We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Winning Post
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bracknell Central(Bracknell)(Great Value!)
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Premier Inn Bracknell Central Hotel(Bracknell)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highclere Hotel(Ascot)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oakley Court(Windsor)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Berkshire Hotel(Sunninghill)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
103
63
20
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
63
20
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubchateaubriandfrench doorsby the glassthe bar restaurant arealeaving earlysmoked salmonlovely mealbooked dinnerfull englishbed was comfortableevery member of staffascot racesa wonderful staymy colleaguesaturday eveningbottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Visited for breakfast before going to Ascot races. Adam was fantastic and gave us a great welcome. Orange and coffee arrived quickly. Copy of the Racing Post was a great bonus but sadly didn't help us to back winners later in the day. Breakfast was delicious. The best black pudding ever! Lovely crispy bacon and sausage too. Masses of toast and pots of butter. No nasty little pats of butter here!! Really couldn't fault anything. Big cups of delicious hot coffee, tasty and filing breakfast and really welcoming and friendly staff. I could happily have stayed for the whole day and really didn't want to leave. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TripAdvisomember50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I booked The Winning Post for my partners 40th birthday. It was a surprise with 4 other guests arriving without him knowing. All the staff were really helpful in making sure we had a wonderful stay & all secrets were kept intact. This hotel is perfectly located for a trip to Ascot races (we had booked for British Champions weekend) & hotel staff are happy to organise taxi's to take you to & from. The winning post presents an impressive menu & certainly doesn't disappoint. It goes beyond what you'd expect from a pub menu & delivers a fine menu & an above average wine list. The overall experience was outstanding with a real personal touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

John and I have just returned to Norfolk following a most enjoyable stay at The Winning Post (used to be called Cottage Inn) in Maidens Green near Ascot, Berkshire.

We arrived on Saturday afternoon, were warmly greeted and shown to our room - room 1. This was the first time our Border Collie, Bella, had been to a hotel - she is only 18 months old - she too received a warm welcome.

Our room was very comfortable and opened out onto a small courtyard, which was an ideal location when travelling with a dog.

The pub/bar was most convivial and John and Bella enjoyed meeting lots of people. Dinner was excellent - the Venison was most delicious - as were the Irish Coffees enjoyed back in the Bar afterwards.

After a peaceful night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent breakfast.

Our thanks to Lorraine, Angie and the team.

We three will be back very soon.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room to accommodate a well behaved dog too was excellent - room 1.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for one night as we went to ascot races. The room was nice with nice views but it was very noisy could hear next door very clearly and when people turned on taps and flushed the toilet the pipes were really loud and we had no shower in our room. The restaurant was very nice great food and very good service. Overall I think it was over priced and wont be staying again due to noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Came here with 15 colleagues or so for a business dinner. Charming old place with a lot of separate distinctive dining areas. The food seemed well prepared especially for such a sizable group. I enjoyed a very nice butternut squash soup, a very nicely done duck breast cooked just perfect along with some type of chocolate dessert with a delicious Carmel sauce. Thankfully I followed along with colleagues to get here as I suspect this is a bit off the beaten path. Everyone's dishes which included pasta, steak or lamb seemed well prepared. My only regret is I wish I could have lingered a bit to get a better feel for the place and its undeniable character.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank MJN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews