We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of The Winning Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Winning Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Winkfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at The Winning Post for just one night and were really pleased with the size of the room. It was very clean and had clearly been refurbished fairly recently. The bed was large and very comfortable and the linen was really good quality. Best of all there was fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee - a nice touch. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and although it was a little on the expensive side for a pub, the food was delicious and the service spot-on. My only criticism was the service at breakfast which was very slow. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for The Winning Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Had a Luvly light lunch, chicken Caesars salad, was nice to see anchovies included, and a glass of wine. was a rare superb sunny day two weeks ago, so we sat outside, service was great and food quality and cost fair too. Considering taking my husband for his bday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank christineCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We used to be regulars here when Bobby and John owned it and it was a local "institution" then when sold it when down hill quickly. So it was with some trepidation we went to the Winning Post. We need not have worried when we got there the whole pub/restaurant had been re-furbished and looks great and the Lady behind the bar was very friendly and helpful.
The Menu was varied, very "Gastro Pub" exactly what we wanted and not to badly priced. The only disappointing thing was the lack of other diners which caused a loss of atmosphere and the staff wandering around bored reading newspapers, strange on a Friday night.
Hopefully things will pick up and on our next visit there will be a full house, just like the old days!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Good all round pub! We enjoyed our stay and despite continuing refurbishment everything was up to scratch. Lovely ribeye steak and superb foisgras starter. The rooms are spacious but for me needed a bit more attention to detail when cleaning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Not your average local. Fantastic venue, staff and food. Quite expensive but worth ever penny and somewhere to go for that special occasion. It offers rooms as well in an area that provides easy access to both windsor and ascot.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The staff could not have been more helpful.We were even allowed to stay overnight when the hotel was not officially open as we required no service.
A family meal ( for 17)was served well and was delicious for all tastes and choices.
Our needs fluctuated but were cheerfully dealt with.
Only complaint was that there was a problem with the heating which left some of our rooms rather like a sauna-better than being cold!

Room Tip: Ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninajp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

If you want to charge West End prices then you had better produce West End quality .. which this definitely is not... Visited New Year's Day. As soon as we sat down at 2.00pm we a
were told what was that there was only 4 steaks left ! Drinks order was brought incorrectly. Overall Very Very Average...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank 50362MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winkfield
0.4 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,064 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
5.0 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winning Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winning Post

Address: Winkfield Street, Winkfield, Bracknell SL4 4SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell > Winkfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Winkfield
Price Range: £96 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winning Post 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winning Post has long been serving the racing and polo community of Ascot, Windsor and Guards Polo Club and is widely believed to bring punters luck at the races... Or perhaps it's just the place to pick up the best race tips. Set in the picturesque village of Winkfield in Berkshire, this quaint 18th century pub offers 10 rooms, each with a private bathroom, as well as free Wi-Fi, a Freeview TV and a vista of The Winning Post's beautiful, leafy gardens. Guests can enjoy a traditional cooked English breakfast each morning. The Winning Post offers a superb range of Upham ales brewed in neighbouring Hampshire, wines and champagnes, as well as a traditional pub menu made with locally-sourced ingredients. Barely 10 minutes from Ascot Racecourse and just 5 miles from the M4, The Winning Post is highly accessible, and also offers free, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Winning Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winning Post Winkfield, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing