We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit tired”
Review of Bluebell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluebell House
Ranked #2 of 2 Winkfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A bit tired”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We chose this B&B for its location, as we had a flight out of Heathrow the next morning. That's about the only thing to recommend it. There is no common space for guests; we were not even welcomed into the B&B when we checked in--rather we all stood on the front porch in the drizzling rain. The room was adequate, but everything seems in need of freshening--paint, rugs, linens. We chose the Garden Room, but there's really no garden, rather just a large backyard with play equipment. Thankfully there were no families with children staying there that night--or goodbye quiet. Continental breakfast was provided, but the bread stored in Tupperware in the frig wasn't appetizing. You can probably do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellhouse, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
All the rooms at Bluebell House have their own outside entrance rather than on a corridor, this keeps the noise from other guests to a minimum, but it does mean walking around the outside of the house as there is no access from the main house and if it is raining there is little I can do!!
The bed and linen were all new and updated at the end of last season and the bedroom is fully carpeted with no rugs in sight.
Our one acre garden is surrounded with mature trees and shrubs which is shown in the photograph and we are happy to offer our younger visitors a tampoline, slide and swings to play on.
The continental breakfast comprises of fresh granary and white bread, which can be toasted in your room and we supply a choice of cheeses, jams and marmalade, there is also a croissant or muffin, yoghurt, juice, fruit and an assortment of other little goodies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    25
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
25
33
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at the Bluebell House with our sons aged 10 and 9 in the family suite. The garden is perfect for children with a trampoline and swings although renervations are taking place so there is so work in progress. Perfect location and after spending a day at Legoland the peace and quiet is just what we needed to regenerate before heading out to the lovely country family friendly pubs within walking distance but if you do walk take a torch for the walk home as the country lanes are quite dark and the kids were a little scared. Staff at the Bluebell House and the nearby pubs were friendly and helpful. Boys loved the breakfast in their very own room! Would definately go back again and when the refurbishments have been finished this hotel will turn from a great to excellent!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed at Bluebell on our last night in England. We had two charming, comfortable rooms and all we needed to make our own breakfast before we left for Heathrow. It was a 15 minute drive but absolutely worth it! Our last night in England was quiet and pleasant. The owners were helpful with directions, recommendations for local pubs, and helping us check in for our flight.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPMDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were invited to Ascot with friends so drove down from Yorkshire - Barbara kindly arranged for our room to be ready early so we could get changed and to the races in time. The rooms are lovely (we had the garden room) and it was so nice to sit outside on the veranda with a hot chocolate before going to bed! The garden is leafy and not overlooked, a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

My criticism would be that there is not a traditional checkin, which I found confusing. Also the access down the garden room is not marked and neither is the parking...it would be ok if there was a reception to inquire in, but we could not find it! I'm sure these will be resolved when the work to the exterior/garden is completed.

The rooms are really well presented, our bathroom was very large and I love having breakfast at your own pace in the little breakfast nook or outside. All in all a lovely stay and we would return again. It seems like a good option to the more expensive (and busy/noisy hotels near to the racecourse).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kstearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed over at the Bluebell House recently and would happily recommend it. On arrival they were just starting some buildling work so part of the front of the house wasn't the most picturesque but that was of minor consequence.

We were warmly welcomed to the garden room, so-named as it opens onto the family's garden, complete with a lovely green view. The room itself was lovely, with a large bathroom, space for a small dining table and a little utility room. This room included a clothes rail, iron/board, trouser press and a fridge which was pleasantly stocked with the inclusive breakfast.

The hotel is situated right on the doorstep of Windsor Great Park and is a great base for local attractions (the park, Windsor/Eton, Legoland, etc). We'd certainly consider staying there again, especially considering the over-inflated prices of the tourist hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Bluebell house is a great family run place - there are a variety of nice clean rooms available, all with unique character and some larger than others. They provide you well with all sorts for breakfast - we had fresh bread, scones, cheeses and yoghurts and you can make your own toast and tea. The house itself isn't too far from a restaurant or two - we were given some recommendations by Barbara as to what's in the local area – overall a friendly place.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickTraveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

This guest house is in a country lane only a few minutes from Legoland. It has a great family suite (Summer and Tap rooms) comprising two bedrooms and a bathroom which are located in a separate annex with a separate external entrance. The family suite took our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children aged 4, 6 and 7) very comfortably. There is a large backyard the kids can play in (although beware there is an unfenced pool - a shock for visitors from Australia where all pools have child proof fences). The rooms themselves are fantastic - a little bit of "olde English" but modern enough to be very comfortable. The continental breakfast in the room is just great. Lots of food provided with plenty of variety and it means you can eat breakfast whenever you want. A great family place and so close to Legoland if you are planning a visit.

  • Liked — Great set-up for families
  • Disliked — Nothing worth commenting on
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMum17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winkfield
2.5 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bracknell Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#6 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell House

Property: Bluebell House
Address: Bluebell House Lovel Lane | Woodside, Windsor, Winkfield, Bracknell SL4 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell > Winkfield
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winkfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebell House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebell House is an ex coaching Inn situated next to Windsor Forest between Windsor and Ascot. All our rooms offer en-suite facilities, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen Freeview television and hairdryer. Each room also has a fridge with small ice box for your personal use. We have a lovely garden which you and your children can enjoy. We are close to Legoland, Royal Ascot racecourse, polo and golf. Whether you are staying for business or leisure, you are sure to enjoy your stay at Bluebell House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluebell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebell House Winkfield, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing