We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay at The Winning Post”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Winning Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Winning Post
Ranked #1 of 2 Winkfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend stay at The Winning Post”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

John and I have just returned to Norfolk following a most enjoyable stay at The Winning Post (used to be called Cottage Inn) in Maidens Green near Ascot, Berkshire.

We arrived on Saturday afternoon, were warmly greeted and shown to our room - room 1. This was the first time our Border Collie, Bella, had been to a hotel - she is only 18 months old - she too received a warm welcome.

Our room was very comfortable and opened out onto a small courtyard, which was an ideal location when travelling with a dog.

The pub/bar was most convivial and John and Bella enjoyed meeting lots of people. Dinner was excellent - the Venison was most delicious - as were the Irish Coffees enjoyed back in the Bar afterwards.

After a peaceful night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent breakfast.

Our thanks to Lorraine, Angie and the team.

We three will be back very soon.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room to accommodate a well behaved dog too was excellent - room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    51
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
66
Solo
0
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for one night as we went to ascot races. The room was nice with nice views but it was very noisy could hear next door very clearly and when people turned on taps and flushed the toilet the pipes were really loud and we had no shower in our room. The restaurant was very nice great food and very good service. Overall I think it was over priced and wont be staying again due to noise.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
264 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Came here with 15 colleagues or so for a business dinner. Charming old place with a lot of separate distinctive dining areas. The food seemed well prepared especially for such a sizable group. I enjoyed a very nice butternut squash soup, a very nicely done duck breast cooked just perfect along with some type of chocolate dessert with a delicious Carmel sauce. Thankfully I followed along with colleagues to get here as I suspect this is a bit off the beaten path. Everyone's dishes which included pasta, steak or lamb seemed well prepared. My only regret is I wish I could have lingered a bit to get a better feel for the place and its undeniable character.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MJN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Love this place....don't really want anyone else to know about it. Wines, food fantastic. Rooms are beautiful. Staff are fantastic! That's far too much information. This is a little gem in Maidens Green. Great for a treat and special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We got a good deal on this place, but didn't expect it to be as amazing as it was. We had room 1, a large yet cosy room with doors that opened onto the garden. It had everything you need - small table and chairs (which we moved outside briefly to sit outside), a little bottle of fresh milk in the fridge, kettle, cafetiere, glasses, great shower and bath.We loved the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant, and enjoyed playing with the dogs! The food was delicious - particularly the langoustines with garlic butter and the bread and butter pudding.

The best part was that I got a call in the morning to remind me that breakfast finished serving in 1 hour. I've never had that kind of service before from a hotel - amazingly kind!! And the breakfast was delicious particularly the meaty, herby sausages.

As soon as I see a reduced offer again I will be there!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Usually stay in a well known hotel locally but decided to try the Winning Post, how surprised I was.
Rooms are neat , well decorated and have all provisions one would expect and at £120 per night including a no holds barred breakfast it was perfect !
Food in the restaurant excels , a great wine list (recommend the 3 Tarts French Rose, a bargain at £25 per bottle) and to top it all FABULOUS staff, nothing is a problem for them and they are attentive beyond the call of duty. In the words of an ex governor of California, I WILL BE BACK !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76GSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place used to known as the Cottage Inn when Bobby and John ran it, who previously hat the Thatched Tavern in Cheapside, Ascot, and it was absolutely fantastic, my favourite country pub in all of England, in terms of atmosphere, service and amazing food. Sadly it was sold and a "manager" was installed, so rather than the owners themselves welcoming guests and making sure everything was absolutely perfect, a guy with a suit was now there being a lot less hands on. Sadly they also went overboard on the menu getting rid of most of the favourites, although regulars could still get their pint of prawns if they asked nicely and they had some. So menu got more complex, more refined but the quality of the food deteriorated. Atmosphere also deteriorated since the new owners got rid of the cozyness, the little pictures dotting the walls etc, by giving it the typical modern bland modern country pub lift. Also the green border hedge in front that separated the front car park from the outside seating area was replaced by grey wooden boards. Horrible. In short, the new guys turned one of the greatest treasures in the area into a total disaster and even the die hard regular diner stopped going. I certainly haven't forgiven them. Well the food has gotten better in the meantime - I hear there has been another ownership change. Definitely worth trying though and still better than most local alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy_oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winkfield
0.4 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,508 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winning Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winning Post

Property: The Winning Post
Address: Winkfield Street, Winkfield, Bracknell SL4 4SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell > Winkfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winkfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winning Post 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winning Post has long been serving the racing and polo community of Ascot, Windsor and Guards Polo Club and is widely believed to bring punters luck at the races... Or perhaps it's just the place to pick up the best race tips. Set in the picturesque village of Winkfield in Berkshire, this quaint 18th century pub offers 10 rooms, each with a private bathroom, as well as free Wi-Fi, a Freeview TV and a vista of The Winning Post's beautiful, leafy gardens. Guests can enjoy a traditional cooked English breakfast each morning. The Winning Post offers a superb range of Upham ales brewed in neighbouring Hampshire, wines and champagnes, as well as a traditional pub menu made with locally-sourced ingredients. Barely 10 minutes from Ascot Racecourse and just 5 miles from the M4, The Winning Post is highly accessible, and also offers free, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Winning Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winning Post Winkfield, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing