We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay in a beautiful location”
Review of Ivy Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Ongar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy Cottage
Ranked #2 of 2 High Ongar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just wanted to thank Ivy for making us feel so welcome last night. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and beautifully furnished and the breakfast was hearty and delicious.

We stayed to attend a wedding at Gaynes Park and this was a great location. Ivy recommended a reliable and well priced taxi firm and the journey was only about 10 minutes.

If you are looking for a comfortable and good value overnight stay, Ivy Cottages is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCE1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Ivy Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

Exceptional value while being of the highest standard
True Bed & Breakfast, you feel like one of the family rather than a faceless guest in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenNthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

With three en-suite rooms next to each other and beside a pretty garden this is very suited to a family group. The electronically controlled entry gate gives privacy and security. We had wonderful fruity breakfasts. Ivy and Bernard could not have done more to make us welcome. Good eating places a short drive away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with this beautiful setting and hugely disappointed we were only to be there for one night. In that time we were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Ivy who showed us to our room, checked what time we would like breakfast and advised us of places to eat that evening. We were fortunate enough to have glorious weather so were able to have our breakfast in the garden, a perfect start to the day; breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Our room was comfortable, clean and very tastefully decorated with a lovely bathroom and excellent shower. Cars can be parked inside the grounds which have electric, gated access.

All in all we were made to feel very welcome, our hosts were lovely people and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kookie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at Ivy Cottage for 4 days in July to attend a nearby wedding. We were treated to wonderful made-to-order English breakfasts, cooked beautifully by Bernard, our host. An assortment of fresh fruit and many other items were also available. Our hostess, Ivy, was wonderfully warm and friendly and made us feel very much at home. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and were able to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful garden. This is a secure gated property for anyone with small children. We couldn't have asked for anything more and hope one day to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clydebank4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were attending a wedding at nearby Gaynes Park and had an overnight stay here. The cottage itself is an old converted schoolhouse and is full of charm. The rooms are adjacent and are clean, comfortable, well appointed and tastefully decorated. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in at a guest house!

Breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked and the dining room, in the main house was charming. On a warm day it is also possible to take breakfast outside if you wish.

Car parking is sceure and within the grounds of the cottage, which lies behind security gates to which you are given access.

The patrons are friendly and extremely helpful and we had a lovely stay.

The only downside I can think of is that you can here a fair bit between the rooms so maybe not ideal for honeymooners!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Ongar
5.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
6.7 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,681 reviews
6.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
375 reviews
11.2 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
467 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Cottage

Address: Ivy Cottage Toot Hill Road | Greensted Ongar, High Ongar, Ongar CM5 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Ongar > High Ongar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in High Ongar
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ivy Cottage Ongar, Essex - High Ongar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing