We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Brisas was nothing but Amazing!”
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Las Brisas was nothing but Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We went to Las Brisas at the first week of April and it was my family's first vacation, and I will say we were not disappointed! MY family consisted of my parents, my 2 year old brother, my 13 year old brother, and myself(18). First I will list the few things that aren't so good.
1. No free Wi-Fi.
If you want internet you have to pay like $180 pesos for 24 hours.
2. The mini-bar in the room is not included with the room fees!
3. Coffee is not complimentary
4. The restaurants are sort of expensive

Ok now onto the good stuff!

Let me just say that if you are looking for a hotel with a party atmosphere or some sort of night life Las Brisas is not the place to go. However, if you're looking for a relaxing and quiet place Las Brisas is just right. The staff is always very friendly and ready to make sure that you are as comfortable as possible. We had standard rooms and they were very beautiful. The all have a little place with a couch 2 chairs and a table and a balcony with 2 chairs,a coffee table, and a hammock. All the rooms face the ocean and the view is amazing! The lower room's views are covered by trees tho. Other reviews complained about the pool being far away but it's not that bad. Yes, there are lots of stairs but there are elevators you can take! The pools were very big and not crowded at all. There are 4 pools, 2 for everyone, a kiddie pool and an adult only pool. They were very nice and although the water was a bit on the cool side with Ixtapa weather the pools are heavenly. The beach is very clean but the waves are very strong so you have to be a pretty strong swimmer. There is nothing like listening to the roar of the waves at night tho. Although i'm only 18 it was legal to drink in Mex. so the lobby bar has happy hour from 10pm to 11pm and the people there are very nice so i highly recommend visiting the lobby bar.

Like i said we had lunch at the poolside restaurant and the food was very expensive so we walked into the town of Ixtapa twice everyday (about a 20 minute walk with a two year old!). We took a cab to "El Muelle" on our first day and ate at La Sirena Gorda in Zihuatanejo which had very good seafood and hamburgers. The rest of our stay we went to the little Plazas in Ixtapa. Frank's isn't too bad but for the best service in Ixtapa i highly recommend Matthew's Place on the corner of Plaza Los Patios. They serve some pretty good mexican food too! Most of the places we ate at had very good food and great service. The people of Ixtapa are some of the friendliest you'll meet! But beware! There are always people trying to get you to buy stuff so just say no thanks and walk away.

If you visit the little markets know that everything is negotiable! Vendors will always go lower than the initial price. Sometimes the cab drivers will try to charge you more than the locals because you look like a tourist. One of the cab drivers tried to charge us $50 pesos from the little marked back to the hotel but we got him to go down to $35 so don't let them push you around!

Overall our vacation was amazing! We had a great time and i recommend this hotel to everyone! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank go-go_hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    745
    296
    115
    65
See reviews for
717
889
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Vacationed April 5-13 with family including 11 and 12 yr old girls on a Westjet all inclusive plan. The food was great on the beach, at the pool and in each of the restaurants. Service was fabulous and staff is very friendly. And, lots of loungers available on beach and at pool. We were very pleased with this hotel. There were a couple of minor issues one might expect in any vacation, but any concerns were addressed immediately. We had reviewed all the info on this site prior to booking, so we were wondering what surprises might stress our vacation. There were no surprises other than pleasant ones. This is definitely a hot spot for vacationing Mexicans. No disrespect intended but the ratio of Mexicans to non Mexicans was about 20:1. No fault of the hotel, but we toured Ixtapa island and were so disappointed...no snorkling due to bad conditions (one wonders if conditions are ever suitable), terrible food and local vendors approaching us every 10 minutes....we kept thinking, why did we pay $140 USD to hang out in this dump when we could be on the private beach or at the pool at our hotel and enjoy all its luxuries instead of the crowded and small beach with at least 200 locals. Regardless, great shopping, very friendly and a great trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANADIANBEACHBUMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Just returned from a week at Las Brisas. Prior to going I was confused by the somewhat contradictory reviews on Trip Advisor. But now that I've been there, it is all clear.

The setting is beautiful. The hotel is built right into the side of a lush, jungle hillside. This means that EVERY room faces the ocean and has it's own private patio with hammock and view of the ocean. Our patio was lovely with nice plants and quality furniture and hammock.

The setting also has some drawbacks if you are expecting a more "traditional" resort. The first is that unlike other resorts, the hotel does not center around a flat, open space. the whole hotel is on a hillside. So, you must take either a long staircase or an elevator down to the beach level. While most resorts center around a pool, due to the steep hill, the pool at Las Brisas is also built into the hillside. This necessitates having the pool at one end of the hotel. The walk to the pool is not long at all - it takes about 4 minutes. They offer a shuttle for folks unable to walk (elderly), but the walk is quite easy - and lovely - for those with working legs. The pool area is beautiful, perched high up with views of the ocean. However, the landscape prevents the pool from being right down at the beach level, so you don't have that easy pool-to-beach feel that you have at more traditional resorts.

The hotel lobby is wonderful - open air, looking out over the ocean, happy hour from 6-7pm.

What the hotel does not have is much night life. If you want to PARTY, this is not the place for you. If you want peaceful relaxation, this is the place for you. You can also go out in Ixtapa via an easy 10 minute cab ride.

The staff is AWESOME! Very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are GREAT - clean, light, all with private patio, hammock, views of the ocean.

We had 3 rooms spread across the 15th floor. NONE of them connected to adjoining rooms. I don't know why other reviewers complained about this. Maybe it's different on different floors, but on the 15th floor there were no adjoining rooms and it was very quiet.

The only thing that was less than ideal was that the food was a bit over priced. It was good enough, but the resort takes advantage of the fact that most people aren't going to bother taking a taxi to eat lunch. Also, if you have small kids, it's important to know that some restaurants close at pm, others open at 6pm, so if you want to eat from 5:30-6:30, it's a bit challenging. On the plus side, there is a casual restaurant at the beach and at the pool, and they'll bring dinner to happy hour in the lounge - all 3 of these settings are GREAT for the kids to eat (they can play and eat at the same time).

As for our reservation, I did experience was some other reviewers did - when I called to confirm, they couldn't always find my reservation. But when we arrived, it was all there as planned.

We had breakfast included every day, and found the breakfast buffet to be fantastic. There were like 20 choices of fruit, cereal, hot dishes, omelets...

All in all, we had a great time. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because you are a bit trapped in terms of where to eat and the price of the food.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EMBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed 2 nights here and got a great price on the room. The room was clean and well appointed, but this hotel charges too much money for simple amenities which many hotels of this calibre include in the basic room price, e.g. in room coffee - 61 pesos at Las Brisas - free in most hotels. The room service breakast menu that you use to check off what you want and then hang on your door has no prices listed. The front desk had to phone (to the kitchen?) to find out. "American style" breakfast - approx. 180 pesos (forgot exact price.) A separate carafe of coffee on that menu was going to cost 88 pesos. There is also a service fee of 15% that is not mentioned, but I was advised about this at front desk as well. Wifi - $150 pesos per day! Generally thought the costs here were unreasonable. A 20 minute walk to Ixtapa was well worth doing. Beautiful setting, but felt we were being held "hostage" by resort for restaurant, bar, room service costs. Pool was in a nice setting, but is showing its age. Many umbrellas providing shade around the pool were in poor or broken condition. Do not go to this hotel if you are disabled in any way - too hard to get around. This could be a great facility and more people would probably spend more time and money around the facility if prices were in keeping with similar accommodations in Mexico. Staff were polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mile0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Hotel is 25 min from ZIH, $30 cab ride. Good service upon arrival and our room (Junior Suite) was exactly as advertised. On Top Floor (22) and amazing view of private bay of hotel. Only complaint on room was that it had a slight musty smell at times, but nothing offensive. If traveling with multiple couples, a great room to have to entertain with the large patio area and tables both indoor and outside. Jacuzzi tub on patio was a little dated, but was extremely nice to relax in during sunrise/sunset. Also, call to have the extra pad added to the bed as it is rather hard by American standards.

Pool is dated and we didn't enjoy the scene, but beach is amazing and after first day at pool we enjoyed the beach from there on out. Happy Hour at the Lobby Bar is a great deal (2 for 1), has amazing view, and draws a solid crown every night.

Hotel location was perfect for us. It is up on hill adjacent to Ixtapa (10 min walk) which allows for privacy at beach, but close enough to walk to market to get beer, snacks, etc. Much cheaper than at restaurants or bars at hotel. Food at hotel was not to our liking, so would not recommend all inclusive. That said, great food in Ixtapa at Villa De Selva (spendy) and Mamma Norma (Good value); good restaurant in Zih is Tamales y Atoles Any.

Amazing experience 2nd to last night when the hotel staff let us (and 100 other guests) release baby seas turtles that they had been taking care of since the lifeguards found the eggs buried on the beach. This is a common practice to help ensure the species remains healthy in the area (photos attached)

Overall great trip and would highly recommend to couples traveling without children. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Las Brisas is a beautiful resort with amazing views and service. The rooms were beautiful, very clean and spacious. The service in every area was fantastic, from the front desk, to the restaurants, poolside and beachside. It was such a quiet resort as there are no "animators" or poolside activities with music that disrupted your relaxation time. The only issue I had with the resort is travelling on an all-inclusive package, we had to sign off on every single meal, drink etc. We never really knew if we were going to get charged for anything. Would have been much easier to have a colour-coded wrist band to identify which package we had. So that there were no unexpected charges, however we just made sure to check every couple of days at the front desk for our room bill. This just made sure that we did ot get any surprises at the end.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This was one of the most relaxing vacations our family has ever taken. Thanks to our Air Canada Representive all the "guidelines" for our all inclusive package were explained on day one, so we could avoid any extra charges. The food was delicious and the service excellent. The staff were more than willing to accomodate the taste peferences of our teenaged son, and quick to respond to any of our requests. The grounds were stunning, and the pool perfect. We expecially enjoyed having breakfast brought to our room to dine on our spacious deck. Loved the hammock. We will come back for sure, next time with our golf clubs!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorena0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
795 reviews
2.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Ixtapa

Property: Las Brisas Ixtapa
Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Las Brisas Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing