We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seclusion soaking and suduko” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capella Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capella Ixtapa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Seclusion soaking and suduko”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I spent three extremely relaxing nights here. I don't normally rate places 5-star but this place is worth it. Everything about it is comfortable and relaxing.

Our room made us feel very secluded with our little pool on our patio. We would spend the day just hanging out - drinking, soaking, doing suduko and dancing free-form to our music! We really enjoyed our time in our private little oasis.

It is definitely an adult couple kind of place. Please do not bring the family and ruin it! :)

The hotel is on the side of a steep hill so there is no beach. You enjoy the view out in the bay from up high. We would watch the fishing boats go out, the dolphins jumping and swimming in the bay and the birds soar right past our balcony. There are no vendors approaching you!

The breakfast each morning is served by very pleasant personnel in the outside coastal restaurant. You choose from a menu. The meals are fantastic with fresh fruit dishes and main course.
We had dinner at the two restaurants. The Amares restaurant is very formal. The wait staff is very knowledgeable and attentive to your requests. The Terrace restaurant has a seafood menu with very fresh catch. It is priced by the size so you can determine your hunger level. I highly recommend it for the meal and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a room not above the Terrace restaurant. The higher you are the better the view of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raindogkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Capella Ixtapa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Appreciated guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Capella Ixtapa.
How lovely to hear that you had a comfortable and relaxing time. we consider ourselves blessed with outstanding scenery and we are so happy that you had enjoyed and appreciate the same.

Dinner at Seafood Market definite is amazing; the environment, service and food quality makes it remarkable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    58
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
499
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leahmonade
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were there for our honeymoon; It was a gorgeous hotel with gorgeous views, but I guess I prefer to be a bit more active. We were there for 7 days (it was supposed to be 8, but we cut the trip short due to Hurricane Raymond), and I think we probably did almost everything you could do at the resort and in the surrounding area. The staff is awesome, the food was great, but I think we were looking for a bit more variety. Then again, my review could be jaded a bit y the 2.5 days of staring at rain towards the end of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahmonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Capella Ixtapa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Appreciated guest:

First of all, I want to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing the beginning of your life as a family. I am delighted to know that you found Capella Ixtapa to have gorgeous views and that the hotel itself is spectacular. It is indeed unfortunate that your stay was somehow shadowed by the tropical storm Raymond; however it was a great pleasure for us assisting you and making you feel comfortable. We truly look forward to your return to paradise.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is an outstanding place. Was there 4 days and never left the property. The outside seafood grill where you selected your fish and the preparation style was unique and delicious. The waiters recommendation was just right. The spa is small, but well attended and really has everything your need. Rooms are spacious and I love the Mexican style of most of the room open to the sea view

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Capella Ixtapa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Appreciated guest:

Thank you for your visit to Capella Ixtapa. We are indeed glad that you enjoyed your visit at our beautiful hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed last week from October 7, 2013 until October 13, 2013 for our honeymoon. This property truly is breathtaking. I viewed tons of pictures on TA prior to choosing and arriving but still found myself taken away by the amazing views around the resort and the rooms. The staff is incredible, warm, genuine and accommodating. As seen in the images, the rooms are simply amazing with great views, your own private infinity pool and an extremely comfortable bed. Not to mention many other nice technology touches in the room. While we were there we enjoyed an amazing couples massage on the outdoor deck. Listening to the sound of the ocean and feeling the breezes was an incredible addition to an amazing massage. We also took part in the private cooking class, which was probably our favorite experience of the trip. Visiting the market with the chefs was a great experience and then coming back for a private cooking demonstration/lunch was well worth the money. We had very high expectations from reading all the reviews regarding Capella and the resort lived up to them.

Room Tip: Capella rooms are on the highest 6th floor, so are more private, but if that is not important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandalsh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Capella Ixtapa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Appreciated guest:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your stay at Capella Ixtapa. Your feedback is very valuable to us!!!

We truly hope the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you are looking for a bit of paradise - we know where it is! Capella is a gorgeous resort with views that are indescribable, multiple fabulous restaurants conveniently on the property and guest rooms with their own private pools and sitting areas. We went in August for our 35th wedding anniversary and it was everything we could have asked for if we had created our own dream resort. All the staff treated us like we were the most important people who ever stayed there. We can't wait to go back. When we were leaving they tied Capella ribbons on our luggage and we smile every time we look at them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Capella Ixtapa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Hola amigos,

Thank you for sharing this amazing celebration with us. On behalf of all the staff at Capella Ixtapa I want to thank you for selecting Capella Ixtapa as your vacation destination. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience as your feedback is very valuable to us. We truly hope the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

What an amazing place! My wife and I honeymoon'd here in late September. It was the end of the rainy season in Mexico, but the sun shined pretty much the entire week. Gorgeous views of the Pacific from everywhere - the rooms, restaurants, spa, etc. Yes, it's "boutique" and very pricey, but totally worth the experience. We had a killer suite (all the rooms have ocean views) with our
own infinity pool on the outdoor patio. The sound of the waves crashing against the rocks could be heard as you fell asleep and awoke. Very nostalgic. The staff at this place was incredible too. They made sure every need was met. Literally, anything I asked for was met with, "yes, sir... absolutely, sir." My wife is a picky eater and the chef even came out several times to discuss custom meal options. What a treat! I really can't say enough about the level or service from the folks at check-in to the waitstaff to the housekeeping. All around great people that made the experience that much better. Oh, and in case it wasn't good enough, each afternoon siestas of beer, chips and guacamole were brought to our room free of charge. A small token worth a thousand words. Hopefully, we'll be back soon!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Capella Ixtapa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Appreciated guest:

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the view, the rooms, the restaurants, the spa, the entire resort. Thank you for your remarks and I will make sure to convey the same to the team.

We provide genuine and personal service to all our guests. And we are pleased to know that you had a memorable experience.

We truly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The physical location of this property is gorgeous. The hotel is perched atop oceanside cliffs, with panoramic views of the sea from all common areas and nearly ever single room, including the bathrooms! My husband and I stayed in a room in the Cocotales wing and my mom stayed in a room right across the way, so we were able to see two different room types, both of which were very deluxe. Our room had a shaded plunge pool, a king sized bed, a walk in closet/bathroom area and separate toilet and shower area. My mom's room had a larger private pool in the sun, and a larger guest room, closet, bathroom area. Navigating around the property can be a bit tricky until you get the hang of where everything is located. There is a funicular that takes you up and down, but not all floors connect across the property, so navigation from our room to the lobby or restaurant took some getting used to. The spa was really pretty but completely empty while we were there. Upon our arrival, our bed was made up with beautiful fresh flowers spelling "Bienvenidos" and a tray of dried fruit and bottled water were waiting for us. The mini bar is stocked daily with bottled water, juices and soft drinks and they're all complimentary which is a really nice touch - especially for Americans who are weary of drinking non-bottled beverages. Food options at the hotel are tasty but quite expensive. We ate everything offered and had no tummy trouble at all! Everything feels very clean and fresh. The hotel offers beach cruisers, which we took down the road one afternoon because we were urged to check out Isla Ixtapa. In our opinion, this tour is totally unnecessary and a waste of time and money. Stay on the property at Capella for peace of mind, stellar scenery and relaxation. The staff is all very gracious and helpful and make you feel at home!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Capella Ixtapa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Appreciated guest:

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay here at Capella Ixtapa.
I am happy to know that you found our service exceptional. We are blessed with outstanding scenery and we are happy that you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind comments regarding service, our staff is here to make sure you have everything you need in order to have an extraordinary experience.

We would to love to see you again at Capella Ixtapa and have the pleasure to assist you again.


Best Regards,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
1.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.6 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.8 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Ixtapa

Property: Capella Ixtapa
Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera II Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Ixtapa 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella Ixtapa is a Mexico luxury resort set inside a rock cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The property features suites, private plunge pools, a world-class spa, restaurants, tequila bar, beach wedding locations, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Capella Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa Zihuatanejo
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing