us to be a rougher turf. When we took the cab towards Casamar, the road and area looked dusty and pretty rural with dogs chasing around others between empty buildings. The Casamar is located next to the beach and is a wonderful place with a beautiful pool and large rooms that can house many. Cooking is possible in the rooms and with a mini.market not far, we used it frequently since the offered breakfast, which is not in the Casamar but a walk down the dusty road in a little place called Amoki, has not been an option for us since my girlfriend had already trouble with the food and the Amoki offered mostly eggs and honestly, did not look very clean to us. On the upside, the friendly maid at the Casamar helped us even washing the dishes and kept the whole apartment clean while the gardener kept the pool area in a perfect condition. Also, the staff helped us tremendously when we asked for a doctor, as well gave us worthful recommendations where to eat, swim and shop in Pto. Escondido. We were taking cabs frequently to get to the best beaches, which are Manazanillo and Carazalillo and also have been using the bus to the market up in downtown and they appear to be safe while we received warnings not to walk on the beach at night and we werent feeling safe at night in general so we stayed mostly at the Casamar at night as at the Playa Zicatela wasnt alot of nightlife going during our stay anyway.
The rooms/apartments are good, however need a television since the only television at the Casamar wasnt working. The connectivity of the free wifi was ok, but worked mostly at the pool. Overall, it has been a pleasant stay at the Casamar but there is still room for improvement and I hope the owner can get it done in order to make it even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knutschito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Casamar is a great place to stay in Puerto Escondido. You are next to the Pacific Ocean in the quite part of Puerto Escondido (Punta). It is a very nice place with many "alternative people". Casamar is a beutiful place to stay. Everything is very clean and I like very much the staff and the owner. The design of the suites is very colorful in a Mexican traditional style. You can enjoy time in a hamac in the tropical garden with swimming pool, take some yoga or dance classes and enjoy a beautiful sunset on the Pacific - sometimes on the terrace on the roof of the building while Will (very nice owner) is welcoming all his guest with a drink and snacks as an "gettogether".
The rooms are very nice and are very well equiped with kitchen and you will be able to cook for yourself in case you are not in the mood to go out. To summarize: A great place to be with very nice people and staff. Dont miss it in case you plan your vacation in Puerto Escondido! Thank you to the great staff and thank you Will!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviaB0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willsawyer, Manager at Casamar Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hola Silvia!
It was great to have you here and learn about your contribution to the community in La Punta area along with Alejandro.
We look forward to your return to your home in Puerto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Casamar was recommended to us from some new found friends who had just stayed there. We booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying for over 2 weeks because the place is an absolute oasis in beautiful Puerto Escondido. The owners have designed, built and decorated all the rooms and common areas to make you feel right at home and they have done an outstanding job. The owners are both caring and considerate and it was a real pleasure to meet them. The staff from reception were always friendly and very knowledgeable and helped us to organize and explore a large part of Oaxaca state. We made Casamar our base for our month in Mexico and while we explored the mountains and Oaxaca city the owners let us store our surfboards and extra luggage for free. It was always so nice to return to Casamar and relax in such a beautiful complex with everything you need on holiday including daily maid service to clean your rooms, kitchen, bring fresh towels and sheets and wash your laundry, so good! The gardens around the pool are so beautiful and provide a cool place to retreat from those hot Mexico afternoons, as are the air conditioned rooms which made siesta time a refreshing and relaxing part of our holiday. As a surfing couple we found the location ideal, walking distance to both playa Zicatela and La Punta, mid beach just a minutes walk, nearby restaurants and shops in a quiet area around 5 minutes cab ride away from the noisy nightlife areas. We hope to be back there soon, thanks to everyone at Casamar! We highly recommend it to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beach and point views, we stayed in Plumeria room which is huge and equipped with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willsawyer, Front Office Manager at Casamar Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hey there! So glad to hear you guys made it back home safe :) We are so glad to have met you both and we hope to see you again in the future! Stay in touch! Also, contact us the next time you visit to receive 10% off your next stay (certain restrictions apply) no matter when you visit. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
248 reviews
10.8 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#3 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casamar Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casamar Suites Hotel

Property: Casamar Suites Hotel
Address: Calle Puebla 407 | Colonia Brisas de Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casamar Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casamar is a collection of 16 uniquely designed suites. From a cozy, intimate couples' rooftop suite to a spacious family studio apartment, each suite is completely furnished and uniquely styled in the Mexican spirit, by local artists with traditional hand-crafted tile, hand-loomed cotton decor and artisan wooden objects.Just 10 mnts from the Puerto Escondido airport and a 1-minute walk from Zicatela beach, Casamar is a tranquil place set in closed, luscious gardens with high palm trees. Enjoy our cool pool, terraces with lounge chairs and garden hamacs. Stroll to the beach for a swim or a long walk.Casamar was designed as a place to come together with family and friends. Sharing the beautiful space to simply connect without the everyday distractions of life, to simply be together and appreciate each other and our stretch of coast. We have a weekly sunset get together with complimentary drinks to share experiences.Our facilities in the common area include a pool with terrace and lounge chairs, a bbq grill, a lounge area with satellite t.V., And a lending library. Wifi is available throughout. Casamar is smoke-free. We have private parking, housekeeping 6 days a week, and refreshments for purchase as well as complimentary yoga classes and dance and aerobics classes, seasonally.Casamar Cafe, our on-site restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily from 8:30 til 3 pm. Francisca , our chef, serves up traditional, balanced meals with market-fresh ingredients.Beyond Casamar, the area offers an array of activities from Spanish lessons to hiking to waterfalls. We are happy to assist you at the front desk in making arrangements. The center of Puerto Escondido and the market are a 5-minute taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casamar Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamar Puerto Escondido
Casamar Hotel Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing