We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WoW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiths of Ongar

Smiths of Ongar
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in High Ongar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$64
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WoW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A fantastic experience from the minute you arrive until the minute you leave! Menu is wide and varied and the fish was cooked to perfection. Set menu was really good value also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishrover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    180
    67
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Smiths Brasserie on Ongar - Oh Yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Used to go here many years ago but decided for our 20th wedding anniversary to try again as we always liked it.

Food was as remembered, fantastic, both my wife and I said we have to come back.

The garlic prawns to start was fabulous as well as the white chocolate cheesecake desert, so full but went for it and glad I did, very light.

Yes its expensive but for a restaurant to charge the prices they do and be as full as they were during a lunch time sitting, speaks for its self.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MKaufman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Raffle Prize!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited a school fete near Ongar and won a £50 voucher in the raffle which Smiths had donated. We were only in the area for the day but the restaurant honoured the voucher 18 months later. We are so pleased they did as the whole experience was amazing and we thought we would have to have a set meal or something similar but we had access to the whole menu and it was gorgeous. We will be back but hopefully we wont leave it so long next time. Well worth a visit. Might be worth booking a table though as we went on a Saturday lunchtime and it was full. Thank you Smith of Ongar for a lovely prize.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maryanndownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The decor, ambience & attentive staff are ultimately what you pay for here as the food is not nearly as good as it should be for the prices they charge... I found it shocking that for an upmarket restaurant that specializes in fish there was NO FRESH FISH on the menu.

Helpful?
4 Thank TheWineLady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A delicious treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've wanted to try Smiths for a long time and birthday celebrations were a perfect excuse.

The staff were attentive and friendly and were happy to sit us at a different table when we requested.

The food was outstanding. Every bite was a pleasure and made the prices worthwhile.

I had the pan fried tiger prawns with chilli, garlic and basil to start and my partner had goujons of dover sole which just melted as they were so soft! I then had the monkfish with kind scallops, dauphinoise potatoes and mixed veg whilst my partner had the Atlantic cod and hand cut chips. Just enough room for the roasted pineapple with caramel sauce and coconut ice cream for me and the chocolate brownie for him! Utterly scrumptious.

Unless you have a lot of disposable income, it's unlikely to be a regular visit but it's certainly an excellent choice for a special occasion and/or treat! I hope to return in the near future....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPenguin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smiths of Ongar also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Smiths of Ongar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing