We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in puerto. Excellent value for money.”
Review of Hotel Aqua Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Aqua Luna
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in puerto. Excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

By far best hotel in puerto, we tried 3 other places before we found aqua luna, booked 3 nights and ended up staying 3 weeks! Great location in Zicatela area, 2 minute walk down to the beach and good restaurants. The owners and staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional (including the resident dog Bali!). Rooms are modern, large, cleaned every day and overall very very good value for money. The restaurant is amazing too, menu has a great range, all fresh and super cheap, we barely ate anywhere else. The pool is large and modern, always spotlessly clean with perfect sun beds to lay on. Hotel has the best rooftop for ocean views, also with lounges and spa! I could go on and on....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zicatela, Owner at Hotel Aqua Luna, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks guys,we are so glad you finally found us here in Puerto.It was a pleasure having you around and look forward to you returning one day. Keep having fun on your travels down south.Have a blast!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
32
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Where do I start with Aqua Luna!? Probably the best 2 weeks I've stayed anywhere around the world. Such good value for money, great location, awesome food, comfortable bedrooms, friendly atmosphere the list goes on...
Special mentions must be made to Clive (owner) who went above and beyond for us and the other guests giving great advice on everything around Puerto and even took us to an animal sanctuary 2hrs out of Puerto, sacrificing his own time! We are so appreciative and will tell everyone about Aqua Luna. Was sad to leave Rosie's cooking too, best burgers and fish tacos in Mexico! See u next yr Cliff!
Josh & Laura

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zicatela, Owner at Hotel Aqua Luna, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks guys.We love to have such happy guests. Pleasure meeting you and see you next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private room with hot water for a week. The entire place is modern, fresh and clean! The rooftop jacuzzi overlooking the ocean is incredible! Clive (the owner) is a really welcoming, friendly guy with lots of tips on the area. We didn't want to leave!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zicatela, Owner at Hotel Aqua Luna, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks so much guys, great to meet you.We hope you keep having an amazing trip around the world. Enjoy San Christobal. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

2014 was our second year to stay one month in this beautiful Mexican beach town. We have been going to Puerto Escondido for 15 years so you know we love it. Hotel Aqua Luna makes our holiday complete with the excellent relaxed friendly atmosphere. The price is very reasonable and we loved our bachelor-apartment.The owners and staff couldn't be more accommodating.I especially enjoy the adults only policy,not to forget the lovable resident dog who greets you like a long lost friend every time you enter the premises. Bali ( the dog takes her responsibilities quite seriously). Miss you all at "Aqua Luna" but will see you again next year.

Room Tip: Each level of the 4 level structure has more amenities,so you decide how posh you want to travel. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puerto-Regulars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zicatela, Owner at Hotel Aqua Luna, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks John, always a pleasure having you and Cindy around.Bali misses you guys and we look forward to seeing you next year. We hope its warming up in Canada.Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was the second time we stayed here after first coming to puerto 2 years ago.

Loved every part of Aqua Luna from Burritos Rosie whips up, playing pool with fellow travellers or getting the best surf and travel tips from Clive.

Recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zicatela, Owner at Hotel Aqua Luna, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us again. Hope you are having an amazing time in central america and onto South America. Thanks for recommending your friends who arrived a few days ago ,really nice guys! Keep living the dream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindau, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We haven't seen any other hotel in Puerto so can't really judge the others but Aqualuna is a pretty good option. We stayed in both cheap and expensive rooms, and would recommend to stay in the more expensive as the cheap ones above reception get unbearably hot and the fan doesn't cut it, plus there's more noise from the main road. The location is good, not too far from the main strip of Zicatela, but quiet enough at night. Surf right at Zicatela if you're good enough, or it's 5min taxi ride to Punta Zicatela. If you are a surf beginner there are some places in Zicatela that offer lessons and will take you to Carrizalillo, otherwise you can get there on your own with the colectivo for 5 pesos and then walking 10 minutes, you can rent the board there (ask for Julio). I'd say Zicatela in general is a good place to stay, colectivos can get you into town in no time. I wouldn't stay in the center around Adoquin, it looked ugly and the Playa Principal is full of boats anyway.
For us it was the pool and the jacuzzi that sold us. The pool is really nice and pretty clean, jacuzzi has some amazing views.
As for the atmosphere, the place was full Aussies who kinda hung out among themselves but we didn't really care too much as we went to Puerto to simply unwind for a few days. The bar was ok and played some good music all day long, just don't eat the fish tacos, they're awful.
The rooms get cleaned every day and towels get changed twice a week, which isn't a big issue as they provise special towels for the pool and the jacuzzi.
Warning: there are constructions going on pretty much all around the hotel, there are new hotels being built just next to and in front of Aqualuna. There is a constant noise during the day, it starts early in the morning, we were even given earplugs just in case. In the end we couldn't hear anything over the noise of the fan in our room, so it wasn't a problem for us, but we weren't right next to the main construction site so you better check the room first to see if it's too noisy or not.

Room Tip: The 350 pesos rooms get VERY hot and noisy. We stayed in Straddie room, it was 550 with the kitchene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aqua Luna for a month in April/may and definitely could have stayed longer. Not a single complaint. The rooms are basic but have everything you need and are kept spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel by the fantastic staff. The owner Clive is an absolute legend always around to give you tips and local knowledge about puerto Escondido. The pool, rooftop jacuzzi, pool table and location are all awesome and the food is delicious and cheap! Also can't forget the hotel Dalmatian, Bali - friendliest dog ever.

Can't wait to go back, Thanks Clive and Adriana!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#10 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#6 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Santa Cruz
Bungalows Santa Cruz
#26 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua Luna

Property: Hotel Aqua Luna
Address: Vista Hermosa s/n | Col. Santa Maria, Puerto Escondido 70934, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First minimalist hotel in Puerto Escondido with a personalized service and a great atmosphere!!! A unique boutique hotel in Puerto Escondido with the best views from our roof lounge & affordable rates. Be our guest and you will never stay anywhere else!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aqua Luna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing