We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even more fabulous than the website!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ongar Bell

Take a seat at your very own bar!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time! Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time!
Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Art deco backdrop behind the bar
The dining room with exposed original beams
The living room with a real log fire
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in blue
En suite double bedroom tastefully decorated in black and white
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in green
Double bedroom with bay window, tastefully decorated in gold
Spacious landing
Large family kitchen with American style fridge freezer
Kitchen double doors open out on to a spacious terrace, perfect for al fresco dining!
The Ongar Bell, an impressive landmark on the High Street
A perfect place to relax in your own lounge bar
Patio area
Garden area
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
High Ongar, Ongar, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
karbar201...
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Even more fabulous than the website!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We arrived at the Ongar Bell on Friday 4th May 2018 after a long journey from Cornwall and what was waiting for us was nothing short of heavenly!
As the black gates in the car port were opened, it revealed the most beautiful landscaped garden that was a complete sun trap!!
The ground floor in from the garden lead straight into the large kitchen, which was well equipped AND even had herbs, spices, condiments etc.. presumably left from prior visits, but very useful non-the-less. Off from the kitchen was a bedroom and THE BAR!
The Bar was just lovely, very in keeping with its original use and HUGE compared to any images you see.
Upstairs were the further 5 bedrooms, all spacious and decorated all fancy dancy, a living room and a family bathroom.
The location of this is on a busy high street, so can be noisy if you're hoping for a lie in but this can't be helped.
The real gem is the amazing garden with the large hot tub, we spent a majority of our time there ... could not fault it one bit!
Yvonne was super helpful throughout the booking process and was more than happy that we were a Hen Do!
We all cried when we left - well done!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and Essex was all that you wished for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamF1653
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing House”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here for an hen weekend but the pictures on the website don't do it justice. It have everything you needed for a lovely stay in this house. All rooms were spacious clean and tidy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Just what I love to hear pleased you enjoyed your stay, you and your friends would be welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestOwl...
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Hen Party Retreat”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weekend at the Ongar Bell and we had such a great time there. There were 12 of us stopping at the property for a hen do and it suited our needs brilliantly in a great location. Local Sainsbury's for any supplies and only 20 minute taxi ride into Chelmsford for a night out.

We were dropped off but there were 2 spaces for cars in the property.
You walked in and it felt instantly homely which was lovely and all the rooms were amazingly furnished and linen and towels were provided.

There was a massive kitchen and bar area on the first floor and it became a great entertaining space for all of us. There was plenty of cookery/glassware to go around and we all enjoyed a roast on the Sunday :) Anything you needed, it was there!

I would really recommend this property for anyone wanting a great party house.
Be warned, there is an early check out at 10am but we all still made it out in time.
We made some fantastic memories there though and would definitely consider hiring again for a big group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Thank you for your kind comments, pleased you enjoyed your stay, most groups head to Brentwood and Sugarhut but I agree with you Chelmsford has a lot to offer. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaderhian...
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a fabulous stay for my friends hen weekend! 12 of us stayed and there was plenty of room. All rooms we’re immaculate and had lots of room for everything. Very well equipped with kitchen appliances. Bath and showers were fab! Honestly a great place to stay for a weekend away with friends or family!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Brilliant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieT263...
1 review
“Mum's 80th Birthday Surprise”
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We spent a lovely weekend at The Bell for our mum's 80th birthday celebrations. She was really surprised as she thought my sister Jacqui was taking her away for the weekend, just the 2 of them. She was delighted to see the rest of the family together in the bar.

My niece enjoyed playing barmaid for the weekend and darts, pool and snooker were a huge hit. We would love to make a return visit at some stage.

The Bell is also in a lovely village with plenty of restaurants around and Sainsburys is just down the road and you turn left.

Thank you from the whole family who spent the weekend there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Great to hear that your Kum enjoyed her stay here at The Ongar Bell it is a house for all ages and occasions. We look forward to your next celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma2391
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We went to this property for my hen doo and wow!!! What an amazing place!! It's so unique and in such a great location! Thank you so much!! Xxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Many thanks Jemma you were great guests and would be very welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place for a family meet-up”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Bell is a fantastic location, with spacious rooms and a beautiful garden to relax in. We spent the weekend together as a family, having six bedrooms, three bathrooms and two living areas meant everyone had space to relax, read or play in. We thoroughly enjoyed the steam train ride and local Sunday roast at the pub too. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at The Ongar Bell, the house is perfect for family get togethers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing