We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivy Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Down Hall Hotel & Spa(Hatfield Heath)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel(Brentwood)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunters Meet Hotel(Hatfield Heath)
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
16
2
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
2
1
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Ivy cottage- a beautiful setting with cute individual cottages sleeping up to four people with everything you need. Surroundings are beautiful..... BUT

Owners are rude, unprofessional and should clearly not be running a BnB- they ruined our evening by stereotyping and misjudging us.

The lady owner didn't do anything but moan at us from the start and her husband was very rude patronising and even came across intimating at one point saying he would rather throw us out then have us there. I wouldn't mind this treatment if we were acting up but we had literally just arrived and they had clearly mistaken a quiet girls night in for women aged late twenties- with a rowdy bunch of teenage girls who was trashing the place.

Once the problem was resolved and they agreed to let us stay we managed to have an average night and the next morning at breakfast the lady owner did apologise but they had already ruined our night and it's something our friend who's hen it was will never forget!

It was such a shame as we had really been looking forward to it as it was a surprise for our friend and the surroundings were stunning and even though we still gave her a lovely send off she was gutted with the argument at the start and couldn't relax and now it will always remain a bad memory to her!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KPTAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Was looking for somewhere to accommodate a hen party of 12 people with only 8 staying as 2 were pregnant and going home and others didn't have the money to stay. We explained on the phone we were looking for somewhere to accommodate a girls night in as such, few drinks and a few harmless bridal games and an Ann summers rep, all agreed on the phone. On arrival 2 ladies very polite and showed us to our room, on the phone they agreed to heat up a few nibbles that we had brought with us but made it clear on arrival it's something they don't usually do, when discussing amongst ourselves about the nights antics the lady said " I didn't realise you were all staying in" we explained it was nothing out going and that it was a tamed sleepover!

As the bride arrived we surprised her when she walked in with face masks of the groom and party poppers and the lady in charged completely pissed on the brides bonfire by making it clear she was not happy with what was going on!

Just after the ladies husband arrived and asked her for a quiet word, they came back and basically said the Ann summers lady was not allowed and that they would rather give us our money back and for us to leave! We was completely shocked at this treatment.. What sort of business would rather give the money Back and have their guests leave in this current climate?

We asked for a minute to discuss our options as ideally we didn't want to give them our money as they didn't deserve it but as time was getting on we didn't have anywhere else to go.. We handed over the money which we then were accused of underpaying when actually we'd over payed by £15 which she owner then had to give back!

The attitude from the owners from the start was nothing short of disgusting..we are a bunch of 25-30 year old women who wanted a quiet night in for a tamed and timid bride which was completely ruined!!! We were told by the owners that this is their home and we need to respect it but we had no intentions than doing anything other than that.. She could see we only had a few nibbles and some soft drinks out of plastic cups and paper plates.

When we asked on arrival what this place was rented out for the lady owner replied weddings funerals and hen party's etc so what the problem is I do not know!!

The lady owner even layed out wine glasses for us so I'm
Struggling to understand what the huge shock to her was

Such a Shame a beautiful quirky venue is ruined by people who have no people skills and
are openly rude to their guests.

Next morning the reception at breakfast was rather icy..although the dining area was lovely and so was breakfast. Half way into breakfast the lady owner came and thanked us for leaving the rooms immaculate and apologised for miss judging us and judged us on past experiences.. We thanked her for her apology and that we appreciated it but the damage was done, the night had been ruined and so had the experience.


  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicnak28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I booked Ivy Cottage for my parents one week stay from Australia as we didn't have enough room to accommodate them comfortably at ours. My parents were blown away by the hospitality and service provided and I am eternally grateful for them making them feel right at home. I can't recommend Ivy Cottage enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsA414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Although we arrived much earlier than originally agreed we were given a warm and friendly welcome. Access to the property was fully explained and made it very easy for us to come and go as we pleased. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. We have stayed in many bed & breakfast accommodations but this has been the best and we hope to return in the spring.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were attending a wedding in the next village. So we're given many choices of venues to stay as travelling from nottingham. My husband and I travel extensively and have stayed in many luxury hotels. We arrived to a very friendly welcome. The room was extremely clean and totally suitable Very spacious and bright. We enjoyed the most amazing wedding and returned after midnight to a very kind gentleman who released the surcurity gates to allow the taxi in. Very welcoming and polite to us even after such a late finish. Breakfast was arranged for early the next morning. Beautifully presented in a Devine dining area. Totally hospitable and extremely friendly. A total pleasure to stay there. We will for sure enjoy another stay very soon. Fletchers nottingham

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews