We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific(Ixtapa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
606
65
24
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
65
24
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolpersonal assistantterrace barthe penthouseroom servicecomplimentary guacamoleour honeymooncooking classseafood restaurantprivate terracecevichemain poolevery afternoonsteam roomthe pacific oceanevery staff memberlow season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I spent three extremely relaxing nights here. I don't normally rate places 5-star but this place is worth it. Everything about it is comfortable and relaxing.

Our room made us feel very secluded with our little pool on our patio. We would spend the day just hanging out - drinking, soaking, doing suduko and dancing free-form to our music! We really enjoyed our time in our private little oasis.

It is definitely an adult couple kind of place. Please do not bring the family and ruin it! :)

The hotel is on the side of a steep hill so there is no beach. You enjoy the view out in the bay from up high. We would watch the fishing boats go out, the dolphins jumping and swimming in the bay and the birds soar right past our balcony. There are no vendors approaching you!

The breakfast each morning is served by very pleasant personnel in the outside coastal restaurant. You choose from a menu. The meals are fantastic with fresh fruit dishes and main course.
We had dinner at the two restaurants. The Amares restaurant is very formal. The wait staff is very knowledgeable and attentive to your requests. The Terrace restaurant has a seafood menu with very fresh catch. It is priced by the size so you can determine your hunger level. I highly recommend it for the meal and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a room not above the Terrace restaurant. The higher you are the better the view of the bay. The lower you are the closer you are to the crashing waves.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raindogkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Appreciated guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Capella Ixtapa.
How lovely to hear that you had a comfortable and relaxing time. we consider ourselves blessed with outstanding scenery and we are so happy that you had enjoyed and appreciate the same.

Dinner at Seafood Market definite is amazing; the environment, service and food quality makes it remarkable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were there for our honeymoon; It was a gorgeous hotel with gorgeous views, but I guess I prefer to be a bit more active. We were there for 7 days (it was supposed to be 8, but we cut the trip short due to Hurricane Raymond), and I think we probably did almost everything you could do at the resort and in the surrounding area. The staff is awesome, the food was great, but I think we were looking for a bit more variety. Then again, my review could be jaded a bit y the 2.5 days of staring at rain towards the end of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahmonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Appreciated guest:

First of all, I want to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing the beginning of your life as a family. I am delighted to know that you found Capella Ixtapa to have gorgeous views and that the hotel itself is spectacular. It is indeed unfortunate that your stay was somehow shadowed by the tropical storm Raymond; however it was a great pleasure for us assisting you and making you feel comfortable. We truly look forward to your return to paradise.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is an outstanding place. Was there 4 days and never left the property. The outside seafood grill where you selected your fish and the preparation style was unique and delicious. The waiters recommendation was just right. The spa is small, but well attended and really has everything your need. Rooms are spacious and I love the Mexican style of most of the room open to the sea view

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Appreciated guest:

Thank you for your visit to Capella Ixtapa. We are indeed glad that you enjoyed your visit at our beautiful hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed last week from October 7, 2013 until October 13, 2013 for our honeymoon. This property truly is breathtaking. I viewed tons of pictures on TA prior to choosing and arriving but still found myself taken away by the amazing views around the resort and the rooms. The staff is incredible, warm, genuine and accommodating. As seen in the images, the rooms are simply amazing with great views, your own private infinity pool and an extremely comfortable bed. Not to mention many other nice technology touches in the room. While we were there we enjoyed an amazing couples massage on the outdoor deck. Listening to the sound of the ocean and feeling the breezes was an incredible addition to an amazing massage. We also took part in the private cooking class, which was probably our favorite experience of the trip. Visiting the market with the chefs was a great experience and then coming back for a private cooking demonstration/lunch was well worth the money. We had very high expectations from reading all the reviews regarding Capella and the resort lived up to them.

Room Tip: Capella rooms are on the highest 6th floor, so are more private, but if that is not important to you, you can simply choose one of the non-Capella rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandalsh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Appreciated guest:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your stay at Capella Ixtapa. Your feedback is very valuable to us!!!

We truly hope the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you are looking for a bit of paradise - we know where it is! Capella is a gorgeous resort with views that are indescribable, multiple fabulous restaurants conveniently on the property and guest rooms with their own private pools and sitting areas. We went in August for our 35th wedding anniversary and it was everything we could have asked for if we had created our own dream resort. All the staff treated us like we were the most important people who ever stayed there. We can't wait to go back. When we were leaving they tied Capella ribbons on our luggage and we smile every time we look at them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliezer_Quin0nes, Director General at Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Hola amigos,

Thank you for sharing this amazing celebration with us. On behalf of all the staff at Capella Ixtapa I want to thank you for selecting Capella Ixtapa as your vacation destination. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience as your feedback is very valuable to us. We truly hope the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Eliezer Quinones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews