We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cascina Cesarina B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Blue Relais Maggiore(Castelletto sopra Ticino)(Great Value!)
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Del Parco(Sesto Calende)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Palme(Dormelletto)
US$97
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Residence Isotta(Veruno)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Motel & Hotel La Selva(Vergiate)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa(Somma Lombardo)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel David(Sesto Calende)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
41
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
17
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2007

I spent a week here in June enjoying the wonderful family atmosphere, the amazing locality and of course the lovely home-cooked food! I adored the house, reminded me of childhood summers spent with an aunt on a farm. I spent some time relaxing in the grounds/garden, having an ocassional dip in the pool and being an object of fascination to a deer which regularly wondered by. Plenty of good sites nearby, and Lorraine was able to direct me to how/when/where to get to the best of them. Now I'm wishing I hadn't written this, because it's making me "homesick" to be back there!

The other reviewers mention how convenient it is for Malpensa airport (which is true, that's how I arrived), but the whole area is worth a visit in it's own right - it's only 15 minutes drive away from Lake Maggiore, and Milan is easy to reach by train.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesleyAmazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Occasionally solo travellers come looking for other solo travellers to socialize with, but others such as you are really happy to do their own thing, organizing independent travel around the lakes (you were our first visitor to recommend the Lago Maggiore Express day trip warmly), coming back in the evening for a hearty dinner with us, and a glass or two of Italian wine.... Thank you too for sending us copies of some of your photos and allowing us to use them on our website - the wandering deer in our garden has become famous thanks to you! Come back again and take some photos of the changes since your visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2007

living in Venice, we needed to find a place where to stay nearby Malpensa apt on our way back from holidays, and browsing around we found this farm place.

We were very pleased by the overall experience, as it is a very quiet context, set in a wonderful location, not to mention the character of the farm house and its large rooms (2 at the time being).

the owner is a very kind English lady, who managed to offer to us a pick-up from the apt (not included in the price for the rooms, of course), breakfast, and an excellent Italian lunch, given her English origins !! by no surprise, we found out she lives in Italy since a long time -

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo3451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Thank you for your nice review. We enjoyed having you to stay, and the interesting conversations we had over dinner. Flight schedules often lead people to stay with us the night before an early flight or the day of arrival after overnight intercontinental flights, so we try to make the experience as relaxing as possible. I'm sorry that the April blossoms on the robinia trees gave you hay fever - as you saw, we have lots of chestnut and robinia trees, which have their good sides too, as you saw from the delicious local honey we gave you at breakfast! If you come back in autumn you can try chestnuts roasted over the wood stove, maybe after a dish of polenta and home-picked mushrooms or polenta with gorgonzola cheese, which is produced in Novara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2006

Schedules required us to overnight in the Milan area. Preliminary TripAdvisor investigation only revealed dreary hotels at the airport or in the unsavory vicinity of the Milan train station. Reviews and the Milan forum correspondents were quite helpful but I was not satisfied with what was on offer.

I then turned to the Alastair Sawday website

(--)

and discovered that:

Lorraine Buckley
Cascina Cesarina,
Via dei Cesari 32
Frazione Gagnago
28040 Borgo Ticino
(--)
(--)

was not far from the airport but in the country. It seemed an ideal solution and on inquiry I arranged with Ms. Buckley to meet us at the airport, purchase train tickets, and the next morning after a restful night and breakfast, deliver us to a nearby station, and see us safely on the train to Firenze. She reversed the process on our return from Venezia, all at a modest cost to defray her time and auto. Her hospitality after the exhausting flight from Seattle, Washington was a Godsend and well beyond the call of duty. She is English, married to an Italian, and speaks Italian, French and Spanish.

Her property was tranquil bordering on a park, the room clean and comfortable but, above all it was her consideration that counted. I note that hers is a rustic farmhouse and the bedroom is on the third floor [US designation]. While she will carry up luggage guests have to be able to use the stairs.

I heartily recommend it as an ideal solution in conjunction with Milan’s Malpensa airport.

14  Thank dadhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Thank you for your glowing endorsement. I have to thank you (apart from being such nice guests) for introducing me to Trip Advisor. At the time of your visit it was not so widely known in Europe (or at least not in Italy) and I thought it was 'an American thing'. We have since found the site invaluable not only for organizing our own holidays (yes, even we get them occasionally!) but , thanks to reviews from people like you, that guests know exactly what to expect from the experience - food and accommodation wise and what we are like as people. We love to have visitors who like the country, genuine organic food and an interest in the Italian way of life. We also get a lot out of talking to our well-travelled and charming guests. Hope you come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews