We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totes Amaze!”

Review of The Ongar Bell

Take a seat at your very own bar!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time! Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time!
Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Art deco backdrop behind the bar
The dining room with exposed original beams
The living room with a real log fire
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in blue
En suite double bedroom tastefully decorated in black and white
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in green
Double bedroom with bay window, tastefully decorated in gold
Spacious landing
Large family kitchen with American style fridge freezer
Kitchen double doors open out on to a spacious terrace, perfect for al fresco dining!
The Ongar Bell, an impressive landmark on the High Street
A perfect place to relax in your own lounge bar
Patio area
Garden area
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
High Ongar, Ongar, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vicky C
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totes Amaze!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends hired the Ongar Bell for the weekend for my Hen Party. When we arrived we were completely blown away by this place, It is just huge and so well presented :) The bar area was perfect for our pre nite out drinks and dancing :) Especially as my friends had organised a cocktail waitor to come and man the bar and make us cocktails all nite! We all had such an amazing time here and we were very sad when we had to leave and come home. No doubt a return trip will be required in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bar
Liked least: The Oven / Microwave facilities could have been better for 12 people
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic.....can't be faulted”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was the 5th time we have stayed at The Bell and it gets better and better each time we go! Keith and Yvonne are great hosts and everything is 1st class, from the amazing food to the superb new bar and hot tub in the garden. The whole place is furnished to the highest order and you've got everything at your finger-tips to have a great time.......we'll be back there soon I hope!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I suppose if I had to pick one thing it would have to be the new garden area with bar and hot tub, but the food was a very close second
Liked least: That we had to go home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiffa
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Amazing”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for the weekend. WOW what a hidden treasure. The place is so well furnished, big plasma tv with full sky package including sky sports, not to mention the hot tub!!Yvonne and Keith the owners could not offer to do enough for us. We cannot recommend this place enough. Book it!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebsOxfor...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best nights ever!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

You have to visit this venue, it is an amazing place for almost any celebration. Yvonne and Keith are perfect hosts, the staff attentive, friendly and very professional. The rooms have character, perfectly clean, the reception rooms are quirky mixing modern with traditional features. Loved a dip in the hot tub. The chef would give most top chefs a run for their money. The lovely part is the flexibility offered, nothing is too much trouble.
This is a true gem of a place and we will be revisiting at the soonest opportunity.
Debbie and Richard from Oxford

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flexibility to adapt to our needs 100% and the huge hot tub oh and the food
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place, the photos don't do it justice!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay for my friend's hen do. It's absolutely fantastic and perfect for what we needed (12 girls).

In a lovely quiet village but just a short cab ride away from The Sugar Hut. Cringe, yes we went there and it's everything you'd expect!

Owner answered lots of questions prior, decor is lovely, garden is beautiful, bar is amazing. Only good things to say.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstyPop...
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Venue, Amazing Hosts!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Bell is a fabulous venue for any occasion, beautiful décor, stunning garden and hosts to die for! If you are looking for a top location for that special celebration, I suggest you stop looking now and book the Bell now!
I really couldn't fault anything about this venue and I guarantee you will fall in love with it like we all did x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden area is so beautiful.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S
Chinnor, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Weekend!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the Bell with a group of friends for 40th Birthday Celebrations.

Everyone had a great time and Keith and Yvonne could not have done more to ensure our stay was perfect.
Accommodation very stylish and comfortable , We especially like the Bar and Hot tub 
Already planning next year’s weekend @ the Bell.
Thanks again Keith and Yvonne for an amazing weekend.

Richard and Claire Simpson.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$604
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing