We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to impress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George & Dragon

The George & Dragon
Reserve with OpenTable
The George & Dragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Kelvedon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated between picturesque Coggeshall and Kelvedon the George & Dragon has established itself setting a high standard in value for money dining.
essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This restaurant is outstanding. The food is delicious and the service very attentive and helpful. You are guaranteed an outstanding evening

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunbedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    62
    19
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great for seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The seafood selection was excellent, which did leave limited choice for those who do not like fish (which was half our group). Most of the food was very good, if the portions were a bit on the small side. The only let down was that my starter was a bit gritty, and when you are paying that much it should be gritty.

The drink selection was good and the decor made it feel like you were having a dinner party at soneones house rather than a restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Jay3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“returned after too long a gap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

For some reason mainly down to the travelling we do hadn't been for over a year. On a spur of the moment went with friends at the end of October on a friday night. Had a superb meal, the food has always been good but this time we all agreed it was outstanding. So impressed we went the next friday with another couple of friends. 3 of us had a thai based king prawn and noodle starter which was simply to die for. I am a creature of habit and my Liver and bacon was as ever just right.
Mandy, the owner and front of house, treated us like long lost friends notwithstanding our lack of recent visits. Booked for my wifes birthday in december. Only possible comment is the hard surfaces can make it a bit noisy as it is always busy. My 90 yr old mother with hearing aids can find the background noise difficult

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keithg1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Recently visited this restaurant for the first time. The service, the menu, the ambience and the food were very impressive. I would not hesitate to return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Recommended, especially for fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We eat here occasionally and are never disappointed. The restaurant specialises in fish, but has one of the best menus of any of the local restaurants and caters for meat eaters as well. Service is friendly and efficient. We chose fish from the daily specials and starters from the standing menu, all beautifully cooked. If I had any criticisms at all, it would be that the fish portion sizes and starters are more on the 'adequate' side than 'generous' (however meat dishes seemed to be more substantial) and you will have room for desert .... Pricing is about average for decent local restaurants, but represents better value than most. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Essexscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George & Dragon also viewed

 
Feering, Colchester
 

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing