We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR THIRD VISIT - IT JUST GETS BETTER”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Candiles Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ixtapa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Candiles Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Ixtapa B&B and Inns
vancouver island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OUR THIRD VISIT - IT JUST GETS BETTER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Our Host, Bob, was as hospitable as ever, and every time we go back we marvel and the lovely new touches he has added to this already beautiful home . It is a peaceful oasis 10 min walk from the beach that oozes comfort, style and relaxation. Bob's home made ice cream and margaritas are the best happy hour in Mexico. The steamed pears for breakfast were like icing on the cake. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and thoughtfully appointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbirdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
61
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

I was leary of any establishment that had an unblemished 5 star rating from all reviewers and had to check it out myself. It is the real thing. The grounds are impeccable, the inn is warmly inviting, crisp, clean and delightfully appointed. The bedrooms are roomy, mattresses comfortable and the decorating details are a constant wonder. Innkeeper Bob and his professional staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Bob surprised us daily with a wholesome, healthy and hardy breakfast that changed daily and was a gastronomic experience. The Inn is a brisk 12 minute walk to the beach area and about the same to the local mercardo. A wide range of restaurants are easily accessible by foot although better choices and better prices are available in Zihua. The going rate is about 70 pesos for a one way taxi ride. This place is not suitable for families, folks that like the impersonal service of the big chains, feel special with a wrist band cinched on or have a passion for all you can eat cafeteria food. But if you want to chill out in a very serene environment, feel totally relaxed and enjoy comfort on multiple levels this is it. It is one special gem. We spent hours lounging about the refreshing pool and when we had had enough downtime would adventure into Zihua for some great food or cruise the local market bargaining for treasures. Most days the Owner would surprise us with special desserts like homemade icecream. I have travelled a fair bit both in Mexico and abroad and this place is one that I'd not only recommend but plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrlaWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Casa Candiles is one of those remarkable places that make traveling a real joy. We stayed for two nights at the end of a two-week trip in Mexico and were hoping to be spoiled. We weren't disappointed. Roberto, the owner, made us feel like family, treating us to his gourmet cooking, offering insider tips on sightseeing and pampering us in other ways. He's a true gentleman who takes a keen interest in the welfare of his guests -- it's easy to see why so many are repeat customers. The house itself is a work of art, tastefully decorated with comfortable rooms, lovely gardens and a fine swimming pool. Our room was spacious and sheltered from the noise of the main strip in Ixtapa, which is only a short walk away. I can't imagine a better place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANUCKINBETHESDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We and some family stayed at Casa Candilies from February 5-15th. This was our third year here and we would never stay anywhere else in Ixtapa. Roberto is a fabulous host, as usual, and Miguel also took very good care of us. We had a wonderful gourmet breakfast every morning in the garden. The private pool and waterfall was spectacular and very relaxing. We cooked fresh fish one night on Roberto's grill and he prepared a fantastic dinner for us on Valentine's Day per our special request which exceeded our wildest expectations! The attached picture shows shrimp and beef kabobs on skewers extending from a fresh pineapple with fresh flowers adorning. We also had rice and asparagus and a fresh caesar salad as well as a homemade dessert. We also were treated to homemade ice cream as well as other tasty treats during our stay. This was the most enjoyable and relaxing vacation we could ever hope for. We will be back next year!

Dale & Linda Yurchenko

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyurchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

This BB/Inn is one of the best kept secrets I've ever had the pleasure to stay. Ixtapa may be an up and coming area for the very wealthy but Posada Casa Candiles is affordable and endearing to ones soul.

I found my experience to be one that I will not soon forget!!!

Victoria from Miami

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaofMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

My husband and I returned from a two-week stay at Roberto's fabulous Casa Candiles. The property is in a quiet neighborhood, is meticulously maintained, lushly landscaped, and the home and suites are beautifully decorated. Roberto and Miguel prepared gourmet, multiple-course breakfasts daily that were as appealing to the eye as tasty. We are "early morning people," and it did take us a few days to get used to breakfast being served from 9-11 AM, but we soon adjusted, as we were able to get coffee earlier and then took our long walks before breakfast; we also realized that we easily could do without lunch, with a large mid-morning breakfast. You've all read about what a gracious, warm host Roberto is; it's all true, and Miguel assists professionally and always with a winning smile. The only caveat is that the B & B is about a 1/2 mile from the boulevard with the beach-front hotels and restaurants, but we're walkers and didn't mind the walks back and forth several times per day. Once on the main strip, you can easily take public buses to various Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo sights, stores, and restaurants. That said, we spent a lot of our time reading, swimming, and enjoying the solitude of the pool in the gorgeous tropical setting. Too sum up, Casa Candiles is a fabulous find, and we'd recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinstonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

We generally don’t like hyperbole in reviews. That said, we wish we could figure out some way of giving more than the maximum five stars to Casa Candiles.

We’d been to Mexico quite a few times before, but never to Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa. Researching the area last summer, it appeared that Zihuatanejo was the funky, bustling, authentic Mexican village, while Ixtapa was the beachy, touristy, high-rise hotel area (an unfair impression of Ixtapa, as we learned when we were actually there). In any event, in our initial planning, we were searching mainly in Zihuatanejo for places to stay. We changed our minds upon reading the Trip Advisor reports of one specific B&B in Ixtapa -- Casa Candiles. More than 30 reports, every single one giving it five stars? Rave reviews justifying all those stars? Three suites and a maximum of 6 people at a time? Approximately half the price of anything remotely similar in Zihuatanejo? This seemed too good to be true (and indeed one of us actually maintained a tiny suspicion that Casa Candiles was all an incredibly elaborate scam -- right up to the moment when, at the end of a long trip from Seattle, luggage in hand, we walked up toward the front door -- which then opened before we knocked, to reveal Roberto and Miguel who greeted us warmly and welcomed us in).

During the week we spent at Casa Candiles, every day was heavenly (and remember, we’re the people who don’t like hyperbole). Roberto, the Innkeeper was amazing. It took a few days to really understand that the rapt attention he paid to keeping us comfortable and happy came about because he genuinely loves making his guests comfortable and happy. He had a marvelous sense of when to engage us in interesting conversation and when to leave us to be by ourselves. Life was filled both with utter relaxation and the occasional delightful surprise.

Apart from Roberto and Miguel, everything about Casa Candiles was designed to bestow comfort and contentment upon its guests -- the guest rooms, the downstairs common areas, the pool, the outside dining area where we ate breakfast very morning, the fauna-and-flora-filled jungle in back...we won't dwell on the details here, as other reviews do so very well, but we can't think of anything about the physical setup of Casa Candiles that we would have changed in any way.

We shouldn't end this review without a word about Ixtapa. As we mentioned, we initially assumed that we’d spend most of our time in Zihuatanejo. Actually, of the week we were there, we wound up spending two days in Zihuatanejo (a cheap, easy taxi ride from Casa Candiles), one day on rambling car trip down the coast and the rest in Ixtapa -- which, to our surprise was much more interesting and enjoyable as a place to wander around and hang out than we’d thought it would be. There’s a small but lively commercial area filled with the usual collection of small plazas, crafts sellers, restaurants, and other commercial establishments. There’s a terrific beach to walk along. There’s an island with myriad beach-related activities easily accessible by boat. And of course there was the proximity of Casa Candiles itself, always beckoning us back to just go in and mellow out. In short, Ixtapa was great!

All in all it was wonderful vacation. Partly it was that Mexico, and Zihuatanejo-Ixtapa in particular were great. But mostly it was because Casa Candiles was without doubt the best place we’ve ever stayed over many decades of fairly extensive travels. So ten stars to Casa Candiles!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gloftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
2.4 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Candiles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Candiles Inn

Property: Casa Candiles Inn
Address: Calle Paseo de Las Golondrinas 65 | Campo de Golf, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Candiles Inn, an exclusive, intimate boutique, bed and breakfast for adults seeking relaxation,tranquility,and romance, is embraced by verdant tropical jungles and kissed by the sea. Located in the world class resort of Ixtapa, on Mexico's Gold Coast, Casa Candiles Inn lies between the Sierra Madre del Sur mountains and the Pacific Ocean,affording our guests the best of both venues. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing