We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Decor for Miles Around”
Review of The Winning Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Winning Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Winkfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

You can tell a lot about a place by the care and quality of the decor. The Winning Post does not disappoint. If you enjoy interior design, go and see it. Oh, and if you enjoy good food served by good staff then even more reasons for you to go and sample this place.
Bedrooms were definitely above average quality, I like the way ground coffee and cafetiere are provided in the room for example. Curtaining and beds all show that someone is on the ball. I also like they way you can see the food preparation area as you make your way to the bar.
From the initial impression of nice decor to welcoming staff serving great food, this is a very professionally run place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETERTRIPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Close to windsor and ideally located for Ascot Racecourse, this hotel is a great find. The rooms
are very clean, spacious and comfortable. The pub serves a selection of real ale and has an extensive wine. The real winning factor for The Winning Post is the food. The ribeye steak is
one of the best steak I have ever eaten. The staff we extremely friend and helpful. On value for money I cannot fault this place. Give it a try

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve112dpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This place needs leadership. It is expensive and not delivering in terms of service. Food remains strong, wine list limited. Location good and convenient but it could go the extra mile. Best to avoid until they reestablish themselves.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tipo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights on business. Staff very accomodating and helpful, despite a few booking issues.
Room large and comfortable. Nice pub area with restaurant. Steak was one of the best I'bve tasted this yr. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ads7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Winning post feels both cosy and modern all at the same time. The food is excellent and the mango soufflé was one of the best I ever had...have been back time and time again as a result and never disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

A cross betweene country pub and fine dining, The Winning Post gets the balance just right. Feim making the booking to leaving after our lunch the warmth and professionalism made it a real winner! Food was particularly worthy of note and excellent Gluten Free Flexibility.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Glutenfreeguerilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It's my second stay at this hotel, I can only recommend it ... Everything here is done with personal attention.
Accommodation are very comfortable with good internet (important for me) the rooms are decorated with a very English feel, love it.
Bathroom and shower are very well fitted. Good breakfast also.
The added bonus is the restaurant, which offers a well thought through & prepared menu,
The chef has done an excellent job. This is a great place to come and dine. This lovely Country Inn will not disappoint anyone I have no doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winkfield
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
4.2 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
5 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winning Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winning Post

Address: Winkfield Street, Winkfield, Bracknell SL4 4SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell > Winkfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Winkfield
Price Range: £81 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winning Post 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winning Post has long been serving the racing and polo community of Ascot, Windsor and Guards Polo Club and is widely believed to bring punters luck at the races... Or perhaps it's just the place to pick up the best race tips. Set in the picturesque village of Winkfield in Berkshire, this quaint 18th century pub offers 10 rooms, each with a private bathroom, as well as free Wi-Fi, a Freeview TV and a vista of The Winning Post's beautiful, leafy gardens. Guests can enjoy a traditional cooked English breakfast each morning. The Winning Post offers a superb range of Upham ales brewed in neighbouring Hampshire, wines and champagnes, as well as a traditional pub menu made with locally-sourced ingredients. Barely 10 minutes from Ascot Racecourse and just 5 miles from the M4, The Winning Post is highly accessible, and also offers free, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Winning Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winning Post Winkfield, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing