We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
658
72
26
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
658
72
26
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool personal assistant terrace bar the penthouse room service complimentary guacamole cliff side cooking class seafood restaurant chips and guacamole main pool prior to our arrival steam room overlooking the ocean low season every staff member the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2019

This is what people expect from a luxury hotel in Mexico. The serviced is complete, professional and friendly. The food is-well it is more than decent and less than sublime. If you are a meat eater, you will not be happy-but there are other restaurants in the area. The room is simmple luxury. I might decorate ittbh differently-but them some people will like its simplicity. A great bathroom/sressing room. The pool area is what you might expect. The views from the rooms and the restaurants are fantastic.

Don't come here expecting lots of activities. You can be fixed up by the hotel but as the title goes-this is a Calm place on the water. The rooms have plunge pools and unlike the other deluxe hotel here, Casa que
Canta, there are elevators and a finicular. Better for someone who doesn't enjoy stair climbing. I wish there was meat available. I wish there was a real burgert available. But if you want a great place to stay that is peaceful and refined with the weather of the west coast of Mexico which is perffectthis time of year, here is wher4e you should go..

Room tip: Make sure to get a room with a plunge pool. The terrace will get hot as it fraces the sun.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019

My husband an I were at Cala de Mar last year and loved it so much we decided to stay 2 weeks this year.
If your looking to refresh, rekindle and relax this is a perfect setting.
The rooms each have a comfortable deck and a plunge pool which offer you the opportunity to enjoy your room not just sleep in it. We spent hours reading, playing cards and soaking up the sun and the view.
We are awe inspired by the level of service offered by all the staff. They are always friendly, accomdating and offer the customer service like no other hotel we have stayed in.
We rented a car this trip so we could further explore all the wonderful beaches and sites. It also enabled us to try the cuisine in Zihu and Ixtapa at our leisure.
We enjoyed the evening beer , pico de gala, guacamole and chips. I'm not much of a beer drinker however the library provides coffee and sweets in the morning,juice during the day and coffee in the evening. Truly a great way to enjoy the library or take your drink back to your room.
We ate brunch almost everyday on the restaurant not only is it delicious we saw both dolphins and whales from our table.
If you are looking for buffets, crowded pools and loud music any of the hotels in Ixtapa will serve your purpose however if you are looking for truly " an experience "stay at Cala de Mar,
Special thanks to all the staff we found to go beyond our expectations for our customer service experience.
Lucy,Fego, Francisco,Cruz,Leo,Antonio,Nadia,Jorge,Carlos, Frank, Cabo.Maria

Room tip: All rooms at Cala de Mar have spectacular ocean views.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChestermereCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019

Great room and service but expensive for the area. Would have preferred a beach at the property instead of having to take taxis to public beaches. The resort is far from other areas of interest and should have a free shuttle for guests.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trail65635864240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

Beautiful resort with lovely suites, totally private decks and plunge pools on each deck. Spectacular views. Best meals that we had on our vacation. Service was wonderful. Very quiet. The best place to unwind, reconnect with each other and regroup from a hectic life. Don't expect nightlife, unless you take the short ride into Ixtapa.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passenger43704766559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

what a paradise
beautiful hotel
the most amazing thing about this hotel is the kindness of the staff, they are so nice its incredible, they will do everything for their guests
beautiful rooms
scenery breathtaking
too bad there is no swimmable beach, you need a cab to go to nearby beaches, they have a beach at bottom of hotel not swimmable cause of rocks, they should build a swimming acces for guests
food is good
loved the seaside market restaurant but its too repetitive always same fishes
they lack a great restaurant with gastronomic meals like other boutique hotels
food prices on expensive side
but overall its an amazing hotel with gorgeous views beautiful infinity pool
we even saw whales and dolphins from hotel
but again amazed at the kindness of their staff

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robert2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews